Switch Theme:

Feel no pain and assualts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Charleston,IL

So after seeing the greatness of the plague marines one of my friends brought up the question as to wether or not the wounds overcome by feel no pain count as wounds taken for assualt tally purposes. My intial reaction was that they did not count but after hearing his point and actually reading feel no pain, it says the wounds are taken but ignored, so now I'm not so sure. What is the overall concensus on this??

I only trade in US thanks. 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Florida, USA

The wounds are taken if they pass through your armor save. The Feel No Pain is just a special rules that shows your troops are so battle hardened that wounds that would take them down can't take yours down, so the wounds are tallied even if he passes FNP. Plus, it's clear as it says the wounds are taken, therefore counting towards combat... or at least that's how I'm reading it.

You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

If it says that the wounds are ignored... then it would follow that they are ignored for all purposes, including combat resolution. I think someone is trying to make this more complicated than it really is.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Edit: Blah. Note to self: Wake up before reading message boards.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/11 18:40:35


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Charleston,IL

My book on pg. 39 says total up unsave wounds on each side. The thing that makes me think they don't count is below that it says "Note that wounds that have been negated by saving throws or other special rules that have similar effects do not count"

I only trade in US thanks. 
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

That would seem to make the resolution pretty clear.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Indeed. FnP is obviously a "other special rule" which has a "similar effect" to a Save

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Castro Valley, CA, USA

Gwar! wrote:Indeed. FnP is obviously a "other special rule" which has a "similar effect" to a Save

This is a case of me getting more ignorant the more I read. The "do not count" in the rule means "are not added" to the total? I am pulling your quote as you seem to actually have a clue (which I now feel I do not).

Perhaps an example: 10 blue vs. 10 red and red have FNP. Blue causes 6 wounds, red inflicts 3. Blue fails 2 saves (2 unsaved wounds) red fails all armor saves (6 unsaved wounds) but rolls FNP and suffers no lost models. Before this discussion started I thought Red was the winner. But now I am not sure...
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

If FNP negates a wound, the wound is negated for all purposes.
Like Armor, Invulnerable, or Cover saves negate wounds.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Castro Valley, CA, USA

kirsanth wrote:If FNP negates a wound, the wound is negated for all purposes.
Like Armor, Invulnerable, or Cover saves negate wounds.
FNP is rolled after a fail. You don't roll your Cover save or your Invul save after you fail your Armor save...at least I never understod those saves in that way.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

You understood the rules correctly.

You misunderstood my post, or I wrote unclearly.

Any successful save is the same as a successful FNP.

In any case, no wound is caused, so no wound can be tallied.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

So if a necron lord with a lightning field joined a unit of plaugemarines, would it then be an UBERHAXX combo?

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







You cannot take a Cover save and Invulnerable save after a failed Armour Save because you may only take 1 save. Feel No Pain is not a save, it is a special rule that allows you to negate unsaved wounds.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Castro Valley, CA, USA

Gwar! wrote:You cannot take a Cover save and Invulnerable save after a failed Armour Save because you may only take 1 save. Feel No Pain is not a save, it is a special rule that allows you to negate unsaved wounds.
But do you count it as a saved wound?
Before I read this 40K YMDC I would have said, "Yes it is a saved wound and therefore 'do not count' means do not count it as an unsaved wound."

I am a total noob so maybe I am making this difficult – I am not trying to be obtuse.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Is it a wound that was prevented? Yes, so it is not an Unsaved wound.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

wow this is a deep question

I play it that the FNP is the special rule (as gwar!) says and that it does not add to the tally...

The reason I think this way is what Brazila said

"My book on pg. 39 says total up unsaved wounds on each side. The thing that makes me think they don't count is below that it says "Note that wounds that have been negated by saving throws or other special rules that have similar effects do not count""

so, while yes it is a failed save and a wound it is then negated by "other special rules" and therefore would not count

 
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





Wounds ignored by FNP do not count toward combat resolution.

"Note that wounds that have been negated by saving throws or other special rules that have similar effects do not count" BGB p. 39

FNP is a special rule. (see BGB p. 75) The FNP special rule has the effect of negating a wound. It is indeed similar to a saving throw in that the player rolls a dice and if he rolls at or above a particular value the wound is ignored. Therefore wounds that have been ignored by FNP have been negated by a special rule with a similar effect to a saving throw, so they do not count toward combat resolution.

Just being an unsaved wound isn't enough to count it. It still has to pass over the "negated by..." hurdle before it can count. A wound ignored by FNP is not a saved wound, but it has been negated by a special rule that has a similar effect to a saving throw, so it still doesn't count toward combat resolution.

Hope this helps.

-GK



Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Charleston,IL

So seems like final concensus is that wounds ignored by FNP do not count towards combat resolution for close combat, glad to hear most other felt that way too.

I only trade in US thanks. 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

I can only imagine a conversation between a group of khorne marines that just saw the 40 wounds they did to a plauge marine unit totally negated. Everyone is standing around while two Tzeetch referees trie to explain to the nurgle champion that even though he didn't take any wounds to his squad, he still lost by a bunch.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: