Switch Theme:

Errata and Faqs on GWs website  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok so two questions here. First off, I know that Errata and FAQs should be agreed upon in terms of whether or not they are using in a game, and our crew generally agrees that they are used. My question is, what happens when a Errata/FAQ is no longer on GWs website under the Errata/FAQs section on:

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3400019&start=2

?

What I mean is, I have a FAQ that I had once gotten from GW's website on IG, but it is no longer up there. Does that mean that it is no longer supported by GW in terms of it being valid due to a new codex comming out? The one I have refers to units that are no longer in the codex so I would assume that it is no longer valid.

The second question deals with Command Squads. Now I thought I remembered reading that they were worth 2 kill points, but in the book, the command squad entry makes no mention of being worth 2 kill points in the codex for either the platoon command squad or the company command squad. I could understand it being worth 2 kill points if one of the figures in the command squad were ICs, but I cannot figure out how they could be worth 2 kill points.

Thanks,
s2
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

If it isn't on there anymore, it isn't official. FAQs for old codexes are obviously not intended to be applied to new codexes.

It is not Command Squads, it is retinues you are thinking of. It does not apply. The command squad is 1 killpoint, and any attached ICs are also their individual killpoints. Retinue rules only exist in old codexes.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




You are absolutely correct - the IG FAQ was for the old codex. We're still waiting to hear about the new questions they caused, what with Valkyrie squadrons making no mention of how they interact with Reserve rules.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Drudge: Thats what I thought. I started with 5th edition and by then the new IG codex was just about out so I did not get to see it, but was any figure in either command squads an IC? Just curious as I thought I had seen this for the Command squads... I'm glad it doesnt though... lol

Spetulhu: Just out of curiousity, what is the issue with the reserve rule and Valkyries? I dont have the rule book in front of me, but wouldnt they just act normally? Sorry for the n00b question

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/03 07:25:07


 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

s2ua7 wrote:Ok so two questions here. First off, I know that Errata and FAQs should be agreed upon in terms of whether or not they are using in a game

Errata is as good as reading right from the rulebook. No agreement required.




 
   
Made in au
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Probably somewhere I shouldn't be

Spetulhu wrote:You are absolutely correct - the IG FAQ was for the old codex. We're still waiting to hear about the new questions they caused, what with Valkyrie squadrons making no mention of how they interact with Reserve rules.
With all the Valk issues, and given GW's track record of putting out FAQs, I don't expect an updated IG FAQ for a looooong time

40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ridcully wrote:
s2ua7 wrote:Ok so two questions here. First off, I know that Errata and FAQs should be agreed upon in terms of whether or not they are using in a game

Errata is as good as reading right from the rulebook. No agreement required.


Good point on the Errata in which I totally agree with you, although for sake of this arguement, would the Errata for an old rule book be valid then for a new rule book that came out? I would assum not if the FAQ/Errata PDF was taken down.

I guess I will have to look at the Valk issues. I was only aware of a few issues so I will have to look for them.

Thanks for all the input fellow dakka-ites.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Errata and FAQ apply only to a particular book
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In the previous IG codex a Junior Officer was an Independent Character who could not leave the unit, in other words it was a retinue. A retinue is worth 2KP at least: 1 for the IC and 1 for the rest of the squad.

An errata obviously only applies to a specific book: it is nonsensical to think otherwise. A FAQ for the 4th ed BRB cannot be applied to the 5th ed BRB, as rules will have changed etc.

Valk issues are essentially: if you put a platoon in a number of different squadrons and Outflank them do all the squadrons come in on one roll, as per the Platoon rule? Or are they seperate squadrons and those are the rules that take precendence?

Other people question if yoiu can outflank in a transport vehicle with ouflank, but you obviously can - marines cannot deepstrike but a drop pod can being the classic counter example.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/03 10:09:08


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Drudge Dreadnought wrote:If it isn't on there anymore, it isn't official. FAQs for old codexes are obviously not intended to be applied to new codexes.

It is not Command Squads, it is retinues you are thinking of. It does not apply. The command squad is 1 killpoint, and any attached ICs are also their individual killpoints. Retinue rules only exist in old codexes.
DD has it right.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




nosferatu1001 wrote:Valk issues are essentially: if you put a platoon in a number of different squadrons and Outflank them do all the squadrons come in on one roll, as per the Platoon rule? Or are they seperate squadrons and those are the rules that take precendence?


Our group was thinking too small, it seems. ;-)

We only worried our heads with three full Infantry Platoons each putting one squad in a Valkyrie Squadron. That's 4 FOCs in reserve right there. Will the whole mass come from reserves if even one roll is successful? Or are the Valkyrie-mounted squads disregarded when rolling the parent unit's reserve roll? Or will the WH40K universe implode while we ponder this question?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:In the previous IG codex a Junior Officer was an Independent Character who could not leave the unit, in other words it was a retinue. A retinue is worth 2KP at least: 1 for the IC and 1 for the rest of the squad.

An errata obviously only applies to a specific book: it is nonsensical to think otherwise. A FAQ for the 4th ed BRB cannot be applied to the 5th ed BRB, as rules will have changed etc.


Awesome, thanks for that update on the previous IG Codex with the Junior Officer being an IC... That makes alot more sense that it would be worth 2 kill points vs. now.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: