Switch Theme:

HQ Choice and Other HQ Choice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

Currently we are playing through the Ard Boys Scenarios and we have a discrepancy between HQ Choices and other HQ Choices.

Here is the situation:
An Eldar player plays a Farseer with a Warlock Unit as his HQ. Now the Farseer is an HQ Choice. The Warlock Unit counts as an different HQ Choice that does not take up an HQ Slot. Do both units count as HQ Choices? Tau (my army) completely destroyed the Warlocks but the Farseer was left. If all of your HQ Choices were alive and not in reserve at the end of the game then you got a bonus point in addition to how many points you scored for the game.

Since the Warlock's were completely destroyed did he have all of his HQ Choices alive at the end of the game? Also does the Farseer and the Warlocks count as seperate KPs?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:19:47


5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







rogueeyes wrote:An Eldar player plays a Farseer with a Warlock Unit as his HQ. Now the Farseer is an HQ Choice. The Warlock Unit counts as an different HQ Choice that does not take up an HQ Slot. Do both units count as HQ Choices?
Yes
Also does the Farseer and the Warlocks count as seperate KPs?
Yes

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:40:48


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

Gwar! wrote:
rogueeyes wrote:An Eldar player plays a Farseer with a Warlock Unit as his HQ. Now the Farseer is an HQ Choice. The Warlock Unit counts as an different HQ Choice that does not take up an HQ Slot. Do both units count as HQ Choices?
Yes


Eldar Codex Pg. 60 wrote:
Warlocks: For each Farseer in the army, you may include 3-10 Warlocks. This unit and the Farseer are a single HQ choice.


This wording makes it a single HQ Choice. The Head Hunter Scenario Other HQ Choices and Retinues are 1 KP while HQ Choices are 5 KP. I don't know if that makes a difference. It's the only place where there is a distinction being made between HQ Choices and Other HQ Choices. So would Other HQ Choices be even considered in HQ Choices extra points. I would think not.

On a side question, since the Warlocks are not a retinue, can the Farseer detach from the Warlock squad? I would think they can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 19:20:53


1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





CT, USA

sbeasley wrote:On a side question, since the Warlocks are not a retinue, can the Farseer detach from the Warlock squad? I would think they can.


Yes. Farseers are separate units, and not required to hang with the warlocks.

Gwar! sums it up well here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/257664.page

...one amongst untold billions.
DR:90S+G+M+B++I+Pw40k05+D++A++/hWD318R++T(G)DM+
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







They may be a Single HQ Choice (as in they take up 1 FoC slot), but they are 2 units, so are totally separate in every way, thus are two "HQ Choices"

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

It says the Farseer and the warlocks are a single HQ Choice, so it can't be HQ Choices for the purpose of awarding additional points.

If any part of the choice exists at the end of the game then the +1 bonus is awarded. You are right for Kill points they are separate units and in the Head Hunter Scenarios is specifically calls out Retinues and Other HQ Choices for this very reason.

The reasoning is the Farseer is the HQ Choice
The Warlock squad is an Other HQ Choice.

The wording for bonus points is +1 Point if all your HQ Choices are alive.

Since the Eldar Codex specifically states that the Farseer and the Warlock squad is a single HQ Choice, and the Farseer survived until the end of the game. The bonus point would be awarded.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/23 13:42:52


1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gwar! wrote:They may be a Single HQ Choice (as in they take up 1 FoC slot), but they are 2 units, so are totally separate in every way, thus are two "HQ Choices"


Sbeasley has a good point here Gwar!, the codex specifically calls them out as a single choice. While they would still be 2 units, and thus 2 KPs they are a single choice so in terms of the Ard Boyz special mission, if the farseer is alive, even if the warlocks are all dead, your sole HQ Choice has a remaining model and so is not dead.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: