Switch Theme:

deff dreads  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I was hoping some one else can help me out.

Since bringing a big mek allows a deff dread to count as a troop choice can it hold objectives since the rules read only Troop can hold objectives?

Thanks in advance
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





Georgia,just outside Atlanta

Hmmm.I would assume that since it's a troop along with the inclusion of a Big Mek,then yes it would be able to hold objectives.
You might want to move this question to YMDC,I'm sure there would be a bit of debate over this.


"I'll tell you one thing that every good soldier knows! The only thing that counts in the end is power! Naked merciless force!" .-Ursus.

I am Red/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

It cannot hold objectives, since it is not infantry, and only infantry can hold objectives. You're pretty much taking that Deff Dread as a troops choice to free up your heavy support options.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




sweet thanks for the replys

this is kind of where me and my friends are on this rule. I called up Gamesworkshop they said it could hold objectives.

do you happen to know what page it says only infantry can hold objectives
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






The ruins of the Palace of Thorns

Page 90 of the BGB.

...unit of Troops does not count as scoring::

If it is a vehicle...



Gamesworkshop are wrong. It is worth remembering that at leas 2/3 of GW staff are cretins and do not know the rules of the games. (Not that they'll ever admit it).

Though guards may sleep and ships may lay at anchor, our foes know full well that big guns never tire.

Posting as Fifty_Painting on Instagram.

My blog - almost 40 pages of Badab War, Eldar, undead and other assorted projects 
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




Non-infantry may hold objectives.

Normally, units that may hold objectives are any that are drawn from Troops and are not swarms or vehicles. (Unless I'm missing another exception)
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot






The only scoring vehicle in the game is the DA Ravenwing Attack Squadron Land Speeder, and only if you are fielding Sammael to make it a troops choice, and it only scores because its codex says that it can, thus trumping the BRB.

   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Actually, they have a special rule that allows even the fast attack ones to score. Sammael is nice, but unnecessary for the desired effect. Also, the other members of the squad can score too, so you could potentially have a lot of scoring units.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Kitzz - they removed the FA slot ones from scoring, but not the RAS LS.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

When did they do that?

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Kitzz wrote:When did they do that?
The FAQ I guess.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Omadon's Realm

**edits cos i'm basically repeating Fifty...**

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/08 19:50:18




 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Not the FAQ I have. I must be missing something.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

What page does it deal with the T ones scoring? (playing telephone with a friend-- he's got his copy open in front of him, asking me questions over the phone, and I'm typing on the computron)




 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The codex states that the RAS squad counts as scoring, including the LS. The combat squad states all CS units are scoring however this was changed in the errata to state "normal unit" only - stopping them scoring.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Yes, but it doesn't matter whether they are troops or not; they are still scoring. The scoring distinction doesn't exist between fast attack RAS LS or troops RAS LS. In fact, the only time troops are mentioned with the RAS is in Sammael's entry.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in nz
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





New Zealand

what? under the Sammael entry at the end it says that ravenwing attack Squadrons may be taken as troops as well as fast attack. Nothing about them all being counted as scoring and nothing about the support squadrons.

I play: - 2000pt
Deathwing - 12-1500 pts and counting
 
   
Made in de
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander






germany,bavaria

Kitzz wrote:Yes, but it doesn't matter whether they are troops or not; they are still scoring. The scoring distinction doesn't exist between fast attack RAS LS or troops RAS LS. In fact, the only time troops are mentioned with the RAS is in Sammael's entry.


Is your reference page 27 / Ravenwing combat squads?

If so, youre aware that this is a 4th ed codex and 4th ed scoring/victory points ?


Target locked,ready to fire



In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.

H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Are you aware that there are still third edition codecies that force you to have dedicated transports that can only transport units they are purchased with, or that Black Templars still have to take target priority tests in some cases?

You have to take the good with the bad. GW has stated more times than I care to mention that if your codex specifies something over the rulebook, even if it is a hangover from a previous edition, you must do what your codex says.

In this specific case, they even removed the similar wording from the front of the codex that applied to all units via errata. If you want to argue intent, check out what the authors did (even though intent usually doesn't mean squat in this board).

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The land of cotton.

There it is... bigger than life. In reference to the Dark Angels Attack Bike and Land Speeder purchased as part of a Ravenwing Attack Squadron they must be purchased and deploy as a unit but from then on..."they always operate as completely independent scoring units of one model".

To get back to the original poster... since your Deff Dred has no such entry making him a scoring unit, while he is still a Troops choice due to the Big Mek, he's not scoring. But that's not why you take them as Troops anyway. You do it so you can have nine Killa Kans *AND* a Deff Dred.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 02:01:33


 
   
Made in au
Elusive Dryad






Slightly left of the middle of nowhere

I've never read the rule that non infantry can't hold objectives but i know only troops can and if the defdread counts as troop then yes it can hold the objective, the other team just better have some MM's

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.” Or in my case, First they look at you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you lose. A short history of the Awesomarines  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Keefer wrote:I've never read the rule that non infantry can't hold objectives but i know only troops can and if the defdread counts as troop then yes it can hold the objective, the other team just better have some MM's
Page 90 BRB:
An army's scoring units are all the units that come from its Troops allowance. The presence of other units may deny an objective to the enemy, but only Troops can control it. There are a few exceptions, however, when a unit of Troops does not count as scoring:
• If it is a vehicle.
• If it has the Swarm special rule.
• If it has a special rule specifying it never counts as a scoring unit.
So no, Deff Dreads cannot capture Objectives.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Elusive Dryad






Slightly left of the middle of nowhere

Bummer

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.” Or in my case, First they look at you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you lose. A short history of the Awesomarines  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: