Switch Theme:

Reserves Choice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Do I have to roll to bring a unit out of reserves, or am I free choose to keep them off the table as long as I want?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 21:56:05


 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

IIRC, once you successfully roll for a unit of reserves, that unit must come out of reserves and enter play.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Clinton, TN

Pg. 94 BRB, you MUST roll as soon possible, you may not delay


<insert Yo-Sammity Sam noises> Ninjas!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 21:59:56


Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500

"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Omega_Warlord wrote:Pg. 94 BRB, you MUST roll as soon possible, you may not delay
What he said.

Really, so many rules questions can be solved by reading the appropriate rules!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Im sure someone will have the exact quotations and page references but to my understanding once a unit has become active form reserves (you made your reserve rolls) you must arrive from reserves. Now there are certain charachters that allow you to reroll the reserve rolls once, meaning if you activate the unit but do not want it you can re-roll to see if you get a failure but if it is a success you must bring the unit on. If I am wrong than someone can feel free to correct me, I have been wrong before.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Starting on turn 2, you must roll for each unit you placed in reserves. If they make the appropriate roll, you must bring them in.
So no, you can't.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 22:32:01


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




I am playing Mech Eldar, so can I use my Autarch's reroll to intentionally fail?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







EasyE wrote:I am playing Mech Eldar, so can I use my Autarch's reroll to intentionally fail?
Autarchs do not let you re-roll reserves...

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Though if any unit does have a re-roll, as long as it doesn't call for a re-rolling of failed Reserve Rolls, then you could most assuredly re-roll in the hopes of failing the roll. (I have seen this done with a list I played at one point)

Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Thor665 wrote:Though if any unit does have a re-roll, as long as it doesn't call for a re-rolling of failed Reserve Rolls, then you could most assuredly re-roll in the hopes of failing the roll. (I have seen this done with a list I played at one point)
Indeed. Lictors and Tigrus both allow you to re-roll Successful Reserve rolls.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






question, oh mighty gwar of the RaW....

can tigurius let you re-roll outflanking rolls as well?

it says you can re-roll any reserve rolls, and the rules for outflanking are located under the reserves section of the rulebook...

also, same question, involving drop pod scatter. GO!
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Horst wrote:can tigurius let you re-roll outflanking rolls as well?
No. An Outflanking roll is an Outflanking roll, not a reserve roll.
also, same question, involving drop pod scatter. GO!
See point on Outflanking.

Also, Tigrus points out that you may re-roll them "Even if they are successful", which begs the question how can an outflank roll fail? As such, it is clear that the ability to re-roll does not apply to this roll, only the roll to see if they arrive from reserve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/15 03:03:33


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






Crouching in a chair, drinking tea.

u are free to keep the model off the table top as long as you want.. that doesn't mean you are following the rules..but...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/15 03:09:13


*Blank stare* 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

....well....yeah. I can also field a Stompa in a 500 point game, I suppose.

Page 94, Rolling For Reserves, third paragraph has the official GW rule method - but as lord if the ghosts notes, you could always house rule it.

Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Gwar! wrote:
Thor665 wrote:Though if any unit does have a re-roll, as long as it doesn't call for a re-rolling of failed Reserve Rolls, then you could most assuredly re-roll in the hopes of failing the roll. (I have seen this done with a list I played at one point)
Indeed. Lictors and Tigrus both allow you to re-roll Successful Reserve rolls.

And Damocles Rhinos.

The Autarch allows you to add +1, +2 or +0 to the roll. Useful but not as good as re-roll if you're trying to fail.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
lord of the ghosts wrote:u are free to keep the model off the table top as long as you want.. that doesn't mean you are following the rules..but...


Thank you for your contribution good sir, that was most enlightening. Now that we're all aware that we are not compelled to follow the rules (since LotG says so) we can resume discussion of reserve re-rolls.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/09/15 09:23:30


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: