Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 18:10:25
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the
Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000
rulebook with the following exception: For the
purposes of contesting objectives and
embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or
Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base.
For example, models wishing to embark within a
Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their
movement, all models within the unit are within
2" of the Valkyrie’s base.
So my question is this: Does this mean I can disembark my troops anywhere 2" of the Valk/Vend base? If so then can it be in the front of the vehicle? This is a big deal to maximize using my scout move to drop my troops with melta guns right in enemy lines to destroy armor. It would allow me not have to turn my Valk/Vend sideways and I can still face armor I want to shoot at. RAW I would say yes but RAI I am not sure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 18:19:01
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Yes. according to the FAQ, you can disembark within 2" of any part of part of the base.
Valks/Vends just got even better.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 18:25:28
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, many things go worse so I guess its a wash. I am really only diappointed in the ST thing using FRFSRF, I really wish I could justify a reason to take them and Ogryns, sigh.
People fail to realize that ST are actually 18 points each when you take 5 of them, it just makes me sick at that price.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 18:28:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 18:53:56
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
broxus wrote:Well, many things go worse so I guess its a wash. I am really only diappointed in the ST thing using FRFSRF, I really wish I could justify a reason to take them and Ogryns, sigh.
People fail to realize that ST are actually 18 points each when you take 5 of them, it just makes me sick at that price.
They are fluff units, not power units.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 18:55:52
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Broxus - ST did not "get worse", they were never intended to get FRF!SRF! and in the rules they never did get it - Hot Shot Lasguns not being Lasguns being the main reason why not. Unfortunatley people unable to distinguish between two different weapons meant they now get to whine when told theyre wrong.
The FAQ was perfectly good, although why Autarchs get to stack the +1 with the same wording as an Advisor who doesn't is not that clear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 18:57:42
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The FAQ was perfectly good, although why Autarchs get to stack the +1 with the same wording as an Advisor who doesn't is not that clear.
1: Wording is not the same. Autarchs are Optional, Advisors are mandatory.
2: Millennia Old Eldar > 60 Year Old Navy Guy
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:00:46
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Alerian wrote:Valks/Vends just got even better.
Of course! Spiffy new model + spiffy new rulings = spiffy new sales!
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:03:00
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
kirsanth wrote:Alerian wrote:Valks/Vends just got even better.
Of course! Spiffy new model + spiffy new rulings = spiffy new sales!
No joke...though it makes you wonder why GW didn't re-do the Ork FAQ declaring that Deffrollas could ram, the minute that the upgrade sprue went on sale.
I think someone was asleep in the marketing department on that one
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:03:28
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Gwar! wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:The FAQ was perfectly good, although why Autarchs get to stack the +1 with the same wording as an Advisor who doesn't is not that clear.
1: Wording is not the same. Autarchs are Optional, Advisors are mandatory.
2: Millennia Old Eldar > 60 Year Old Navy Guy
EDIT: Nevermind, thought you were talking about advisors being mandatory, not their powers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 19:04:05
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:04:40
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
He meant that the Advisor's +1 is mandatory if you take them; and Autarch can choose whether to give the +1 or not...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:09:10
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Alerian wrote:kirsanth wrote:Alerian wrote:Valks/Vends just got even better.
Of course! Spiffy new model + spiffy new rulings = spiffy new sales!
No joke...though it makes you wonder why GW didn't re-do the Ork FAQ declaring that Deffrollas could ram, the minute that the upgrade sprue went on sale.
I think someone was asleep in the marketing department on that one 
Why can't Deffrollas ram?
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:10:06
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Ram =/= tank shock.
The CAN ram, but the d6 s10 hits do not apply to the vehicles, just to units tank shocked en route.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 19:10:31
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:11:39
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Finland
|
broxus wrote:A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the
Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000
rulebook with the following exception: For the
purposes of contesting objectives and
embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or
Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base.
For example, models wishing to embark within a
Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their
movement, all models within the unit are within
2" of the Valkyrie’s base.
.
Emphasis mine. The second point that caught my eye from the FAQ in addition to the disembark mentioned by OP. So lets see if I get this right. So from now on we should count the capture/contest distance for Valk/Vendys ( with scoring units inside ) from the base? Disregarding the default rule of measuring from the Hull? Or am I just reading too much into this?
|
12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:13:21
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
You are correct, see my first post in this thread.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:17:33
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
kirsanth wrote:Ram =/= tank shock.
The CAN ram, but the d6 s10 hits do not apply to the vehicles, just to units tank shocked en route.
Right, but if you'd rather ram a vehicle from 12" away, you could still ram and cause one Str 9 hit to the vehicle, all the while tank shocking the units in the way at D6 Str10 hits.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:23:06
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Finland
|
 You mean this?
kirsanth wrote:Alerian wrote:Valks/Vends just got even better.
Of course! Spiffy new model + spiffy new rulings = spiffy new sales!
How is this relevant? By only measuring from the base you actually lose some distance/area ( remember that the thing is huge even if you don`t count the wings ). Besides I already own four of the buggers  .
|
12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:23:11
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
puma713 wrote:kirsanth wrote:Ram =/= tank shock.
The CAN ram, but the d6 s10 hits do not apply to the vehicles, just to units tank shocked en route.
Right, but if you'd rather ram a vehicle from 12" away, you could still ram and cause one Str 9 hit to the vehicle, all the while tank shocking the units in the way at D6 Str10 hits.
Actually, the best you can do at 12" is a S8 hit. You need a RPJ to do a S9.
AV14 (4) + Tank (1) + 12" move (3) = S8
The reason for this is the wording for Speed, under ramming: "Each full 3" moved that tun by the rammer before impact"
If you move 12" to hit a vehicle, you will be just under 12" move before making contact...even if it is just barely ie: 11.99999999999999999"
How is this relevant? By only measuring from the base you actually lose some distance/area ( remember that the thing is huge even if you don`t count the wings ).
It is better, because by RAW, the Valk/Vend could not contest objectives on the ground, nor could you noramlly disembark, because the hull and access points were too high offf the ground.
Now, the Valk can contest objectives, as well as allows you to normally disembark. It also has the added bonus of allowing disembarking IN FRONT of the Valks for extra range with your demo charges/melta vets.
Valks are a lot better after this FAQ.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/09/04 19:30:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:24:42
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Alerian wrote:puma713 wrote:kirsanth wrote:Ram =/= tank shock.
The CAN ram, but the d6 s10 hits do not apply to the vehicles, just to units tank shocked en route.
Right, but if you'd rather ram a vehicle from 12" away, you could still ram and cause one Str 9 hit to the vehicle, all the while tank shocking the units in the way at D6 Str10 hits.
Actually, the best you can do at 12" is a S8 hit. You need a RPJ to do a S9.
AV14 (4) + Tank (1) + 12" move (3) = S8
The reason for this is the wording for Speed, under ramming: "Each full 3" moved that tun by the rammer before impact"
If you move 12" to hit a vehicle, you will be just under 12" move before making contact...even if it is just barely ie: 11.99999999999999999"
Yeah, that was just bad math on my part.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:31:30
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
A-P wrote:  You mean this?
kirsanth wrote:Alerian wrote:Valks/Vends just got even better.
Of course! Spiffy new model + spiffy new rulings = spiffy new sales!
How is this relevant? By only measuring from the base you actually lose some distance/area ( remember that the thing is huge even if you don`t count the wings ). Besides I already own four of the buggers  .
You are ignoreing most of the distance you need to measure.
Vertical, specifically.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:32:08
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Clinton, TN
|
Is it now possible to assault a Valk with anything that's not monstrous? E.G. a MEQ model? They can't even get close to the actually skimmer unless it's immobilized or you can assault the base (what my FLGS rules)...
No krack for me?
Edit: Spelling
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 19:34:49
Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500
"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:33:35
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Assault always allowed the base to be used.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:36:29
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Clinton, TN
|
Yeah... I see that know, pg. 71, feth me...
|
Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500
"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:39:31
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
kirsanth wrote:Ram =/= tank shock.
The CAN ram, but the d6 s10 hits do not apply to the vehicles, just to units tank shocked en route.
Except that ramming is a special form of tank shock...
This is an open question, it's been argued to death with no real resolution.
Just be aware that there are a number of people who disagree with kirsanth on this issue, and that they have some RAW evidence on their side.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:41:32
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun
|
Couldn't your BW ram 13"?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:48:53
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Ordznik wrote:kirsanth wrote:Ram =/= tank shock.
The CAN ram, but the d6 s10 hits do not apply to the vehicles, just to units tank shocked en route.
Except that ramming is a special form of tank shock...
This is an open question, it's been argued to death with no real resolution.
Just be aware that there are a number of people who disagree with kirsanth on this issue, and that they have some RAW evidence on their side.
And storm bolters are a special kind of bolter.
However, there ARE disagreements - unless the INAT FAQ is used. (See: 'ard Boys)
(or the gentlemanly "I will use the least advantages interpretation for my things in the case of a disagreement" is not used and instead it seems . . . nicer to randomly decide with a d6 every game. Yea.)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/04 19:50:39
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/04 19:54:54
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Finland
|
Alerian wrote:
It is better, because by RAW, the Valk/Vend could not contest objectives on the ground, nor could you noramlly disembark, because the hull and access points were too high offf the ground.
Now, the Valk can contest objectives, as well as allows you to normally disembark. It also has the added bonus of allowing disembarking IN FRONT of the Valks for extra range with your demo charges/melta vets.
Valks are a lot better after this FAQ.
Yes, I am aware of all that  . Like I said, I regularly play with four Valk/Vendys. For the record notice that my followup question was not about the new disembarking but capturing/contesting. Previously Valks could contest just fine. They just had to do it from "top to bottom" and therefore you placed objectives on top of ruins/hills/towers. Now with this new ruling that tactic is no longer valid ( or at least more difficult to pull).
And the Hull is still undefined  . Might have some bearing why they ruled this way. Saved them the trouble.
|
12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/05 00:31:22
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:
2: Millennia Old Eldar > 60 Year Old Navy Guy
Quite a few advisors are well over 100, good old juvenat.
Still youd think some of them woul dbe able to speak clearly enought o the ground units to get their asses in gear....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/05 09:28:07
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
broxus wrote:Well, many things go worse so I guess its a wash. I am really only diappointed in the ST thing using FRFSRF, I really wish I could justify a reason to take them and Ogryns, sigh.
The easiest way to justify taking either is to acquire serious brain damage. Also, you get a better parking space.
|
The supply does not get to make the demands. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/05 21:30:53
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Meh, Ogryns rock from what I've seen of them in play.
Kind of related question:
If a Valk/vendetta explodes close to models on mutliple levels of a building does the explosion, if big enough (say 6") hit all models regardless of what level they are on or only models at the same height as the Valk/Ven?
Common sense tells me it hits all regardless as flyer blowing up normally explodes in a spherical fireball, not just a convex bubble and rules only say "models caught in the blast suffer a S3 hit"
|
--The whole concept of government granted and government regulated 'permits' and the accompanying government mandate for government approved firearms 'training' prior to being blessed by government with the privilege to carry arms in a government approved and regulated manner, flies directly in the face of the fundamental right to keep and bear arms.
“The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/05 21:31:56
Subject: Rules question about the IG FAQ
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The rules say D6" from the Vehicle. You measure from the hull in all Directions. Normally it only matters on the horizontal plane, but you measure vertical if it would matter.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|