Switch Theme:

Barbed Strangler blast effect on Tyranids  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Oozing Spawning Vat





I hope this isn't a dumb question but given the nature of the large "blast" effect from a Barbed Strangler,
do the hooked tendrils it sends out attack fellow Tyranids?
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Yes.

Edit to add:
But only on a scatter (unless Tyranids are opponents), as the blast cannot be placed over friendly models

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/02 22:23:35


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes.

And is customary to ask:
Why do you think it wouldn't?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




Probably fluff, Gwar. Nid weapons are supposed to be living stuff directed by the hive-mind. Yadda yadda. Not rules.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ajfirecracker wrote:Probably fluff, Gwar. Nid weapons are supposed to be living stuff directed by the hive-mind. Yadda yadda. Not rules.
Even in Fluff, they would attack nids. Nids sometimes fight each other to test out new biomorphs and assimilate the weaker for biomass. And their "ammo" are just mindless Grubs/Bits of Organs that kill whatever regardless.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

And the ammunition the barbed strangler fires is a vicious, fast-growing plant.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in gb
Oozing Spawning Vat





Gwar! wrote:
And is customary to ask:
Why do you think it wouldn't?


I'd suspected it would to be honest, but as the blast is a living thing there may be a chance that it could distinguish friend from foe. I realise that it can only happen in a scatter situation and as it is a large blast coupled with my usual crappy rolling it's a distinct possibility of me nuking my own team.

Many thanks for the advice though.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 18:48:57


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

The same logic could apply to all Tyranid weaponry (which includes the creatures). However, just because it is a Tyranid does not make it a friend.

Either way, both friend and foe are reduced to biomass eventually anyway. It is no real loss when 'Team Kills' happen, from the Hive Mind's PoV.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Oozing Spawning Vat





kirsanth wrote:
both friend and foe are reduced to biomass eventually anyway. It is no real loss when 'Team Kills' happen, from the Hive Mind's PoV.


Phew that makes me feel much better!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 19:01:08


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: