Switch Theme:

The eternal struggle  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Lubeck

Some people might remember that I posted a thread slightly similar to this months ago. Anyway:

What happens if two IG armies face each other. For identification purposes let's assume we have a Cadian and a Mordian army.

A Cadian armored sentinel assaults a Mordian armored sentinel. Both units have S5 and have to face AV12 - this is a fight that cannot be ended by those two units.

Apart from how pathetic that would look: Is there any rule preventing a unit from assaulting a unit that it can deal no damage to?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Witzkatz wrote:Apart from how pathetic that would look: Is there any rule preventing a unit from assaulting a unit that it can deal no damage to?
No. In fact it is a perfectly legal tactic.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 11:18:34


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





'Waves hand' This isn't the user you are looking for.

HI there's no actual rule but since they are vehicles (correct me if I'm wrong about this) they can leave combat whenever they want. this can be done and I have seen gaunts charge my daemon prince to stop it smashing a stompa (this was apocalypse).

wow my first time being ninja'd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 11:18:36


A firm believer in yin and yang.
My eternal thanks to lennysmash for helping me with pics in my blog.
stephen fry wrote: Stephen 'My Bottom is a treasure house' Fry


W/L/D
1/150,000,000/2 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







waaagh!orksrocks wrote:HI there's no actual rule but since they are vehicles (correct me if I'm wrong about this) they can leave combat whenever they want. this can be done and I have seen gaunts charge my daemon prince to stop it smashing a stompa (this was apocalypse).

wow my first time being ninja'd
Walkers cannot. Also Superheavies have special rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







waaagh!orksrocks wrote:HI there's no actual rule but since they are vehicles (correct me if I'm wrong about this) they can leave combat whenever they want. this can be done and I have seen gaunts charge my daemon prince to stop it smashing a stompa (this was apocalypse).

wow my first time being ninja'd

Only vehicles without a WS can leave combat ... As for OP imagine that you've a lone armoured sentential he just lost his weapon ... by charging the undamaged enemy he has just tide up a unit for the rest of the game.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Yep, there is nothing preventing this.

I know of several venues that have houserules allowing you to volunteer to lose combat if no-one in the squad is capable of inflicting a wound on the enemy.
   
Made in de
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Lubeck

Thanks for your answers!

I expected it that way. And, yes, I'm thinking of using it as a last resort tactic if my sentinel is near my opponents (plasma cannon armed) sentinel and has no other options.

(I will probably field it as a scout sentinel, so the armored guy has a chance of hurting me, but I'll take that risk over one plasma cannon less shooting up my guys. )
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: