Switch Theme:

Incompetent Command and Vox Casters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





How do vox casters affect incopetent command? Vox Casters state that "if... both the officer's Command Squad and the chosen unit contain... a vox caster, the leadership test to see if the order has been understood can be re-rolled if failed." (IG Codex: Pg 71) Incopetent Command states "If a double 6 is rolled for the order, confusion reigns. Not only does this order not take effect, as described above, but no further orders can be issued (by any officer) in this Shooting phase." (IG Codex PG 29) I see 2 options for this:

A. Due to vox-caster, a second chance is given as per vox-caster rules.
B. Due to incompetent command, the order does not take effect and no further orders may be issued in this shooting phase regardless of wether or not the unit has vox-casters.

Just curious as once I actually did roll a double 6 when giving orders. I had a vox caster in both squads so my opponent let me reroll. I can see arguements for both sides, but I am leaning more towards A as it seems like incompetent command does not come into play until all attempts to issue the orderhave come into play. Am I correct in my thinking?

Thanks for your answers,
s2
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




a) Until you have used your reroll the result does not happen. Exactly the same as rerollinh a "1" with a twin linked plasma can avoid gets hot!, as the first result is not final.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





thats what I thought too, but I just wanted to make sure. Thanks for the example using Gets Hot! that makes much more sense looking at it like that.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Just remember if you roll 12 twice, you are screwed

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Haha, true that Gwar!, but with a 1/36 chance of actually rolling that, I feel better about rolling with the Vox Caster, although I saw a buddy of mine roll double ones twice for two twin linked weapons... lol.. Hardly likely to happen, but it does.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

I've done it!!

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

I watched a friend roll four 1's from five dice while making armour saves on terminators. I can only imagine the lone survive looking upon his fallen comrades with a look of confusion.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




7 attack Khornate DP from previous edition: has axe of Khorne so every "6" to hit generated another attack.

I rolled 7 hits, 4 sixes - which all then hit. A total of 11 S7 (poss 8, cant remember...) attacks, woot! 10 man squad of assault terminators looking a little less happy now!

11 1's.

He died.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: