Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/03 14:11:54
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
So from the Valk/Vendetta outflanking/scout thread we figured out that a transport vehicle confers its deployment method to the troops inside. (see dark angel GW faq). In essence, troops arriving from a drop pod arrive via deep strike. If a Pod lands in terrain, it has to take dangerous terrain test. My question is if a unit deploys out of a drop pod into difficult terrain, would the unit also have to take a dangerous terrain test? (Because it arrived via deep strike)
Another question… If a transport moves flat out and get destroyed, are the units inside also destroyed because a unit can’t disembark because the transport moved flat out? I read it another thread and it’s relevant for all these zippy Melta Vendettas flying around… and ork trucks… and Tank Ramming wave serpents… and the entire dark eldar army.
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/03 14:15:45
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Chubs wrote:So from the Valk/Vendetta outflanking/scout thread we figured out that a transport vehicle confers its deployment method to the troops inside. (see dark angel GW faq). In essence, troops arriving from a drop pod arrive via deep strike. If a Pod lands in terrain, it has to take dangerous terrain test. My question is if a unit deploys out of a drop pod into difficult terrain, would the unit also have to take a dangerous terrain test? (Because it arrived via deep strike)
No, because while the Unit does arrive Via Deep Strike they are inside the Transport when they do, so the transport takes the test. They are then forced to then Disembark (a Drop Pod Special Rule) and disembarking into difficult terrain does not cause a test. Another question… If a transport moves flat out and get destroyed, are the units inside also destroyed because a unit can’t disembark because the transport moved flat out? I read it another thread and it’s relevant for all these zippy Melta Vendettas flying around… and ork trucks… and Tank Ramming wave serpents… and the entire dark eldar army.
Yes. However RaW this seems to only apply to Wrecked results, not Explodes. Go Figure -Shrug-
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/03 14:17:59
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/03 14:23:12
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Let me clarify the answer to your second question:
Yes, the unit is destroyed if it "wrecked" in the owning player's turn, while going flat out, because you cannot disembark.
No, the unit would not be destoyed if the vehicle "explodes" while giong flat out in the owning player's turn, because the unit is not disembarking, but are rather just placed where the vehicle used to be.
The transported unit will never be auto-destoyed in the opposing player's turn, just because the tranposrt went flat out in its turn.
* Ninjad by Gwar's edit!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/03 14:24:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/03 14:52:35
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
Cool on the first questions, that's what I thought happened.
As for the second. So, if the ork Truck goes flat out, plows through a forrest and wrecked, all the orks die. If a wave serpant rams and explodes, the fire dragons inside take the normal wounds and pin check but are otherwise cool?
Just to make sure, for scouting Vendettas. They Turbo scout move. the enemy steals the iniative and smokes the Vendetta with a wrecked results- are the troops inside ok?
-> I'm thinking yes because the scouting unit is allowed to make a normal move, so only if it wrecks itself during it's own turn are the troops in peril .
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/03 14:57:39
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Yep, you pretty much got it right, except that Valks/Vends can go "flat out" in their scout move; they may not "turbo".
There is a difference, as the pre-game turbo grants a cover save, while going "flat out" does not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/03 15:04:28
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Alerian wrote:Yep, you pretty much got it right, except that Valks/Vends can go "flat out" in their scout move; they may not "turbo".
There is a difference, as the pre-game turbo grants a cover save, while going "flat out" does not.
Correct. Valks cant get the Cover, while bikes can. Unfair? Well thems the breaks
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 05:49:29
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
How does an ork trukk get a wrecked result from dangerous terrain?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 05:49:58
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 06:15:12
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
Probably somewhere I shouldn't be
|
Kitzz wrote:How does an ork trukk get a wrecked result from dangerous terrain?
I think he means Immobilised, and is using 'wrecked' as a descriptor.
|
40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 06:43:47
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
In that case, I am confused. I'm sure I'll figure it out later.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 07:02:23
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
Probably somewhere I shouldn't be
|
Actually, on second reading, I think he is mixing up transports. A Flat Out Skimmer is Wrecked on a failed roll, anything else is just Immobilised. EDIT: Capitalisation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 07:11:12
40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:14:19
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Falls Church, VA
|
OK so. Ork Trukk moves flat out during my opponent's turn.
I shoot it and get a 5 or 6. It doesn't matter which because at this point he rolls on Ramshackle or whatever.
On a 1-4, the vehicle explodes (other things can happen, but the end result is an explosion) and thus the Orks just take a S3 hit and get on with their lives.
On a 5-6 they disembark just fine... or does the fact that he moved flat out make it not so?
And I use the "he" in the most gender neutral way possible...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:18:59
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Page 70.
"Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase"
emphasis mine.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:20:34
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Lucidicide wrote:OK so. Ork Trukk moves flat out during my opponent's turn.
I shoot it and get a 5 or 6. It doesn't matter which because at this point he rolls on Ramshackle or whatever.
On a 1-4, the vehicle explodes (other things can happen, but the end result is an explosion) and thus the Orks just take a S3 hit and get on with their lives.
On a 5-6 they disembark just fine... or does the fact that he moved flat out make it not so?
And I use the "he" in the most gender neutral way possible...
Actually, the Kaboom! result is not the same as a Destroyed - Explodes result. If you look, you see Kaboom asks for the Orks to disembark. Which they cannot do. Automatically Appended Next Post: kirsanth wrote:Page 70.
"Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase"
emphasis mine.
Aye, that is one way of looking at it. -Shrug- More horrible GW rules I am afraid.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 21:21:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:26:27
Subject: Re:Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Falls Church, VA
|
Fun. So as long as I don't wreck my own vehicles...
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:29:46
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
where am I? *looks around* Well i'm...errr...I...I...don't know!
|
Yeah, Drop POds don't land in Difficult terrain, youreduce the scatter to within an inch of the terrain and then it lands due to it being big and fired from low orbit!
|
MAY YER BOLTER NAE FALTER!!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:36:45
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Imperial Monkey wrote:Yeah, Drop POds don't land in Difficult terrain, youreduce the scatter to within an inch of the terrain and then it lands due to it being big and fired from low orbit!
Sorry, this is wrong. They reduce the scatter if they land in IMPASSIBLE Terrain (or other models). They land as normal in Difficult terrain.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 21:37:21
Subject: Two Specific Questions About Transports
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
And they are not Fast Vehicles. . .
Although, that would be REALLY funny.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 21:37:52
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|