| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 12:35:26
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Alright, I have a couple of queries about Daemonhunters. Not, fortunately, the instadeath Grand Master thing. I think I'd burn on a pyre if I brought that one back.
1 - Grey Knight Justicars, because they are in power armour, cannot take any different weapons and can only take stuff from the Wargear section. However...one of the things in the Wargear section is Artificer Armour. Would a Justicar, upgraded to wearing Artificer Armour be allowed to take different weapons since he's not longer in Power Armour and still has access to the armoury? And if so, would a Psycannon or Incenartor remove his Nemesis Force Weapon?
2 - Can an Inquistor with a null rod use a Psychic Hood to block powers? There's nothing in the rules to suggest a Hood is likely to be stopped by a Null Rod but I figured I'd check.
3 - Sacred Incense works against any Chaos units, by the wording. Not Daemons. Does this means it affects any units in the Chaos Marines and Chaos Daemons codexes?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 12:41:48
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
2. Yes. It only prevents psychic POWERS from working (his or any others that target or have an effect on his unit). A hood is not a power, it is wargear. Using the hood is having the =I= exercising his 'will' to block the enemy power.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 13:14:24
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
2 been answer and 3 I'm not touching (old codex syndrome) Jon Garrett wrote: 1 - Grey Knight Justicars, because they are in power armour, cannot take any different weapons and can only take stuff from the Wargear section. However...one of the things in the Wargear section is Artificer Armour. Would a Justicar, upgraded to wearing Artificer Armour be allowed to take different weapons since he's not longer in Power Armour and still has access to the armoury? And if so, would a Psycannon or Incenartor remove his Nemesis Force Weapon? For all intents and purposes he is still wearing the power armour. This is because nothing tells you to remove it ... so in effect he has both on at the same time.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 13:14:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 13:22:07
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
I always assumed that it was removed in the same way as the Storm Bolter the Grey Knight Hero take is replaced by a Psycannon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 13:29:10
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Jon Garrett wrote:I always assumed that it was removed in the same way as the Storm Bolter the Grey Knight Hero take is replaced by a Psycannon.
RAP for the older codex was you lost something or trade it back for the points. There is however no rule allowing a model to give things back.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 13:29:40
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 13:37:56
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
So a Grey Knight Hero can't take a weapon other than a Storm Bolter, as the armoury says that he can only have two weapons and he can't give the Storm Bolter back?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 13:39:48
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Jon Garrett wrote:So a Grey Knight Hero can't take a weapon other than a Storm Bolter, as the armoury says that he can only have two weapons and he can't give the Storm Bolter back?
Legally ... NO
But as i said most people make up they can ... may have been a rule for it in 3rd-4th edition of the BGB but there's not any more
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 13:50:00
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Jon Garrett wrote:1 - Grey Knight Justicars, because they are in power armour, cannot take any different weapons and can only take stuff from the Wargear section. However...one of the things in the Wargear section is Artificer Armour. Would a Justicar, upgraded to wearing Artificer Armour be allowed to take different weapons since he's not longer in Power Armour and still has access to the armoury? And if so, would a Psycannon or Incenartor remove his Nemesis Force Weapon?
No, he has both Power Armour AND Artificer Armour.
2 - Can an Inquistor with a null rod use a Psychic Hood to block powers? There's nothing in the rules to suggest a Hood is likely to be stopped by a Null Rod but I figured I'd check.
Yes.
3 - Sacred Incense works against any Chaos units, by the wording. Not Daemons. Does this means it affects any units in the Chaos Marines and Chaos Daemons codexes? RaW it does nothing because it never defines what a "Chaos" model is. Clear it up pre game.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 14:46:17
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Perhaps better to say that Artificer is a type of Power Armour.
"Sacred Incense works against any Chaos units, by the wording. Not Daemons. Does this means it affects any units in the Chaos Marines and Chaos Daemons codexes?"
Units belonging to Chaos forces - units found in Codex Chaos Space Marines and Codex Daemons.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 15:31:02
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
1. He can take Artificer armor for the points, and he's got a 2+ save but cannot exchange the weapons around, he gets a Storm Bolter and a Nemesis Force Weapon.
2. You can take a Psychic hood and the Null rod, but remember the Null rod automatically makes it so that he and his unit are immune to psychic powers. And Grey Knights have a natural immunity to powers that are directed at them.. it's the Aegis and it works exactly the same as the hood.
3. It affects Chaos units, meaning any unit of Chaos, either Chaos Space Marines or Chaos Daemons.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 15:31:43
You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 15:59:59
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
Artificer Armor can be seen as a type of power armor. Simply put it's an upgrade for the power armor that he is wearing currently.
A null rod does not prevent a psychic hood from working since it is not a psychic power.
Anything that is Chaos. Chaos Demons, Chaos space Marines, a random unit from the Chaos Space Marines Codex ... all are termed Chaos. If Chaos is in the name it's Chaos. If it follows a Chaos God - it's Chaos. Clear it up before game jsut to be sure however.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/06 21:27:42
Subject: Daemonhunter Questions
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
I would restate what they all said but I have nothing to add or change. All in all yeah these guys have covered it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|