Switch Theme:

Planetstrike questions.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ch
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The bit stuck on the side of England. Wales isn't it.

A few questions about planetstrike.
First off, the book says any unit may claim objectives, not just troops. So am I correct in thinking, that will not include vehicles , or squadrons of vehicles, ( although they can contest?) , or independent characters. Just units of infantry i.e. elites , troops , heavy and fast attack units.
Secondly do the defenders reserves start to come in on turn one, do they use the standard reserve rolls table. I'm sure it says that the defenders use the normal reserve rules , but not sure whether that is just in reference to not being able to deepstrike. What d'ya think?

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

1) Yes. Any unit.

2) Everyone in PS uses the PS Reserves table/Rolls. And yes, they can deepstrike if they have the rules.

If I read the questions correctly.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader






1. IIRC vechiles and IC's can claim objectives

2. they would use the special planetstrike one
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







1. All Units can capture objectives. However, it is best to clear up pre game if units with special rules saying they can never be scoring in fact count as scoring.

2. You use the Planetstrike reserves table.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Gwar! wrote:1. All Units can capture objectives. However, it is best to clear up pre game if units with special rules saying they can never be scoring in fact count as scoring.


I think I missed that. I always figured that the specific in that case was the particular unit - if the unit has a rule saying no scoring, it overrides the general idea that every unit does. A la 4e.

Never hurts to clarify though.

shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in se
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The bit stuck on the side of England. Wales isn't it.

Yes it says that all "units" can capture an objective. But what constituts a unit? An IC cant be a unit? a vehicle cant be a unit? A MC can't be a unit.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







vodski wrote:Yes it says that all "units" can capture an objective. But what constituts a unit? An IC cant be a unit? a vehicle cant be a unit? A MC can't be a unit.
Errrm... Everything is a Unit. Everything except terrain and Bunkers.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The bit stuck on the side of England. Wales isn't it.

Coming up against the mighty gwar. Damn I will just have to pull out the rule book to supplement my hazy and drink dulled brain.
Page 3 of the small rule book. Title models and units. ok ....warriors band together....loose groups...er... usually consist of several models that fight as group...er...oh ...yeh...oh. Everything except terrain then. Right again Gwar , never doubted you.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/28 23:15:39


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







You mean:
A unit will usually consist of several models that fight as a group, but it can also be a single, very large or powerful model, such as a battle tank, a monstrous alien creature or a lone hero. In the rules that follow, all of these things are referred to as 'units'.


This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/08/28 23:18:19


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The bit stuck on the side of England. Wales isn't it.

Er yeah I think thats it . Probably. OK I'll meet you half way, and go with that. Well all the way really. Like I said never doubted you. Honest guv.

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Wouldn't bunkers be units?

Just neutral. . .

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in se
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The bit stuck on the side of England. Wales isn't it.

Now your just being silly!

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

No... not really.
They use vehicle rules.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in se
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The bit stuck on the side of England. Wales isn't it.

Not all vehicle rules. Anyhoo time for bed, busy day 2moz. Thank you all and goodnight. vodski has left the building.XD

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: