| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 00:57:52
Subject: Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
During a game today at our LGS I was playing as with a Skaven Storms of Chaos list against a Daemon army. Using the SoC special Eshin rule I can use the spell Skitterleap to jump directly in to Close Combat with someone. So since he had a character running out and about by itself I went and jumped my assassin right into combat with the character. Sadly I rolled poorly and only did one wound to him thus the combat carried over. Here is where my question really is...
During the magic phase on the Daemon players turn he decided that the character that my Assassin was in combat with was going to cast Gift of Chaos. Can this spell be cast while in close combat and would it effect the assassin? It doesn't say anywhere that the spell can be cast while he is IN close combat but it does say that it can effect.
Can the character cast Gift of Chaos while he is in combat?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 01:17:35
Subject: Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Yes, he can. He would not have been able to cast Flickering Fire as it is a magic missile, but most spells do not have a combat restriction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 17:39:37
Subject: Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
While in combat you CAN cast spells as a general rule, however there are restrictions on this that then apply:
1) you cannot cast a magic missile
2) your LOS is potentially restricted, whereever that matters, and the biggie
3) you cannot cast a spell AT someone in close combat unless it is yourself/your unit OR the spell states it can be cast into close combat
Number 3 is explicitly allowed by Gift of Chaos, and nothing abot the rest of it places requirements such as LOS, etc.
So yes, your assasin can bear the brunt of the spell, sorry!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 17:47:05
Subject: Re:Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
Wichita, KS
|
Actually, the official ruling is that a spell can be cast into close combat if:
-the spell says that it can be cast in CC.
-is cast on the wizard himself.
-the effects of the spell say that they can affect CC. (AOE types)
We have had much debate about this at my LGS. The concensus being "well it doesn't say that I CAN'T cast it into CC, so I'm going to do so." Obviously, the other argument was that it didn't say that you CAN cast it either. I don't have the BRB in front of me but we looked it up. I believe the above points are how it is worked out.
I've noticed alot of people assume that a spell can be cast into CC if it doesn't say that you can't. We don't allow it at our LGS unless one of the above 3 is in effect.
My two coppers...
|
Vermin Swarm : : Dwarven Holds, Infernal Dwarves, Empire of Sonnstahl, Warriors of the Dark Gods, Sylvan Elves
Check out my Warhammer Blog: www.mwgamingalliance.wordpress.com
Rock is broken
Paper is balanced
--Scissors-- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 18:50:11
Subject: Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The main rulebook forbids casting at a target in combat as a general rule. Then allows for specific exceptions- when the wizard casts on himself, and whenever the spell wording specifically authorizes or requires it.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 19:34:23
Subject: Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
And in this case Gift definitely allows it: it does not target any unit (it just affects a 12" radius circle) and specifically states it affects units in close combat.
As you are not targetting a unit in clsoe combat number 3 does not apply, it jsut then states you are able to then affect any units in cc that are in range of the spell.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 19:57:37
Subject: Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Bingo.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/28 20:59:53
Subject: Re:Daemon Spellcasting Question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Ah well. It just seemed like it was TOO good that he could be in combat and then just cast that spell still and blow up everything around him. Especially when he can make himself count as a flyer. Bah Thanks everyone!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|