Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 17:01:20
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
P. 56 of the rules states, "Instead, for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull (ignoring gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas banners and other decorative elements)."
So let's grant that the Deff Rolla is one of these "other decorative elements. The next question is, can ork boyz deploy out of the front of a battlewagon? You cannot place the boyz on top of the rolla because the rules state you can never place models on top of each other. The deff rolla from the sprue rotates up, but is it legal to do that and deploy the boys basically under the rolla?
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 17:09:11
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Im going to say no. you cant deploy them under the rolla
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 17:12:02
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
KingCracker wrote:Im going to say no. you cant deploy them under the rolla
The result being that equipping a wagon with a deff rolla prevents you from deploying in front of the wagon--thus negating advantage of it being open-topped. Ork players may want to stick with the ram if the deff rolla doesn't affect vehicles and prevents you from assaulting off the front.
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 17:15:29
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
I thought it could be counted as part of the hull (This also makes its "sides" longer, this making it easier to flank and shoot in the side) Edit: And if you run over a unit first, you want to jump out on the back side, because that's probably where the enemy is unless they broke and ran.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/02 17:17:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 17:25:00
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
You have to decide pre game. If it is part of the hill, they can disembark in front of it. If it isn't, they have to be 2" from where the hull "starts".
Simple!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 17:30:24
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Solotion: A 1" Deffrolla!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 18:29:00
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
If any type of precedence counts for anything, the pic in the basic rulebook shows them not counting the ram on the Ork Trukk for purposes of disembarking.
Personally, I don't count my Deff Rolla as part of the hull for disembarking my Boyz.
|
No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 18:37:47
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
olympia wrote:P. 56 of the rules states, "Instead, for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull (ignoring gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas banners and other decorative elements)."
That'd also mean that you can get an extra few inches on deployment in regards to the rolla, correct? Since the measurement for the deployment edge would be in regards to the hull only and tank shocking occurs on 'contact'?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/02 18:56:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 21:23:32
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
Gorkamorka wrote:olympia wrote:P. 56 of the rules states, "Instead, for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull (ignoring gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas banners and other decorative elements)."
That'd also mean that you can get an extra few inches on deployment in regards to the rolla, correct? Since the measurement for the deployment edge would be in regards to the hull only and tank shocking occurs on 'contact'?
I doubt many ork players would be happy to get an inch or two extra deployment at the price of losing the ability to assault off the front.
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 21:58:20
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
I've always played it as "Can't jump over the giant bit of whirling metal"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 22:18:30
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
I think it's easiest and most in line with the rules to consider it part of the hull.
You really need to discuss it before the game because it's bound to matter.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 23:20:30
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I have always played it as part of the hull because mine are all quite substantial. we playtested it both ways, and frankly it creates more issues than it solves to NOT count it as part of the hull.
so I can disembark from there, and they only have to reach there to assault the tank or to see if it is in range. since it is consistent across 100% of my games none of my opponents have ever had an issue with it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/02 23:39:39
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
olympia wrote:P. 56 of the rules states, "Instead, for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull (ignoring gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas banners and other decorative elements)."
So let's grant that the Deff Rolla is one of these "other decorative elements. The next question is, can ork boyz deploy out of the front of a battlewagon? You cannot place the boyz on top of the rolla because the rules state you can never place models on top of each other. The deff rolla from the sprue rotates up, but is it legal to do that and deploy the boys basically under the rolla?
Sure! If you'll let me deploy from the very tip of the doors on my Drop Pods... (which adds roughly another 4" to the movement)
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 01:13:55
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorry, but you can't deploy in front of it.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 01:31:12
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Che-Vito wrote:Sure! If you'll let me deploy from the very tip of the doors on my Drop Pods... (which adds roughly another 4" to the movement)
Don't forget the 10" blade on the front of all my raiders...
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 02:03:09
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
well people can debate this one all they want. the difference is i'm not using it to create 4" extra movement (drop pod reference) or to do something cheesy. my solution came out of playtesting and finding out what practically worked to make the game intuitive rather than frustrating. we decided on this after someone measured a melta gun finding out that the deffrolla was in range but the hull wasnt. I let him take the shot and then got out from the front. as long as it is equitable between the players what is the problem?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 02:24:31
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Dominar
|
It's not really a Deffrolla question, it's a Vehicle Hull question.
And the answer is that GW isn't going to tell us. You have to discuss it with your opponent/TO beforehand.
Another option is to remove the front two wheels of your Battlewagon and install the Deffrolla where they would normally be.
Now everything works and the overall footprint of the Battlewagon is unchanged.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 02:33:23
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
The rules don't prohibit models from deploying on top of or underneath the Deff Rolla. The Deff Rolla isn't hull, so it isn't part of the BattleWagon model for purposes of where you can and can't put models:
"A model may not move into or through the space occupied by another model (which is represented by its base or by its hull)" BGB p. 11.
The Deff Rolla is neither base nor hull (it is indeed a decorative element as you've argued), so it is not a space occupied by the BattleWagon. Thus models may be moved into and occupy that space.
Hope this helps.
-GK
|
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 04:04:15
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
perhaps I should upload pics.. my deffrollas are all the width of the vehicle and several inches thick. it would be impractical to NOT count them as part of the hull.. and frankly would generate more comments of cheesy building than just running them as part of the hull which generates no complaints and makes the game much smoother.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 04:08:35
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
NaZ wrote:it would be impractical to NOT count them as part of the hull.. and frankly would generate more comments of cheesy building than just running them as part of the hull which generates no complaints and makes the game much smoother.
Players may agree to ignore any rules they wish. See BGB p. 2
Hope this helps.
- GK
|
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 04:21:11
Subject: Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Dominar
|
Please point me to which page defines what is and isn't the hull.
Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 05:17:50
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
sourclams wrote:Please point me to which page defines what is and isn't the hull.
Thanks.
"for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull (ignore gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas, banners and other decorative elements)." BGB p. 56
A deff rolla, like a dozer blade, is a decorative element (albeit one with in-game functionality), not hull.
Hope this helps.
- GK
|
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 05:21:12
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
GiantKiller wrote:sourclams wrote:Please point me to which page defines what is and isn't the hull.
Thanks.
"for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull (ignore gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas, banners and other decorative elements)." BGB p. 56
A deff rolla, like a dozer blade, is a decorative element (albeit one with in-game functionality), not hull.
Hope this helps.
- GK
Please point me to which page defines whether a deff rolla is or isn't a decorative element.
Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 05:31:29
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
gorkamorka wrote:Please point me to which page defines whether a deff rolla is or isn't a decorative element.
Thanks.
BGB p. 56. Note the examples of decorative elements provided.
Hope this helps.
- GK
|
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 06:49:39
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
GiantKiller wrote:gorkamorka wrote:Please point me to which page defines whether a deff rolla is or isn't a decorative element.
Thanks.
BGB p. 56. Note the examples of decorative elements provided.
Hope this helps.
- GK
It does not, since it does not specify.
Also because, using your argument in the rolla thread, it is different from the examples given so it is impossible for them to be in the same grouping.
As you said, "Different = not the same. I'm embarrassed for all of us because I feel "different = not the same" actually needs to be stated in this thread."
Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 07:36:40
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Gorkamorka wrote:GiantKiller wrote:gorkamorka wrote:Please point me to which page defines whether a deff rolla is or isn't a decorative element.
Thanks.
BGB p. 56. Note the examples of decorative elements provided.
Hope this helps.
- GK
It does not, since it does not specify.
Also because, using your argument in the rolla thread, it is different from the examples given so it is impossible for them to be in the same grouping.
As you said, "Different = not the same. I'm embarrassed for all of us because I feel "different = not the same" actually needs to be stated in this thread."
Thanks.
GK, ignore the trolling. It's a decorative element plain and simple...sure it has functionality, but so do gun barrels, banners, and dozer blades.
Pressing the 'ignore button' for the troll now...wish I would've done it sooner...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/03 07:37:58
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 08:15:37
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Che-Vito wrote:Gorkamorka wrote:GiantKiller wrote:gorkamorka wrote:Please point me to which page defines whether a deff rolla is or isn't a decorative element. Thanks. BGB p. 56. Note the examples of decorative elements provided. Hope this helps. - GK
It does not, since it does not specify. Also because, using your argument in the rolla thread, it is different from the examples given so it is impossible for them to be in the same grouping. As you said, "Different = not the same. I'm embarrassed for all of us because I feel "different = not the same" actually needs to be stated in this thread." Thanks. GK, ignore the trolling. It's a decorative element plain and simple...sure it has functionality, but so do gun barrels, banners, and dozer blades. Pressing the 'ignore button' for the troll now...wish I would've done it sooner...
His argument was actually that ludicrous, but that aside is niether here nor there. Sorry for entertaining the notion that something not specified in the rules might not follow your interpretation automatically. I'll gladly place my rolla past my deployment line and then disembark on top of it, I suppose. Win/Win.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/03 08:19:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 08:29:03
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Gorkamorka wrote:His argument was actually that ludicrous, but that aside is niether here nor there. Sorry for entertaining the notion that something not specified in the rules might not follow your interpretation automatically. I'll gladly place my rolla past my deployment line and then disembark on top of it, I suppose. Win/Win.
And I will deploy my Devestators on top of my rhino so I can drive it 12 inches a turn while they fire off their heavy weapons. Win/Win. edit: Just to clarify, my point is while there are no rules saying you can't deploy ontop of vehicles to the best of my knowledge, it's commonly accepted that you cannot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/03 08:40:50
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 08:38:11
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Gorkamorka wrote:His argument was actually that ludicrous, but that aside is niether here nor there. Sorry for entertaining the notion that something not specified in the rules might not follow your interpretation automatically. I'll gladly place my rolla past my deployment line and then disembark on top of it, I suppose. Win/Win.
And I will deploy my Devestators on top of my rhino so I can drive it 12 inches a turn while they fire off their heavy weapons. Win/Win.
And you'd be blatantly breaking the rules, namely "A model may not move into or through the space occupied by another model (which is represented by its base or by its hull)" BGB p. 11 The rules and conclusions presented in the thread seem to support both the ability to place the rolla past your deployment line and deploy on top of it if it is indeed decorative and not part of the hull. Feel free to point out something that doesn't support it and I'll gladly not do it.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/03 08:41:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/03 08:42:19
Subject: Re:Deff Rolla--a different question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Gorkamorka wrote:The rules and conclusions presented in the thread support both the ability to place the rolla past your deployment line and deploy on top of it if it is indeed decorative and not part of the hull. Feel free to point out something that doesn't support it and I'll gladly not do it.
Decorative or Hull doesn't matter when it comes to deploying on top, it's still standing on top of a model. Just like while you can't draw LOS to a banner (decorative) it can still block LOS to units behind it. Automatically Appended Next Post: Gorkamorka wrote:And you'd be blatantly breaking the rules, namely "A model may not move into or through the space occupied by another model (which is represented by its base or by its hull)" BGB p. 11
It is not moving into or through the hull, it is moving ontop of it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/03 08:43:04
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|