Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 06:32:24
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
Albuquerque
|
A RAW v RAI and fluff discussion started on the B&C forums, Black Templars section.
"can always re-roll their rolls to hit in close combat against their preferred enemy"
Unlike twin-linked, master crafted, signum, lightning claws, and feel no pain (and probably other abilities and weapons from other races) which specifically mention and require failure to re-roll, Preferred Enemy does not. So, in a situation where the destruction of your enemy in close combat will lead to your own destruction in the subsequent shooting phase....
Can you re-roll your hits in an effort to MISS, remain in close combat, and increase your survivability???
I say yes, though some say "cheese!" Thoughts?
Edit: Added "can" though it doesn't actually effect this discussion. Even if you always have to roll, you may still re-roll your hits. That is the question.
Edit: Removed twin linked template.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/09/10 18:17:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 06:34:01
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
bigduncm24 wrote:
A RAW v RAI and fluff discussion started on the B&C forums, Black Templars section.
"always re-roll their rolls to hit in close combat against their preferred enemy"
Unlike twin-linked, master crafted, signum, lightning claws, twin linked blast, and feel no pain (and probably other abilities and weapons from other races) which specifically mention and require failure to re-roll, Preferred Enemy does not. So, in a situation where the destruction of your enemy in close combat will lead to your own destruction in the subsequent shooting phase....
Can you re-roll your hits in an effort to MISS, remain in close combat, and increase your survivability???
I say yes, though some say "cheese!" Thoughts?
I don't have a BT codex - does it give them the Preferred Enemy rule, specifically? If so, I'd say you could re-roll what you'd like. Fluff-wise, you might imagine a marines overwhelming a unit of fire warriors or something and their captain comes on the comm commanding them to leave one alive for questioning. You get my drift. The rule for Preferred Enemy says just what you posted above, so I'd say you could re-roll whichever you'd like.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 06:36:07
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 06:40:04
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
To answer your question, no. It makes no sense. If they always re-roll, then you have to roll the dice twice and take the second result, every time. If you do that in a game, your opponent will likely take pity on you and let you roll it once. You obviously can't re-roll your hits in an effort to miss any more than you can re-roll your misses in an attempt to hit, if this is the way you want to play it. To borrow a phrase from kirsanth, the point is moot (or in his case, not moot). EDIT: Having read the codex, and having found out that it references the USR (not, in fact, a special BT version of PE) and having looked up the USR, I have discovered that you left out the word "can" which makes the sentence quite different.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/10 06:46:47
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 06:41:53
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Kitzz wrote:To answer your question, no. It makes no sense. If they always re-roll, then you have to roll the dice twice and take the second result, every time. If you do that in a game, your opponent will likely take pity on you and let you roll it once. You obviously can't re-roll your hits in an effort to miss any more than you can re-roll your misses in an attempt to hit, if this is the way you want to play it. To borrow a phrase from kirsanth, the point is moot (or in his case, not moot).
It doesn't say "must". It says "can".
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 06:46:13
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yup, its optional. And in this case you can re-roll successful hits.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 07:05:15
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
RAW is subjective. RAI is clear. The Black Templar do not take Xenos prisoners. Crusader squads aim to inflict maximum damage. They aren't trying to stay in combat longer. Doing it for this reason is extremely gamey.
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 08:40:16
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Drudge Dreadnought wrote:RAW is subjective. RAI is clear. The Black Templar do not take Xenos prisoners. Crusader squads aim to inflict maximum damage. They aren't trying to stay in combat longer. Doing it for this reason is extremely gamey.
Maybe they got REALLY angry at the xenos for kicking sand in their face and then laughing as the xenos' bulging pectorals heaved up and down that in their fury they end up flailing while held at arms length by the much larger and more manly aliens? If you need a fluff explanation that is.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/10 08:43:16
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 13:45:44
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
Albuquerque
|
Templars are zealous about killing Xenos in hand to hand, but it does not mention how quickly they must kill them. If it makes sense tactically, wouldn't they "stall" close combat to draw another enemy closer, or give them better odds to kill another foe in hand to hand when the timing seemed right? I think it works fluff wise. Now if it were Space Wolves, probably not. They are so feral their brains have shrunk.... but Templars are not so zealous that they don't play smart.
And that view of Templars is definitely up to the player.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 14:33:41
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Another TFG BS query.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 15:31:50
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
If Slaanesh had preferred enemy it would be fluffy to let them reroll hits.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 15:32:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 15:42:22
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Green Blow Fly wrote:Another TFG BS query.
G
Helpful, polite, and on topic. Nice.
Anyhow.
Twin-linked (amoung other rules) specify that only misses can be re-rolled. PE has no such restrictions.
RAW is clear. The rules are not the same, and the same restriction do not apply.
Tactical decision making is allowed without that restriction.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 15:56:37
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
kirsanth wrote:Green Blow Fly wrote:Another TFG BS query. G
Helpful, polite, and on topic. Nice.  Anyhow. Twin-linked (amoung other rules) specify that only misses can be re-rolled. PE has no such restrictions. RAW is clear. The rules are not the same, and the same restriction do not apply. Tactical decision making is allowed without that restriction.
The funny thing about twin linked though is the Template Weapon rules, which state "Twin-linked template weapons are fired just like a single weapon, but they can re-roll the dice to wound." This line is so ambiguous it is not even funny. It could mean: You may re-roll the failed "To Wound" Rolls. You may re-roll all "To Wound Rolls", successful ones included. You can re-roll "the dice" (NB: Dice in British English is Plural) or not re-roll "The Dice". i.e. You may re-roll all the dice, or none of the dice.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 15:57:30
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 16:16:13
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Gwar! wrote: (NB: Dice in British English is Plural)
I beg to differ.
Read the rest of the book, "Dice" is used in singular as well as plural, and is used so in modern standard english as such.
ex. page 2. ROLLING A d3 "a three-sided dice"
editing to add: I am referencing Oxford. (OED or AskOxford)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 16:17:50
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 16:17:23
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
kirsanth wrote:Gwar! wrote: (NB: Dice in British English is Plural) I beg to differ. Read the rest of the book, "Dice" is used in singular as well as plural, and is used so in modern standard english as such. ex. page 2. ROLLING A d3"a three-sided dice"
Not my fault GW cannot write English.  But it is a moot point anyway because this is about Preferred enemy, not twin linked <zing>
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 16:18:08
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 18:16:42
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
Albuquerque
|
I stand corrected on the twin linked template rules. Scratch that from my previous example.
Or I'll just edit it out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 20:05:43
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
Green Blow Fly wrote:Another TFG BS query.
G
Er, lets avoid throwing around a term that is very much akin to a match to gasoline, OK?
I don't see anything in this thread that would warrant that particular label being applied.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 20:20:34
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Before this deflates any further, look at what "reroll" means in the BGB! "A reroll is exactly what it sounds like - pick up the dice you wish to reroll and roll them again" I believe is the quote. regardless if I can or must reroll a die, I still have the option of rolling it according to the book, because reroll doesn't mean picking up a die and rolling it again, it means I have the option of picking up a die and rolling it again. If you disagree, read the little bit about it.
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 20:29:48
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Cannerus_The_Unbearable wrote:Before this deflates any further, look at what "reroll" means in the BGB! "A reroll is exactly what it sounds like - pick up the dice you wish to reroll and roll them again" I believe is the quote. regardless if I can or must reroll a die, I still have the option of rolling it according to the book, because reroll doesn't mean picking up a die and rolling it again, it means I have the option of picking up a die and rolling it again. If you disagree, read the little bit about it.
But the issue - as I read it - is whether the successful rolls are available to be rerolled at all. Which for PE reads as "Yes", being that there are not the restrictions given to other such rules that prevent it (See: Twin Linked for text refering to rerolling only failed rolls).
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 20:31:11
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
What about "Fire on my Target!"? What about perils of the warp with invulnerable saves? Granted, these both say "must," but I think the template re-rolls also are an issue that implies a "must."
NOTE:
Not "implied" to mean "intended" but rather "tense-implied."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 20:33:46
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 21:29:49
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
kirsanth wrote:But the issue - as I read it - is whether the successful rolls are available to be rerolled at all. Which for PE reads as "Yes", being that there are not the restrictions given to other such rules that prevent it (See: Twin Linked for text refering to rerolling only failed rolls).
My point is that, let's say, Warptime, would go something like this:
1) I use Warptime.
2) I can now reroll "all rolls to hit and to wound."
3) By the rulebook definition, since "it's exactly as it sounds - I can pick up and roll which dice I wish to roll again," I pick the dice I want and reroll them.
'Reroll' in a rule in a codex references the definition of 'reroll' in the rulebook the way it's worded. The definition of a die being rerollable in the book is that I may reroll it if I wish. The block, I believe at least, amkes it pretty clear that I could choose to fail some hits if I wanted. That's barring anything telling me I can only reroll failed rolls. I do believe if you could only "reroll failed wounds," and you failed three wounds, you could choose just to actually pick up and reroll two dice if you wanted. Automatically Appended Next Post: Edit: That "must" is an interesting point. Seems like the rule would break itself the way I interpret it then. All I can really say is how I would play it which doesn't count for much, but I'd interpret "must" rerolls as not what you wish, even though they in theory should be.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/10 21:35:57
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 21:46:16
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Please do not use Warptime as an example (even though we may agree). Last time I brought up Warptime stating "must" I was flamed - and that was in a thread about Warptime.
The rules in question do not state "must" or "failed" - so to restrict the player as such is uncalled for.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/10 22:14:18
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I loved that thread  All that build up for nothing
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 06:31:12
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
AZ
|
bigduncm24 wrote:
Can you re-roll your hits in an effort to MISS, remain in close combat, and increase your survivability???
I say yes, though some say "cheese!" Thoughts?
Can you, yes...however very much the gouda cheese IMO, and if you like playing with actual people...I would suggest leaving that out lol
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/11 06:31:56
"While it is true that there is a very small sub-species of geek who are adept at assembling small figures and painting them with breath taking detail; the rest of us are basically the paste eating retards who failed art class. Because of this, what we build never even faintly resembles the picture on the box when we're done." - Coyote Sharptongue
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 07:09:04
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Long Beach, CA
|
If it really says ALWAYS REROLL TO HIT, then clearly GW has just tatooted "Half ASSED MFers" on their foreheads. That is just blatant bad writing and editing. DO they even have editors, or do they let any half drunken Englishman just write whatever they want.
|
"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 07:24:36
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
smart_alex wrote:If it really says ALWAYS REROLL TO HIT, then clearly GW has just tatooted "Half ASSED MFers" on their foreheads. That is just blatant bad writing and editing. DO they even have editors, or do they let any half drunken Englishman just write whatever they want.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 08:25:03
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Long Beach, CA
|
We now have a culprit. That is the man you want to blame for all the bad writing. ALthough he looks more irish. Thats OK. mOst irish people live in America now.
|
"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 09:30:48
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Sorry, did the best I could on short notice =) I certainly agree with you though, a decent editor and continuity manager would do a lot for all of their published material. Fluff and rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/12 12:52:28
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Maybe the writer just expected us to know better. I don't all the blame should be placed on the person who wrote the rules. For example terminators now must use their power fist in assault, that tells me something right there. It's only an inference but I can definitely see the correlation.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/12 12:59:28
Subject: Preferred Enemy
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
Of course they can re-roll successes. It's exactly like Doom. The power, not the game. I've never re-rolled a bullet.
|
Mind War, ftw! - Call that a Refused Flank?
mindwar_ftw@hotmail.com
Walking that Banning tightrope, one step at a time...
|
|
 |
 |
|