| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 13:10:09
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Janesville, WI
|
Is it possible to use the "Gate of Infinity" when the Psyker (and) attached squad are deployed in a transport vehicle;for example a Razorback?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 13:12:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
I see no reason why he could not.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 17:09:26
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
I looked at this a couple of weeks ago when I wanted to do it in a game, and it looks to me also like it's legal.
We know psychic powers can be used from inside a transport, and the only requirement for the librarian is that it be the movement phase. So I haven't been able to find any rule or restriction that would prevent the librarian from gating himself and his unit out of the transport to any spot within 24" of the edge of the transport model's hull.
Makes for a potentially powerful movement tactic.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 18:31:17
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
If they are embarked, wouldn't the transport be moved as well?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 18:38:25
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
No, because you remove the character and any unit he is with are "removed from the tabletop". So unless "unit he is with" includes an embarked transport vehicle, then no.
More problematic is the phrase "removed from the tabletop". If you're in a transport, you're already off the tabletop. Granted, you are zero inches from the tabletop for measuring purposes, but you are still not considered to be on the tabletop.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 18:44:21
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Ludovic wrote:No, because you remove the character and any unit he is with are "removed from the tabletop". So unless "unit he is with" includes an embarked transport vehicle, then no.
More problematic is the phrase "removed from the tabletop". If you're in a transport, you're already off the tabletop. Granted, you are zero inches from the tabletop for measuring purposes, but you are still not considered to be on the tabletop.
Actually, you are. It is stated that any range involving the unit is measured to the hull. If they were not on the tabletop, they could not have a range measured to them at all.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 21:11:10
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
Where does it say that they are considered to be on the tabletop? I genuinely want to know. I am not referring to the rule about measuring ranges.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 21:17:45
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Ludovic wrote:Where does it say that they are considered to be on the tabletop? I genuinely want to know. I am not referring to the rule about measuring ranges.
It's called deduction. If thy were not on the table, you could not measure a range to them under any circumstances, so the rule about measuring a range to them while in a transport would be pointless if they were off the table.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 22:10:40
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
The rules overall aren't clear on whether an embarked model is "on the tabletop" or "off the tabletop." They act as though on the tabletop for some purposes, like measuring range and shooting, but not on the tabletop for other purposes, like being targeted by shooting.
So unless the rule says specifically that a unit is either on or off the tabletop, you can't really draw a conclusion one way or the other (the fallacy of drawing a conclusion without evidence is called the "argument from ignorance").
So that does create a problem for the reading of the rule. The tabletop question also makes me wonder if a librarian can gate onto the table from reserve? Is a librarian allowed to disembark and then gate? Maybe this isn't as cut-and-dried as I thought.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 22:13:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Flavius Infernus wrote:The tabletop question also makes me wonder if a librarian can gate onto the table from reserve?
If he has not passed his reserve roll, he can't as he is not on the table. Likewise for having passed but not moved on, as he begins just off the table and has to move on.
Is a librarian allowed to disembark and then gate?
No, it must be used "At the start of the Librarians Movement Phase". If he disembarks, its not the start of his movement phase anymore so he cannot use Gate.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 01:48:00
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator
Seattle WA
|
What happens if a deep strike mishap occurs and the librarian and his unit roll a 3 or 4, and are delayed a turn? Do they go back to the transport, or stay off table in "ether?"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 02:00:24
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
If they roll a 3 or 4 5 or 6 they are placed in reserve, just like the mishap says.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/20 02:00:39
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 05:35:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Flavius Infernus wrote:The rules overall aren't clear on whether an embarked model is "on the tabletop" or "off the tabletop."
Crystal clear actually. Embarking paragraph of the rule book, page 66. " When the unit embarks, it is removed from the table and placed aside,..."
The models are off the table, and a rule is given for how to handle measurements to and from an embarked unit, which is to measure from the hull of the vehicle they are considered to be in.
If you want to GoI out of a vehicle, measure your 24" from any point on the hull you want. The vehicle does not Gate with the Librarian, as it is not part of his unit. If you mishap, you follow the mishap table the same as you would if you Gated from outside a vehicle.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 05:50:01
Subject: Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There you go, bringing your filthy facts and clarity into a perfectly good debate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 12:20:47
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Janesville, WI
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 14:39:20
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
jb1 wrote:It seems the general consensus by all replies about the use of "The gate of infinity" while being transported is valid. I still would guess that there is no clear rule to say it is so.
There is a clear rule to say it is so.
Current rulebook FAQ on GW.com
Q. Can a model use a psychic power that is not a
Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a
transport vehicle?
A. Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is
still worked out from the vehicle’s fire points
(this will count as one model shooting through
that fire point if the power is used in the
Shooting phase).
If the psychic power does not require line of sight
and has a range or an area of effect that is
normally measured from the model using it, these
are measured from the vehicle’s hull, as
explained in the Embarking section on page 66.
Not sure why it took all these posts, your original question is completely covered by the rulebook FAQ
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 16:57:40
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Janesville, WI
|
Kaaihn ,
Thanks for the info. I wish I would have found that last Monday...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 18:49:42
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
jb1 wrote:Kaaihn ,
Thanks for the info. I wish I would have found that last Monday...
No problem. Always a good idea to read the FAQ's when you have a question, you never know when they actually answered something useful in there!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|