Switch Theme:

Can a model in a transport achieve Base to Base contact with something outside the transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can a model in a transport achieve Base to Base contact with something outside the transport
Yes, a model can achieve Base to Base contact via hull contact
No, a model must actually have base contact for such rules to function, not a proxy via a hull

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Note: Please vote for how you play, not necessarily the RAW. Feel free to discuss any relevant RAW within the thread.

A question came up about this recently with regards to Techmarine and whether or not they would be eligible to repair another vehicle from their own transport vehicle. The issue here is that the Techmarine requires base to base contact with a vehicle to be able to repair it.

I'm sure most people are familiar with the rule which allows transported models to still interact with other models via the hull of a transport vehicle, but here's a quick refresher:

BRB - Page 66 wrote:If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.


However, base to base contact is never strictly defined by the rules, and as such there are often two views on the matter, one being that is simply an indicater that there must be 0" distance between two models, while the other is that models must literally touch their base against one another (or against the hull in the case of vehicles) to satisfy the term.

There are a number of instances where wargear or special rules require some form of base contact such as the Techmarine repairing a vehicle or the Dark Eldar Webway Portal being deployed, there are also potential problems such as being able to achieve base to base contact with a transported unit for assaulting.

So how do you play with regards to this matter.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Voted B.

I see "base to base" as meaning the actual bases of the models are touching. With that interpretation, there would be no need to measure any ranges so the "hull rule" from the BRB wouldn't come into effect and you would not be able to perform actions that require base-to-base contact while embarked.

I understand that may cause some weird game issues in certain circumstances but even so, I think I'd still probably play it that you have to get out of your transport in order to get the "base-to-base contact" the rule describes. I don't think it is really game-breaking either way, so if my opponent disagreed I'd be happy to roll off.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






Voted A

To determine if a model is in base to base one could measure to determine the distance, thus a measurement can occur. Also, whenever talking about distance measurement comes into play to determine the distance to and from an object.

Thus if determined that being into base to base requires a measurement then it can be measured from a vehicle via the "hull rule". So, if the vehicles hull is touching another vehicles hull it's considered being into base to base as far as I see.

I see "base to base" as meaning the actual bases of the models are touching.

Vehicles don't even have bases, they have hulls, so how could you ever be in base to base with a vehicle?

Non Raw, I could see a tech marine fixing the side of a Rhino out the door of his transport to avoid enemy firepower. Also, a player could build a custom rhino with servo arms so that it's like the tech marine uses his own tank to fix the other tank.

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2009/10/12 10:21:45


My Sisters Tactica http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409339.page
Please read My Tactica if you're new to Sisters or thinking of starting them. For the Emperor!

3800 pts
3750 pts
1500 pts
700 pts
700 pts
 
   
Made in gb
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Middlesbrough, UK

B.

If models aren't in base-to-base contact, I don't count them as being. The only exceptions to this I allow is models which don't have a base (Defilers, and I suppose Hierophants); in which case I do as the rulebook suggests.

So no, a model inside a transport can't be in base contact with anything if you play how I do. If you want base-to-base contact, get out of the transport first.

I will say I can see why people would play the other way too though.

Blood Angels 2nd/5th Company (5,400+)
The Wraithkind (4,100+) 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






Neith wrote:If models aren't in base-to-base contact, I don't count them as being. The only exceptions to this I allow is models which don't have a base (Defilers, and I suppose Hierophants); in which case I do as the rulebook suggests.


Just to reiterate, the only transports that have bases are flying units. Not just Defilers and Hierophants, but Rhinos, Land Raiders, Chimeras, so on so forth. It's just assumed by RAI that base to base with a vehicle means hull to base.

My Sisters Tactica http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409339.page
Please read My Tactica if you're new to Sisters or thinking of starting them. For the Emperor!

3800 pts
3750 pts
1500 pts
700 pts
700 pts
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kreedos wrote:Vehicles don't even have bases, they have hulls, so how could you ever be in base to base with a vehicle?


You can't. You can move your model's base into contact with the vehicle (which is done when assaulting the vehicle, for example...) which accomplishes the same thing.




I'm going with B. While determining whether or not models are in base-to-base contact still requires a form of measurement (you don't actually break out a tape measure, but determining that the distance between them = '0' is taking a measurement, even if you're just eyeballing it) ...and so would seem to fit into the rule allowing you to measure to the vehicle's hull instead, it would seem to lead to potentially silly situations, like being able to assault the troops inside a land raider by moving into contact witht he tank's hull.

And, as mentioned in the other thread, the techmarine being able to fix a vehicle parked alongside the one that he's in.

So I'm going with base-to-base meaning just that, with no proxies allowed.

 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




For a tansported model for most purposes measurements have to be taken from fire points, so if a transport vehicle can bring a fire point into contact with the hull of another vehicle then the base to base requirement might be able to be met. Hull to hull just isnt the same as base to base for transported model.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I'll just go with:
RaW = No, so I play it as No.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

While for the purposes measuring effects generated by a model inside a transport, you are supposed to measure from the model's hull, I do think base contact is a different thing from 'distance = 0"'.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Sliggoth wrote:For a tansported model for most purposes measurements have to be taken from fire points,


Not actually correct. For shooting the range is measured from the fire point. For any other measurement involving the unit inside the transport, you measure to the vehicle's hull (page 66: "Embarking").

 
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Kommando





London

I vote "No"

You wouldn't have your squad in a battlewagon assault a Land Raider without getting out first!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







This is one of the problems which occurs when people become convinced that the rules provide a way to measure to embarked models instead of simply providing a way to measure to embarked models.

Even if a person holds to Insaniak's position that base-to-base is equivalent to measuring for 0", the rules do not allow for measuring to embarked models. Since all of the base-to-base statements require being in base contact with a model, then none of those can be satisfied for embarked units. That means that base contact rules, whether it be one of the techmarine rules, or the base contact for assaulting, do not apply.

What I wonder at is the explanations of the people who voted for allowing base contact to embarked models as far as why that base contact measurement doesn't apply to assaults.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

solkan wrote:This is one of the problems which occurs when people become convinced that the rules provide a way to measure to embarked models instead of simply providing a way to measure to embarked models.


I suspect that one of those 'models' is supposed to be 'unit'...


Even if a person holds to Insaniak's position that base-to-base is equivalent to measuring for 0"


'Even if'...?

What else can you call determining the distance between the models if not measurement...?


, the rules do not allow for measuring to embarked models.


Sorry, but this is meaningless. Measuring the distance to a unit involves measuring to a model within the unit. Your distinction would only mean anything if units had a defined perimeter, rather than being made of of a group of individual models.

Measuring a distance to a specific model in a unit is measuring a distance involving the unit, because the model is a part of the unit.



That being said, I still voted 'no'.
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

solkan wrote:What I wonder at is the explanations of the people who voted for allowing base contact to embarked models as far as why that base contact measurement doesn't apply to assaults.

Because vehicle models cannot make assault moves?

But no, you are correct - by the same logic that a Techmarine in a Rhino could go into base to base with another Rhino to repair it by touching hulls then my mob of boyz assaulting the Landraider can choose to swing on the transported passengers since I'm in base to base contact with them.
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






Yes, the option A seems to open a can of worms, and is in my opinion pretty cheesy.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Though for the record I'd love to have my Boyz swing at the Techmarine and Tac squad in a Rhino while my Nob smashes it with his Klaw. Probably after we pop it they have to stay in b2b with us too, since we started that way. I dunno, if someone wants to say it works this way to me in a tourney I'd be game to let them - Waaagh!

Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






f74 wrote:I vote "No"

You wouldn't have your squad in a battlewagon assault a Land Raider without getting out first!


Unless they have boarding planks.

I voted no btw. I can't see how a model inside a transport can be counted as base to base with anything. It would be an immeasurable RAI stretch to try to argue that a techy can make repairs to one vehicle while hanging out a hatch of another vehicle.

This fails on RAI and RAW imo.

DQ:70+S++G+M-B+I+Pw40k93+ID++A+/eWD156R++T(T)DM++


 
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Kommando





London

augustus5 wrote:
f74 wrote:I vote "No"

You wouldn't have your squad in a battlewagon assault a Land Raider without getting out first!


Unless they have boarding planks.



Of course!
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





Voted no, Base to base is not a range, it is a location.


"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




I voted "no" as well.

I mean, if you allowed this position, then the models on board could also be considered to assault another vehicle after their transport rammed it.
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Central Pennsylvania

I voted 'No' as well, I believe the 'from the hull' rules are for things like measuring for Psychic powers and the like.

I also feel that Base to Base isn't 0". Factually yes, but not for game terms.

Farseer Faenyin
7,100 pts Yme-Loc Eldar(Apoc Included) / 5,700 pts (Non-Apoc)
Record for 6th Edition- Eldar: 25-4-2
Record for 7th Edition -
Eldar: 0-0-0 (Yes, I feel it is that bad)

Battlefleet Gothic: 2,750 pts of Craftworld Eldar
X-wing(Focusing on Imperials): CR90, 6 TIE Fighters, 4 TIE Interceptors, TIE Bomber, TIE Advanced, 4 X-wings, 3 A-wings, 3 B-wings, Y-wing, Z-95
Battletech: Battlion and Command Lance of 3025 Mechs(painted as 21st Rim Worlds) 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Why do things have to be harder than they should be?

Embarked units are within confines of a vehicle. Nothing can be done from inside, except firing from fire points or using the Ork boarding plank rule.

2012 tourney record:
Eldar 18W-2L-5D Overall x4
Deathwing 21W-7L-6D Overall x4 Best General x1 Best Appearance x3, 19th place Adepticon 40k Champs.
Space Wolves 2W-0L-1D Best Painted x1

Armies:
1850+ pts. 3000+ pts. 2000+

40k bits go to my ebay... http://stores.shop.ebay.com/K-K-Gaming-and-Bits  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







insaniak wrote:
, the rules do not allow for measuring to embarked models.


Sorry, but this is meaningless. Measuring the distance to a unit involves measuring to a model within the unit. Your distinction would only mean anything if units had a defined perimeter, rather than being made of of a group of individual models.

Measuring a distance to a specific model in a unit is measuring a distance involving the unit, because the model is a part of the unit.

Measuring the distance to a model a typical part of determining the distance to a unit, but there's no way to determine the distance to the models in a unit given the distance to the unit.

There's a simple example. Place three models, A, B and C, in a ruin in a line, and call that unit 1. Place another model D somewhere else on the board. If I tell you that the distance from model D to unit 1 is 10 inches, where are models A, B, and C and what are the distances from those models to model D? There are any number of possible answers, none of which can be proven to be correct without more information.

That's the situation the transport rule places the players in because the rule for embarked units doesn't specify where the positions of the embarked models. The rulebook gives a distance to the unit, and no meaningful information about the distances to the models in that unit. Or, in other words, there's no way of measuring to the embarked models.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/18 20:57:23


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





next to a stop sign

Voted B... and would have to agree with others that if you're going to play it the other way then it works both ways: an assaulting unit can make contact with a transport but attack the passengers in side.

"...you don't run internet lists, except for when you make a list and it becomes an internet list..." 
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut




Old Man Ultramarine wrote:Why do things have to be harder than they should be?

Embarked units are within confines of a vehicle. Nothing can be done from inside, except firing from fire points or using the Ork boarding plank rule.


because pg. 66 says otherwise.


While I dont know about fixing your own vehicle, im hard pressed to see why a friendly vehicle carrying a techy in base to base contact with another friendly vehicle cannot fix it.

Prerequisite 1 - Tech needs to be in base to base contact with the unit.
(models without a base are measured from the vehicle hull as the rule states)

Problem - Techy is inside a vehicle which means we cant measure base to base of the techy.

However,

Pg66 allows us to measure from the hull.

Not trying to be argumentative, but can someone show me where my thinking is going wrong?

Is it simply the argument that you cant "measure" the distance "base to base" ??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/20 04:12:42


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Exactly. “Base contact” is a state/status, not a distance.

If you try to apply the rule on page 66 to equate “base contact” and a distance of 0”, you wind up with all kinds of potentially ridiculous and broken situations, like a unit assaulting a vehicle and counting as being in base contact with the passengers.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







I think the whole "base contact" =/= 0" is a bad arguement against this case.

Also, a unit inside a transport cannot attack through it because in order for a model to be in base contact with an opponents models it must have some sort of exemption from the 1" rule.

the assault move allows you to get closer than 1"
being in a vehicle does not mean you can just break this rule at any time, when you tank shock, for example, enemy models are palced 1" away from your hull.

HIWPI the tech marine cannot repair another vehicle while embarked. The arguements against doing so have been fairly weak, and I do not have a RAW explanation as to why I will be playing it that way.

THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: