Switch Theme:

Dawn of War and dedicated transports.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Intoxicated Centigor




Apex, NC

So, the requirements for deployment in Dawn of war is 0-1 HQ and 0-2 Troop chocies. If you have troops in rhinos, for example, I am being told that the rhino and the squad each takes up one of the 2 slots for the 0-2 Troop choices for deployment. Also, when it comes to an HQ mounted in, say a Land Raider, that counts as 2 HQ deployments. What???


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Can someone post the RAW from the BRB about transports and dawn of war deployment? I am at work and do not have the info.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/02 14:30:13


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Firstly you do not get to deploy choices you deploy *units*, with each independent unit counting as one of your allowances.

Secondly it even gives dedicated transports as an example of how this works, and yes, you do count dedicated transports (which are a seperate unit from the parent unit) seperately.
   
Made in us
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods





If I'm not mistaken, Rhinos are dedicated transports and as such, do not take up any FOC slots. So say you had 2 units of troops, both in their own Rhino, you could deploy none, one, or both of them, and of course your 0-1 HQ.
I'll let someone else take the LR portion.

Also, sorry, no BRB references from me as I don't have mine in front of me either.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/02 14:35:14



Zogwarts curse > Abaddon  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







vipcaniac wrote:Can someone post the RAW from the BRB about transports and dawn of war deployment? I am at work and do not have the info.
A Tactical Squad and a Rhino count as your two troops choices. It can be found in the italic text underneath the diagram on the Page where the DoW Rules are.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
TheTrueMata wrote:If I'm not mistaken, Rhinos are dedicated transports and as such, do not take up any FOC slots. So say you had 2 units of troops, both in their own Rhino, you could deploy none, one, or both of them, and of course your 0-1 HQ.
I'll let someone else take the LR portion.

Also, sorry, no BRB references from me as I don't have mine in front of me either.
You are mistaken.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
vipcaniac wrote:Also, when it comes to an HQ mounted in, say a Land Raider, that counts as 2 HQ deployments. What???
If it is a Dedicated Land Raider, then yes, it would count as 2 HQ Units and thus could not be Deployed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/02 15:11:05


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

vipcaniac wrote:
Can someone post the RAW from the BRB about transports and dawn of war deployment? I am at work and do not have the info.


See the bolded sections:

The players roll-off, and the winner chooses to go first or second. The player that goes first then chooses one of the long table edges to be his own table edge. He then can deploy up to two units from his Troops selections and up to one unit from his HQ selections in his half of the table (this is his ‘deployment zone’). His opponent then does the same in the opposite half, but must position his three units more than 18" from enemy units.

Example: player A wins the roll-off and deploys an infantry unit from his Troops and one monstrous creature from his HQ, in his half of the table. He also declares that a second infantry unit from his Troops will use its Infiltrate ability. In his half of the table, player B then deploys a unit of Troops, already embarked into their dedicated transport (which is his second unit of Troops). He then deploys an independent character from his HQ, joining the unit embarked in the transport. Finally, player A deploys his infiltrating unit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Gwar! wrote:
vipcaniac wrote:Also, when it comes to an HQ mounted in, say a Land Raider, that counts as 2 HQ deployments. What???
If it is a Dedicated Land Raider, then yes, it would count as 2 HQ Units and thus could not be Deployed.

Unless, of course, the LR was Dedicated to a Troop, and the HQ was riding in it with them?
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




Per the rulebook, dedicated transports do not take up FOC but otherwise count as a choice from the same FOC category. Hence the DoW rules.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







KaloranSLC wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
vipcaniac wrote:Also, when it comes to an HQ mounted in, say a Land Raider, that counts as 2 HQ deployments. What???
If it is a Dedicated Land Raider, then yes, it would count as 2 HQ Units and thus could not be Deployed.

Unless, of course, the LR was Dedicated to a Troop, and the HQ was riding in it with them?
Well if you are playing Black Templars, it is Possible to have 3 LR At the start of DoW, 2 Troop Transports and 1 HQ Transport >.>

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yep, you could do that. They are units from your Troops and HQ selections. I frequently start my IG HQ Chimera instead of the squad.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Gwar! wrote:
KaloranSLC wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
vipcaniac wrote:Also, when it comes to an HQ mounted in, say a Land Raider, that counts as 2 HQ deployments. What???
If it is a Dedicated Land Raider, then yes, it would count as 2 HQ Units and thus could not be Deployed.

Unless, of course, the LR was Dedicated to a Troop, and the HQ was riding in it with them?
Well if you are playing Black Templars, it is Possible to have 3 LR At the start of DoW, 2 Troop Transports and 1 HQ Transport >.>

That's just evil...
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







KaloranSLC wrote:That's just evil...
No, what is evil is that a Black Templars Army can cram in...

Wait for it....

14 Land Raider Crusaders (2 HQ, 3 Elite, 6 Troop and 3 Heavy)

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Gwar! wrote:
KaloranSLC wrote:That's just evil...
No, what is evil is that a Black Templars Army can cram in...

Wait for it....

14 Land Raider Crusaders (2 HQ, 3 Elite, 6 Troop and 3 Heavy)

I should really play around with how many points an army like that would actually be. I still stand by my statement that starting a DoW scenario with 3 LRs halfway up the board (albeit empty) is just plain devious.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

KaloranSLC wrote:I should really play around with how many points an army like that would actually be. I still stand by my statement that starting a DoW scenario with 3 LRs halfway up the board (albeit empty) is just plain devious.

Given that Templars generally run choppy, you're actually better off deploying them about 7" in from the board edge, so that three squads can walk in, mount up, and drive another 12".

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Intoxicated Centigor




Apex, NC

Thanks for the info guys.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: