| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 20:12:03
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Rules for Transports and heavy support, Landraiders as transports. I am using the Daemonhunters codex.
The Inquisitor Lord and Inq Stormtroopers are the only units with Transport options. The Inquisitor can have any SM vehicle. Stormtroopers only have the Rhino or Chimers. Gamers put Grey Knight troops in landraiders.
 Can a HS vehicle transport More than 1 unit,if there is space available. Can 3 X 5 man seperate units, all be put into a LRC.
Transports are a upgrade to a unit. What about vehicles that have to be purchased as heavy support, Landraiders. They are in the support section of the codex but you always see Grey Knights in them.
|
"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 20:16:34
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
resinmann wrote:Can a HS vehicle transport More than 1 unit,if there is space available. Can 3 X 5 man seperate units, all be put into a LRC.
No.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 20:19:00
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
SOME transports are upgrades to a unit, called Dedicated Transports. The only difference they have is they don't take up a FOC slot, but only the owning unit can deploy in the vehicle at the start of the game.
As for your other question - reread the rules on transport vehicles, it is very clearly stated in there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 22:48:07
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Some of the issues you might be having are that there are 5 different transport vehicles listed in the DH codex, with only 3 of them listed as dedicated transports and the other 2 are Grey Knight specific heavy selections.
Of the 3 dedicated transport options (Rhino, Chimera, and Land Raider), only Inquisitor with retinue and IST's may take dedicated transports, and only Inquisitor with retinue my take Land Raiders (Godhammer). Of the heavy support choices, you need a Grey Knight Hero to unlock the 2 GK Land Raiders (Godhammer and Crusader). Not much different than in other Marine Codecii.
One thing to note is that Inquisitors do not have access to any SM vehicles, they only have access to Rhinos, Chimera, and standard pattern Land Raiders (aka, Godhammers).
Another thing to note is that only Grey Knights may be transported in Grey Knight Land Raiders and Grey Knight Crusaders, per the wording in their entries on pg 32 of the DH codex.
And lastly, until a new codex or a newer DH FAQ is released, only DH units that purchase dedicated transports may be transported by those specific transports; i.e., DH follow the old rules for dedicated transports, not the current edition rules for dedicated transports. Witch Hunter got lucky with their FAQ, DH did not.
SJ
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/18 22:48:51
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 02:18:36
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thank you. I like the more than 1 word answers. That is why I ask Dakka members. BTW
Codex DH pg 30. Quote"Transports are always taken as an upgrade for another unit..."
|
"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 02:19:41
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
resinmann wrote:Thank you. I like the more than 1 word answers. That is why I ask Dakka members. BTW Codex DH pg 30. Quote"Transports are always taken as an upgrade for another unit..."
Dedicated Transports. Units taken as HS but have a Transport Capacity are not taken as an Upgrade for another unit. They are separate units in themselves. What it means is those THREE transports cannot be bought separately, but must be bought as a Upgrade for a unit. You cannot, for example, just buy a Chimera or Rhino, it has to be a Squads transport upgrade.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/19 02:21:31
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 18:42:30
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I am going to shake things up. BRB pg.67
"when deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with. AFTER the game begins it can then transport any friendly unit."
|
"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 18:51:42
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
resinmann wrote:I am going to shake things up. BRB pg.67
"when deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with. AFTER the game begins it can then transport any friendly unit."
And this shakes things up... how?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 22:23:13
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
resinmann wrote:I am going to shake things up. BRB pg.67
"when deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with. AFTER the game begins it can then transport any friendly unit."
Doesn't shake it very hard, I'm afraid. The current FAQ points out that Codex restrictions on dedicated transports over-ride the rulebook transport rules.
So for the moment, as jeffersonian000 already pointed out, DH dedicated transports can only transport the unit for which they were purchased.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/05 17:52:57
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Don't gamers find it strange that the codex over-ride the book. Most of the codex are Older than the BRB but they are "more correct". One would think that GW would take in account the codex in print, When making The main/ current rulebook.
Yes. I agree, the posters on Dakka are correct.
|
"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 18:58:53
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
What about the old FAQ isn't rules argument?
|
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 20:36:48
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
What about we don't do that again?
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/07 03:48:04
Subject: Transport rules and support vehicles as transports.
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
Oh well, okay...
Sorry, been away from Dakka for a while, kinda missed it. ^^
|
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|