| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 01:11:01
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
I'm pretty new to 40k so please excuse the noob sauce.
If my Justicar lands a hit/wound on a squad of necron warriors with a lord attached, what exactly happens...? Would I have to state who the Justicar was attacking (say the Lord) or would my opponent just decide which model the wound went to? If you could reference to the BRB that would be great. Thank you.
|
GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 01:14:33
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
any model in base to base with the lord must use all attacks on the lord.
any model in base to base with the squad must use all attacks on the squad.
any model not in base to base must declare its attacks on one of the two, so long as a model in base to base with one is within 2".
any model in base to base with both may choose which to attack.
if you hit the squad with the justicar, he cannot choose to make invulnerable saves on the lord, because your attacking his squad, which for the purposes of CQC is a seperate unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 01:16:18
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
T_VanderZwaag wrote:I'm pretty new to 40k so please excuse the noob sauce. If my Justicar lands a hit/wound on a squad of necron warriors with a lord attached, what exactly happens...? Would I have to state who the Justicar was attacking (say the Lord) or would my opponent just decide which model the wound went to? If you could reference to the BRB that would be great. Thank you.
Because the lord is an IC, only models in BTB with him can direct their attacks at him. As such, the Justicar must be in BTB and must Direct his Attacks towards the lord. He can of course direct his attacks to either the lord or the unit if he is in BTB with both.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/29 01:16:49
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 02:43:58
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Thank you very much guys
|
GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 05:30:39
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun
|
Gwar, I don't believe you're right on this one. I believe that the IC is simply treated as a separate unit, meaning that models not in BTB with anyone but engaged with the IC (via 2" to BTB model rule) may attack him.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/29 05:31:22
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 05:39:41
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
ajfirecracker wrote:I believe that the IC is simply treated as a separate unit, meaning that models not in BTB with anyone but engaged with the IC (via 2" to BTB model rule) may attack him.
That's correct.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 11:04:30
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
ajfirecracker wrote:Gwar, I don't believe you're right on this one. I believe that the IC is simply treated as a separate unit, meaning that models not in BTB with anyone but engaged with the IC (via 2" to BTB model rule) may attack him.
That is actually what I meant. I just failed to elaborate on it because I was tired. Yes, the Lord is a Seperate Unit in CC, so Only Models in BTB or 2" with a Model in BTB with the lord can attack.
Apologies
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 14:13:55
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Could I target him separately in the shooting phase while he is in the group? Say with a lascannon?
|
GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 14:15:58
Subject: Re:NFW Question
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
Not anymore.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 14:23:47
Subject: Re:NFW Question
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
not_u is correct. "Independent characters that have joined a unit are considered part of that unit and so may not be picked out as targets." BGB p. 49
If you want to direct a model's close combat attacks at the IC, that model must be:
1. in base to base contact with the IC -or-
2. not in base to base contact with another unit AND within 2" of a model in base to base contact with the IC (engaged).
See BGB p. 49 - diagram.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/29 14:24:51
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 14:27:36
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
ok thank you
|
GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 15:16:17
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ignore this message...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/29 15:19:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/29 16:48:16
Subject: NFW Question
|
 |
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun
|
A point OP brought up has not fully been addressed. I believe the rules say that when you say who you are attacking (which is the correct thing to do) subject to the engaged/BTB requirements mentioned above, you should do so before making any dice rolls. (as per p. 41 of the BRB)
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|