Switch Theme:

Open-topped battlewagon. Need rules clear.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I'm new to the game.

I have a open topped ork-battlewagon with 20 slugga units inside. If I moved 12" with the battlewagon, may I fire with any of those slugga guns? How about shoota, loota, kombi-rokkit or burna?

The rule says any tank moved 12" may not fire. What if I moved 11" instead? May I fire 1 gun mounted on the tank? Same question with 5" instead of 6" movements?

Can Battlewagon without Reinforced Ram tank shock?


I have a group of 6 meganobz hiding inside a battlewagon. Currently, I'm trying to figure out how to lure those terminators disembark from their land raider, so I can get a charge on them. Clearing these rules will help me revise the strategy.


Please clear these rules for me. Thank you very much.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/13 02:33:12


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) page 66, last paragraph under "Fire points"

2) No, the rules state you may not fire if you move OVER 12". Move 12" - you can fire something (if fast). Move 12.00001" - you cannot fire anything.

3) Does the battle wagon have type: tank anywhere on it? If it does (pretty surte it does) it can tank shock. (Checked AB and it reckons a baqttlewagon is tyle:tank)

4) to get the termis out of a landraider use a wrecking ball or another untis tank hammer: then assault the unit that comes out

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







On an Ork Specific note, remember you can move a Battlewagon with Red Paint Job 13" and count as moving 12".

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





liao989 wrote:
I have a group of 6 meganobz hiding inside a battlewagon. Currently, I'm trying to figure out how to lure those terminators embark from their land raider, so I can get a charge on them. Clearing these rules will help me revise the strategy.


Just remember that you can move 6" (7" with red paint), disembark up to 2" away from the wagon, move with your meganobz up to 6," Waaagh! D6," and then assault. Now assuming that you can reach, thats a 26" to 27" movement/assault. What I would do is figure out some small characters you dont really care about and use them as bait and then just fly (move fast, obviously wagons cant fly) in with your wagon and nobs and try and take them out. I've never really played orks, but I've had this used against me several times and its REALLY effective.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you very much for the tips and answers.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Ugh... so many wrong rules...

You can assault on the turn you disembark from a battlewagon, but you cannot move, unless the battlewagon itself has not moved.

You can only shoot out of a vehicle if the vehicle has remained stationary or if the vehicle has moved combat speed (up to 7" with RPJ), whether it's fast, open topped, or whatever.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







willydstyle wrote:Ugh... so many wrong rules...

You can assault on the turn you disembark from a battlewagon, but you cannot move, unless the battlewagon itself has not moved.

You can only shoot out of a vehicle if the vehicle has remained stationary or if the vehicle has moved combat speed (up to 7" with RPJ), whether it's fast, open topped, or whatever.
Willydstyle is correct. I had misread one of the questions. I though he was talking about disembarking from a transport moving 12", not firing >.<

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Gwar! wrote:
willydstyle wrote:Ugh... so many wrong rules...

You can assault on the turn you disembark from a battlewagon, but you cannot move, unless the battlewagon itself has not moved.

You can only shoot out of a vehicle if the vehicle has remained stationary or if the vehicle has moved combat speed (up to 7" with RPJ), whether it's fast, open topped, or whatever.
Willydstyle is correct. I had misread one of the questions. I though he was talking about disembarking from a transport moving 12", not firing >.<


While it may have been used incorrectly in context, at least the rule you posted was correct

That was pretty classy Gwar!

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





nosferatu1001 wrote:4) to get the termis out of a landraider use a wrecking ball or another untis tank hammer: then assault the unit that comes out


That won't work with tank hammers, at least not in the same assault phase. All of the assault moves and defenders' reactions for the entire phase take place before any combat is resolved that phase. See BGB p. 33. Thus you cannot can't charge a vehicle with one unit, resolve that combat (hopefully wrecking it), then charge the now-wrecked vehicle's contents with another unit.

It could potentially work with the wreckin' ball, as its rule indicates the attack takes place "at the beginning of the Assault phase" so it would be resolved before any charges were declared. Codex:Orks p. 93

Hope this helps.

-GK


Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gah, meant tankbustas...only hope of scratching AV14 from a distance. Just forgot and wrote hammers instead...

as for the assaulting: far better to move 13", disembark 3.5" (40mm base +2") then run D6 and assault D6 (DT check) for a more likely 18.5" - 28.5" threat range.

Or kill other stuff with them, anythin in power armour will scream at you....
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Gah, meant tankbustas...only hope of scratching AV14 from a distance. Just forgot and wrote hammers instead...

as for the assaulting: far better to move 13", disembark 3.5" (40mm base +2") then run D6 and assault D6 (DT check) for a more likely 18.5" - 28.5" threat range.

Or kill other stuff with them, anythin in power armour will scream at you....
Nitpick:
You'd have to have called the Waaaaaaaaaaaagh! to assault after running and you move 2D6 pick Highest for the assault with MANZ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/12 22:54:32


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




nosferatu1001 wrote:Gah, meant tankbustas...only hope of scratching AV14 from a distance. Just forgot and wrote hammers instead...

as for the assaulting: far better to move 13", disembark 3.5" (40mm base +2") then run D6 and assault D6 (DT check) for a more likely 18.5" - 28.5" threat range.

Or kill other stuff with them, anythin in power armour will scream at you....



I noticed that you wrote disembark 3.5" That rule was a little confusing for me. On the rule book pg. 67. Disembarking should be within 2", and clearly, the picture shown one space marine's base is outside of the 2" zone with only the base touching the 2" zone edge. That is consider legal?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes it is legal. You only have to place a sliver of the base within 2".

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: