Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/21 17:01:11
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
Thanks for looking - much appreciated
1: Can farseers cast out of transports (doom, guide, fortune)? If they can, can they cast at other tanks (though not the models inside)? So could a seer in a WS Guide a nearby falcon?
2: How are singing spears/Witchblades counted as strength vs infantry? Are they strength 9 or is that only against vehicles?
3: Can you reroll psychic tests with Embolden in a unit?
4: If I have a jetseer and jetlock council do they count as one HQ unit in Dawn of War?
Thanks in advance
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/21 17:04:43
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
1: Can farseers cast out of transports (doom, guide, fortune)? If they can, can they cast at other tanks (though not the models inside)? So could a seer in a WS Guide a nearby falcon?
Covered in BRB FAQ (Yes.) 2: How are singing spears/Witchblades counted as strength vs infantry? Are they strength 9 or is that only against vehicles?
They are whatever strength the Model is. They always wound on a 2+ but will not cause ID unless the Model is somehow Toughness 1 (assuming the Eldar holding it is S3). They only count as S9 against vehicles. 3: Can you reroll psychic tests with Embolden in a unit?
Yes. Page 50 BRB: To use a psychic power successfully the psyker must pass a Psychic test, which is a normal Leadership test. Page 28 Codex: Eldar, Embolden: The Warlock and his squad may re-roll any failed Leadership tests. 4: If I have a jetseer and jetlock council do they count as one HQ unit in Dawn of War?
No.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/09/21 17:08:09
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/21 18:51:16
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
As always, thanks Gwar
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/21 23:59:24
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
Gwar! wrote:
4: If I have a jetseer and jetlock council do they count as one HQ unit in Dawn of War?
No.
A character's retinue wont start on the board with him?
Even though hes no longer an IC and is now an upgrade character? And is not permitted to separate from the unit?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/22 00:00:14
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 00:05:14
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Falconlance wrote:Gwar! wrote:4: If I have a jetseer and jetlock council do they count as one HQ unit in Dawn of War?
No.
A character's retinue wont start on the board with him? Even though hes no longer an IC and is now an upgrade character? And is not permitted to separate from the unit?
Warlocks are not a retinue. Just because they take up a single FoC slot, they do not form a retinue, nor is the Farseer obliged to stay with them, nor do they even have to be deployed together. Edit: Fixed Quotes
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/09/22 00:09:54
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 00:18:05
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
Gwar! wrote:Falconlance wrote:Gwar! wrote:4: If I have a jetseer and jetlock council do they count as one HQ unit in Dawn of War?
No.
A character's retinue wont start on the board with him?
Even though hes no longer an IC and is now an upgrade character? And is not permitted to separate from the unit?
Warlocks are not a retinue. Just because they take up a single FoC slot, they do not form a retinue, nor is the Farseer obliged to stay with them, nor do they even have to be deployed together.
Edit: Fixed Quotes 
My brain just exploded. Where the hell did I read that?
|
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 00:19:13
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Falconlance wrote:My brain just exploded. Where the hell did I read that?
3rd ed Codex (they were a retinue back then).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 00:19:44
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 00:21:31
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
Gwar! wrote:Falconlance wrote:My brain just exploded. Where the hell did I read that?
3rd ed Codex (they were a retinue back then). 
Goddamn Codex Craftworld I bet.
|
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 09:00:58
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
New Zealand
|
Gwar! wrote:1: Can farseers cast out of transports (doom, guide, fortune)? If they can, can they cast at other tanks (though not the models inside)? So could a seer in a WS Guide a nearby falcon?
Covered in BRB FAQ (Yes.)
To save me making another thread, I have always played casting psychic powers like this but is there anything stopping Doom/Guide/Fortune being cast on units inside vehicles (helpful to Guide Dire Avengers before they get out or Doom an enemy unit inside a Rhino you are planning on destroying etc)?
Another situation which came up a few games ago regarding Fortune on a unit containing independent character/s (was Yriel with a foot council). Fortune is cast at the start of the turn with the character attached to a unit, at which point the independent character is, afaik, not an eligible target for Fortune as he is not a unit at this point? Similarly if the character then leaves this unit I assume that Fortune would obviously stay with the unit it was cast on but I guess the character would no longer benefit from it (which kinda sucks as there isn't any way to cast it on him that turn)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 10:25:18
Subject: Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes: BRB FAQ. A unit inside a vehicle cannot be targetted by any unit outisde the vehicle.
The IC IS part of the unit at the start of the turn, however as soon as the IC leaves the IC is not part of the unit any loinger and no longer benefits from from any Psychic power cast on the "unit".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 14:53:43
Subject: Re:Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
New Zealand
|
Are there any actual rules to back this up other than the FAQ? To me the fact that you can cast out of tanks, which seems to indicate that the caster is on the board and thus units in tanks are on the board, should also allow me to target units inside tanks with non shooting/non LOS required powers? The question in the FAQ seems unspecific and GW appear to have been too lazy to answer it properly (i.e there are different types of powers, including shooting attacks which obviously shouldn't be able to be cast on units inside tanks unless otherwise noted).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 15:38:02
Subject: Re:Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Powerguy wrote:Are there any actual rules to back this up other than the FAQ? To me the fact that you can cast out of tanks, which seems to indicate that the caster is on the board and thus units in tanks are on the board, should also allow me to target units inside tanks with non shooting/non LOS required powers? The question in the FAQ seems unspecific and GW appear to have been too lazy to answer it properly (i.e there are different types of powers, including shooting attacks which obviously shouldn't be able to be cast on units inside tanks unless otherwise noted).
Assuming you mean "Transports", not "Tanks", the Transport rules are a good place to start.
Embarked units are removed from the table - making them impossible to target.
Yet, firing can be done from firing points, as per the main rules - in relation to psychic shooting attacks.
iirc, the non-shooting attack psychic powers are more vague and thus the FAQ.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 21:41:48
Subject: Re:Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
kirsanth wrote:Powerguy wrote:Are there any actual rules to back this up other than the FAQ? To me the fact that you can cast out of tanks, which seems to indicate that the caster is on the board and thus units in tanks are on the board, should also allow me to target units inside tanks with non shooting/non LOS required powers? The question in the FAQ seems unspecific and GW appear to have been too lazy to answer it properly (i.e there are different types of powers, including shooting attacks which obviously shouldn't be able to be cast on units inside tanks unless otherwise noted).
Assuming you mean "Transports", not "Tanks", the Transport rules are a good place to start.
Embarked units are removed from the table - making them impossible to target.
Yet, firing can be done from firing points, as per the main rules - in relation to psychic shooting attacks.
iirc, the non-shooting attack psychic powers are more vague and thus the FAQ.
I dont know about this, the FAQ says you can target a unit inside a transport with a psychic power as long as the psyker is in the same transport.
Q. Can Psychic powers be used on a unit
embarked on a transport?
A. For simplicity’s sake, the answer has to be a
firm ‘No, unless the psyker himself is in the unit
being transported’.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 21:44:55
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/22 21:50:40
Subject: Re:Couple of eldar rule Questions
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
"For simplicity’s sake, the answer has to be a
firm ‘No, unless the psyker himself is in the unit
being transported’" is in the FAQ.
Other than the FAQ it can be argued either way.
As I wrote, "no" is easily stated, but "yes" goes with the thought that a model can always get LOS to itself.
afaik
In any case, the question I answered was the one I quoted, including "other than the FAQ".
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|