Switch Theme:

Vehicle damage table clarification needed.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker





Hi, I was playing as Orks against my cousin's SM yesterday. We are both newbies and it was only our second proper game. I was giving him a real hammering and then his devastator squad stunned my two Killa Kans at the end of his turn 3. In the vehicle damage table it says "The vehicle may not move nor shoot until the end of it's next player turn" so I waited until the end of my next turn and then decided to fire rokkits at his devestator squad but he was adamant that I couldn't move or shoot until my next go. I explained that I had left it until I had moved all my other units and completed their actions and that this was my last action of my turn and that the vehicle damage table does not say that I miss a turn. We agreed to let me shoot but I said I would ask a more experienced player for clarification of the rule.

Could one of you veterans out there please confirm who is right? Thanks.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Dayton, Ohio

It basicly means that they are stuck for a turn. It sounds almost like you shot the guns in the assault phase. If you had been 'crew shaken' (or if you had armor plates) you could have moved, but not shot. As is though your kans were useless for a turn.

Arctik_Firangi wrote:Spelling? Well excuse me, I thought we were discussing the rules as written.
Don't worry, I'm a certified speed freek
Know who else are speed freeks? and  
   
Made in gb
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker





Sorry I wasn't very clear. The result was Crew - Stunned on both Kans and I did indeed shoot but during the shooting phase for the Kans but at the end of my turn after I had done all my other moves for all my units.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Welcome to Dakka! For future reference, rules questions belong in You Make the Call. This thread will be moved shortly.

In response to your question, I'm sorry, but you played it wrong.

Your Friend's Turn 1: He shoots your Kans, both are Crew Stunned.
Your Turn 1: Neither Kan can move or shoot at all this turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/01 18:43:15


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






To explain it in a slightly different way.

his turn - stuns your cans.

Your movement phase - cans can't move
your shooting phase - cans can't shoot
end of your turn - they can move and shoot now but it's too late.

his turn - stuff

Your turn - cans are back to normal.
   
Made in gb
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker





Thanks for the replies. This clears it up nicely and I know what to do for next time.
   
Made in us
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife





Since his one devastator squad shot your 2 kans, I take it that it is a vehicle squadron of 2 Killa Kans.

pg64 "...treat all immobilised results as destroyed (wrecked) and all stunned results as shaken."

This means that you would still be able to move your Kans, but would not be able to fire them at all until after your next turn.

DD__EEE_N___N_N___N_Y_Y_1__8___22__4_4
D_D_E___NN__N_NN__N_Y_Y_1_8_8_2__2_4_4
D_D_EEE_N_N_N_N_N_N__Y__1__8____2__444
D_D_E___N__NN_N__NN__Y__1_8_8__2_____4
DD__EEE_N___N_N___N__Y__1__8__2222___4 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, any Shaken or Stunned Results your opponent inflicts on you last until the end of [b]your[b] turn.

So to clarify more:
Player A Turn 1: Shoots and Shakes your Kans
Player B Turn 1: Kans Cannot Shoot
Player A Turn 2: Shoots but does nothing to your Kans
Player B Turn 2: Kans are free to act as normal.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine






You can only shoot during your shooting phase.

Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.

Vivano crudelis exitus.

Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: