Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 07:54:45
Subject: Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Hello everyone. So I'm working on my 1500 point army list for a game in a few days and have a quick ruling question about something I want to try.
More or less I want to put a Dreadnought in a drop pod and deep strike it down into play. Now I know troops can't move or assault when it lands and I'm pretty sure the Dreadnought can't move or assault either but I'm just checking. So....
Can a dreadnought who arrives in a drop pod assault on the turn it lands?
PS how good are the deathwind launchers on it? Worth the 20 points? Against marines?
|
Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 08:19:32
Subject: Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
No, the Deep Strike restrictions never refer to infantry or anything similar but use the broader term Units, as such, and since the rules for walkers/vehicles do not override the Deep Strike rules, any Walker which deep strikes follows the exact same rules as any other unit.
So that means no extra movement in the move phase, may shoot/run, no assaulting.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 08:23:27
Subject: Re:Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
yeah what he said.
Most people arent running death wind launchers because the pod cant shoot the turn it comes in. Pods count as moving at cruising speed (or is it combat I forget) and wether its a oversight or not they are not "fast" vehicles so therefore they cant fire any weapons on the turn they come in. So for the most part people just dont bother with the death wind and use the storm bolter if they live long enough.
|
"For the emperor!" "E' aint listenin!" *squish* (my fav blood and thunder quote)
BUT NOBS are NO GOOD at CC "ork town grot"
-perhaps the single dumbest comment I have ever heard-
Boss Zagstruck and Her-ORKick intervention, anything you can do we can do better |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 08:30:08
Subject: Re:Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
da gob smaka wrote:
Most people arent running death wind launchers because the pod cant shoot the turn it comes in. Pods count as moving at cruising speed (or is it combat I forget) and wether its a oversight or not they are not "fast" vehicles so therefore they cant fire any weapons on the turn they come in. So for the most part people just dont bother with the death wind and use the storm bolter if they live long enough.
Yeah I heard that vanilla space marnies can not fire a drop pods weapons on the turn they come in (I don't own their codex though, no CCW/ BP for tactical marines for them!)
However the Black Templar Codex it says, "drop pods may fire on the same turn as they land." More or less this is a high five for older codex rules (however I'd much rather have the nifty 3+ invuln saves from storm shields than the older 4+ in close combat only save).
So in your opinions since it can shoot a large blast S5 when it lands, does that seem worth it for 20 points?
EDIT: Fixed a grammar thing "s5 *when* it lands"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/11 08:31:36
Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 10:52:21
Subject: Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Black Templar Drop Pods can, because they have a Special Rule saying they may fire the turn they arrive. It still doesn't make it worth it IMO.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/11 10:52:37
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 18:34:50
Subject: Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
As for the Dread... no he cat assault after disembarking. Although if you DO want him to assault, use the IA2 Update rules for the 'lucious' patters drop pod.. assault vehicle. Of course that is if they allow forgeworld in your area. Now, as for the deathwind... I personally take 2 of them in my 1700pt BT all drop pod list. IMO they are good "crowd" control. In 4th Ed they were a waist of points because they had to roll to hit using a measly BS of 2... but now, with the scatter! it will be hitting more often, at least something.
It makes a decent substitute for not being able to take a whirlwind or vindy if running a full drop pod list. Now, 2 of them lets you controll most of the table with the fire, and you make the enemy have to deal with them...
On another note... if you are using the IA 2 update... then take a deathstorm drop pod or two... now THATS firepower.
Cheers!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/11 19:09:01
Subject: Black Templar Drop Pod/Dreadnought ruling question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Against the right opponent the DW launchers are deadly. My opponent used one against my Orks last night and it caused enough casualties to make my Lootas run. Only down side is the range.
|
|
 |
 |
|