Switch Theme:

Locked in assault and assaulted from another unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard




North Carolina

After talking with the group, somebody said Dakka had a thread going about the topic. I just wanted to know if anybody could give me the thread link.

The issue came up under the added rules for assault. Being that if say a unit was locked fully in assault, that they could not react to the new unit that just assault them. React being able to pick who they hit in combat per the rule in the RB. When it stops raining, I will head out side to get the rule book from the Man Cave.

Really just wanted the thread but if not we can start one here?


Biomass

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Working out which models are engaged in combat is done at the start of the fight, and will not change until its end.

Furthermore, it states on page 41, "Models that were engaged with just one of the enemy units at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) must attack that unit." and "Models that were engaged with more than one
enemy unit at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) may split their attacks freely between those units." I think the confusion comes with the "at the beginning of combat". The beginning of combat is NOT the begining of the Assault Phase, it is after all assault moves have been made and the first attacks are dealt.

The start of the fight is after all assault moves have been made. So if Unit A is in combat with Unit 1, and is assaulted by Unit 2, you then determine who can hit who once all the assault moves are made.

I will try and make a diagram to clarify, but I am guessing someone else will make a better one first

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/13 02:36:34


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

To save Gwar! or anyone else undue work - I would note that pg. 33 of the rulebook breaks down the order of the assault phase quite clearly. The assault phase begins and you;

1. Move assaulting units
2. Defenders react
3. Resolve combats

The beginning of the combat is at step 3. The only way to assault a unit and use the rules on pg. 41 to say you cannot be attacked back would be to interpret that the beginning of combat is at or before step 1.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/13 03:22:25


Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard




North Carolina

Gwar!
Furthermore, it states on page 41, "Models that were engaged with just one of the enemy units at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) must attack that unit." and "Models that were engaged with more than one
enemy unit at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) may split their attacks freely between those units." I think the confusion comes with the "at the beginning of combat". The beginning of combat is NOT the begining of the Assault Phase, it is after all assault moves have been made and the first attacks are dealt.


Thor665

1. Move assaulting units
2. Defenders react
3. Resolve combats


Well after reading over both of you points I would rule like this.

First

Follow the steps for Thor665

1. Move assaulting units
2. Defenders react
3. Resolve combats

After all is said and done, the 50 man guard unit held its line and so the end of combat.

Now we are into the second round of combat and thus its no longer the first round of combat.

1. move assaulting units.
2. defenders react of which they can not because they are tied up in base contact with the blob squad.
3. resolve combat of the second round.

Therefore because the enemy unit was fully engaged and unable to react. They would be unable to fight the other unit because its the secound round of combat and not the first round.

Banshee mask work in the first round of combat. If we look at this same set up, what some of you are saying is that the banshee mask would always go first no matter who assault, if they were tied up in combat prior or what ever. The fact that I am seeing is that this is not the first round of combat and there fore you would be able to force your opp to attack the blob unit?

I would also like to add that if the enemy unit assault two or more units and both held there ground. Then on the next assault, he would only be able to split his attack between the two or more units he assault on that first round of assault. The new unit would be able to fight with out any return hits because of the rule stated.

Any other points and or the link if there is one to the last post.






Biomass

 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Tarval wrote:
Well after reading over both of you points I would rule like this.

First

Follow the steps for Thor665

1. Move assaulting units
2. Defenders react
3. Resolve combats

After all is said and done, the 50 man guard unit held its line and so the end of combat.


Okay, so we had a unit charge a 50 man IG unit. So good so far.

Now we are into the second round of combat and thus its no longer the first round of combat.

1. move assaulting units.
2. defenders react of which they can not because they are tied up in base contact with the blob squad.
3. resolve combat of the second round.

Therefore because the enemy unit was fully engaged and unable to react. They would be unable to fight the other unit because its the secound round of combat and not the first round.


...wow, and just like that I'm lost. I don't recall seeing anywhere where Gwar! nor I discussed 'rounds' of combat. We were talking about when the beginning of combat during an assault phase was. That's what the rule you asked about talks of and thus what we answered. I think you're confusing the "beginning of combat" with "combat rounds" which are two totally different things.

Banshee mask work in the first round of combat. If we look at this same set up, what some of you are saying is that the banshee mask would always go first no matter who assault, if they were tied up in combat prior or what ever.

I don't believe either of us said that (could you quote where you thought we did?) No, the Banshee mask triggers "in the first round of an assault" this has nothing to do with when combat begins...well, to be honest it sort of does since the mask triggers at the beginning of combat on the first round of an assault - but it still wouldn't trigger at the beginning of combat on the second round of an assault. There can be a beginning of combat for every round of a given assault, but there can be only one first round. (again, I think this is where you're getting confused with what we're saying)

The fact that I am seeing is that this is not the first round of combat and there fore you would be able to force your opp to attack the blob unit?

No, because even if the rule in question would force you to attack the blob unit, the rule doesn't do so because of which round of combat it is, it does so depending on which models were basing which models at the start of combat.

I would also like to add that if the enemy unit assault two or more units and both held there ground. Then on the next assault, he would only be able to split his attack between the two or more units he assault on that first round of assault. The new unit would be able to fight with out any return hits because of the rule stated.

No, I'm afraid you're wrong there. Let me try to spell it out in a step by step process.

On the first turn some Howling Banshees assault a IG squad (they get to use their Banshee masks since this is the first round of combat for this fight)

On the next turn we have a new Assault phase.

The Assault phase begins and he declares his assaults. He declares that an Ogryn Squad will assault the Banshee unit (the Banshee unit has an attached Autarch who is in b2b with the IG squad)

1. Move assaulting units

The Ogryns are within range and move into b2b with the Banshee squad, they cannot base the IC character.

2. Defenders react

The Banshees are allowed to react (reacting is defined in the rulebook as moving non-based models into b2b with assaulting unit(s))

3. Resolve combats

Combat has now officially begun - ao let's check the rules on page 41 that might prevent us from attacking the new unit of Ogryns. Please note that the rules say *model* and not unit - that does make a difference.

The Rulebook pg. 41 wrote:"Models that were engaged with just one of the enemy units at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) must attack that unit." and "Models that were engaged with more than one
enemy unit at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) may split their attacks freely between those units."


Okay, so, this is the beginning of combat since it is before any models attacked.

The Autarch is only engaged to the IG - therefore he is only able to attack the IG (and for the record you can replace the Autarch with a unit of Striking Scorpions and the same will hold through) The AUtarch's attacks cannot target the Ogryns.
The Banshee's have some models that are touching only Ogryns - those models have to attack Ogryns. Likewise models that are only touching IG must attack that unit.
Some Banshee models are touching *both* Ogryns and IG - those models may choose which they attack.

If the Autarch was a unit of Striking Scorpions and only one Ogryn model touched a Scorpion and all other Ogryn models touched only Banshees then only the *one* Ogryn touching a Scorpion could swing on the Scorpions to help the IG unit kill them.

If you have any more questions or are confused by something I said feel free to fire away.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/13 05:49:26


Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in gb
1st Lieutenant







so what about a banshee withing 2 inches of one toughing only ogryns, one toughing only IG and one touching both. I assume they can choose...

My FOW Blog
http://breakthroughassault.blogspot.co.uk/

My Eldar project log (26/7/13)
http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5518969#post5518969

Exiles forum
http://exilesbbleague.phpbb4ever.com/index.php 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Reaver83 wrote:so what about a banshee withing 2 inches of one toughing only ogryns, one toughing only IG and one touching both. I assume they can choose...
The Banshee within 2 inches of one touching only ogryns can only attack the ogryns. Same with the one touching only IG. The one touching both can choose.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





Thor's got it right.

The key here is that "at the beginning of combat" does not equal "at the beginning of the assault phase." Take a look at the assault phase summary on BGB p. 33. No combat has begun until you get to the second bullet point under heading #3: "Resolve combats". See BGB p. 33. By that point, all of the assaulting models have made their assault moves and all of the defending models have made their react moves. So, in a multiple combat, this is when we check to see who's engaged with whom and who's in b2b with whom according to the rules on BGB p.41 (and the errata from the BGB FAQ).

-GK





Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Gwar! wrote:
Reaver83 wrote:so what about a banshee withing 2 inches of one toughing only ogryns, one toughing only IG and one touching both. I assume they can choose...
The Banshee within 2 inches of one touching only ogryns can only attack the ogryns. Same with the one touching only IG. The one touching both can choose.

I'm pretty sure you misread his post, Gwar!, he was actually asking about a non-based Banshee within 2 inches of three other Banshees - one touching IG, one Ogryns, and one both. This unbased Banshee can choose freely from either combat, basically an unbased model may participate in any combats that are being had by another model of the unit within 2 inches. So;

Unbased within two of a Banshee touching only IG - unbased Banshee may attack only IG
Unbased within two of a Banshee touching only Ogryns - unbased Banshee may attack only Ogryns
Unbased within two of a Banshee touching both units - unbased Banshee may attack either unit
Unbased within two of two Banshees, one touching only IG and the other touching only Ogryns - unbased Banshee may attack either unit

I think that covers all the permutations.

Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Thor665 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Reaver83 wrote:so what about a banshee withing 2 inches of one toughing only ogryns, one toughing only IG and one touching both. I assume they can choose...
The Banshee within 2 inches of one touching only ogryns can only attack the ogryns. Same with the one touching only IG. The one touching both can choose.

I'm pretty sure you misread his post, Gwar!, he was actually asking about a non-based Banshee within 2 inches of three other Banshees - one touching IG, one Ogryns, and one both. This unbased Banshee can choose freely from either combat, basically an unbased model may participate in any combats that are being had by another model of the unit within 2 inches. So;

Unbased within two of a Banshee touching only IG - unbased Banshee may attack only IG
Unbased within two of a Banshee touching only Ogryns - unbased Banshee may attack only Ogryns
Unbased within two of a Banshee touching both units - unbased Banshee may attack either unit
Unbased within two of two Banshees, one touching only IG and the other touching only Ogryns - unbased Banshee may attack either unit

I think that covers all the permutations.
Ah Cheers for that. I obviously am not drinking enough Trolle Coffee :(

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

And here I thought trolls only drank the tears of fresh faced young Dakkites.

Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Thor665 wrote:And here I thought trolls only drank the tears of fresh faced young Dakkites.
That sweetens my coffee

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: