Switch Theme:

an ignorant question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Embarking and disembarking - as far as whether or not it's described as a move - use the same language. Basically you need to do it in the move phase, to do so you are activating the unit and moving them (either on or off a transport) and thus it counts as movement.

The exact quote for embarking would be pg. 66 of the rulebook under the heading 'Embarking'. They need to move each model to within 2" of an access point in the movement phase. Unless the unit has a way to move in the movement phase without counting as moving then Bob's your uncle.

I suppose you could try the parsing of suggesting that, if at the end of the previous movement phase you'd moved the models into within 2" of an access point, and then at the beginning of the next you wished to embark one could argue that it's not movement...of course if the vehicle moves at al then the unit would still count as moving.

So, I suppose there could be an argument for, say, parking a Battlewagon next to some Lootas - embarking them - and then claiming the embarkation doesn't count as moving and firing from within your brand new bunker. That's about as clever as I could get trying to abuse the rule though.

Eh, I'd just point out the act of moving from the tabletop to within the vehicle counts as moving since distance has been covered by the models since they now occupy a different location then they did prior to the beginning of the movement phase.

Does that help puma713?
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Interesting way to phrase what I chose to describe as 'activation'. I rather like it actually and as silly as it sounds at face value it perfectly sums up the argument and covers the bases.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Actually, this just occured to me - as the counter argument;

Turn 1 - I move to within 2" of a transport's access points but do not embark.

Turn 2 - declare embarkation of the unit based on movement performed last turn.

It says I need to move within 2", but there is no time frame suggested or outlined - what prevents me from performing the embarkation sans a movement action?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 01:06:52


 
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

How does it not? Your models are now no longer where they were when you started, they now occupy another space. Simply because that space isn't physically on the board (unless you have a truly awesome Chimera conversion) does not mean they didn't move from one location to the other.

However, I would note the strongest argument for it - and as an answer to my own query to Gwar! "a unit can embark on to a vehicle by moving each model...in the Movement phase."

Moving is used here as a present continuous tense (and I'm fairly sure a gerund, but I may be wrong there - it doesn't really matter) but it puts the action of the movement as active at that moment, and that moment is defined as the Movement phase that you moved to within 2".

Therefore if you move up in one movement phase but do not embark, you must "move" to within 2" again in order to have the right to embark - you don't need to call it 0, like Gwar does, as mathematically I suppose it's incorrect if functional. Call it 'moving' 0.000001" with one model if you prefer. But for the act of embarking, as noted on page 66, you will have had to actively moved in that current movement phase.

But allow me to throw back a question at you. What difference will it make whether or not their embarking in the first round counts as moving?

The only potential advantage is perhaps trying to claim your deployment placement as moving so as to embark on your opponent's turn (which you cannot because you need to embark in your movement phase) and the vehicle's movement will not be affected so...

What's the difference if it counts as movement?

My only potential guess is heavy weapons. If you're trying to pull that then I'd have to say you're not allowed since, as noted above you did move, albeit perhaps but a millimeter, but I see no other advantage to be had by trying to claim an embarkation is not movement.

Edit: Oh, is it so you can drive the Chimera up on turn one and disembark right away so you can potentially be assaulting on Turn 2? That could work to an advantage.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 05:15:26


 
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: