Switch Theme:

JOWW  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






I did a quick search but didn't find anything so I apologize if this has been asked before.

Me and a friend were playing Tau Vs Wolves and he attempted to use JOWW. However the line he drew passed through 2 of his own units. RAW I don't see any distinction made between friend or foe so I told him that his units also had to take the check. After re reading the rules a few times he agreed with me. Is this correct as far as how the power works when it goes through friendly targets?

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, any model touched MUST take the test, as explicitly stated in the power. Friend, foe, the world wolf will try to eat all!

Yet another nail in the "cant be cast into close combat" crowd as well...
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






I'd put it in the same category as template weapons, in that he can't fire it at you if it would hit his own units as well.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Incorrect.

the power at no point whatsoever declares a target. It is targetting that restricts you from shooting into close combat, or at your own models. NOTHING in the power does this.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nosferatu is correct. You can hit whatever you want.

Yes, you will want to avoid hitting your own guys, but nothing is stopping you from doing so.

For more answers, check out my Unofficial SW FAQ. While this question isn't in it atm, It will be added for v 1.5

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 20:34:49


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






The question wasn't on firing it into CC, I don't mention close combat anywhere so I don't knjow where that came from. But more the does it affect both friendly & hostile models. Thanks for the answers anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 22:09:41


Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It was more to say that you can throw it into CC for the same reason you can throw it into you own models: at no point do you ever target, meaning the shooting prohibitions do not apply.

Most posters seem to get this, some don't
   
Made in gb
Preacher of the Emperor






Manchester, UK

It affects whatever is touched by the line you draw from your model.

Ther are no targeting restrictions (read the BGB) etc... Just draw a line from your Rune Priest (whatever, non-SW player here) and anything touched by it has to take the test.

This can lead to all sorts of tactical advantages: You can draw a line through a HtH that only touches your opponents models, and no amount of crying on his behalf will change the fact that they are the models affected.

You can argue later about whether 'models removed from play' count as casualties

1500pts

Gwar! wrote:Debate it all you want, I just report what the rules actually say. It's up to others to tie their panties in a Knot. I stopped caring long ago.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

So remember, its turn 7 in a KP game and your lone wolf is still running wild. Take that sucker down with your own JOWW. You don't want to give up that KP.


See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

Looking at just the RAW of JOWW and the shooting rules, you can kill your own guys, use it against models in cc, whatever.

The problem is, there is an over-arching concept that everything else follows about not being able to hurt friendlies without an ability specifically telling you that you can. To get around that, you have to use a "it doesn't say I can't" argument. Similar overall concept that shooting attacks can't directly affect units in cc.

The wording of JOWW looks to allow it to work if you don't recognize those concepts in a rules argument, which is fine if you and your opponent both agree. My prediction is that JOWW will get FAQ'ed to not be allowed to hit your own guys, and not work against units in cc because of those over-arching rules. No, there isn't a page quote for them. It's one of those things that get recognized through deduction rather than a direct quote, kind of like the rule that the game is a permissive rule set and your wargear only works for your army.

Just my two cents.

   
Made in au
Ferocious Blood Claw





Hm... if you had a guy stuck in CC you could get rid of him to free that unit up to shooting.

I agree that the rule will probably be FAQ'd to say that the line must not pass through any friendly models. I mean, rune priests seem like nice enough guys.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: