Switch Theme:

Transport More than 1 unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Santa Rosa, CA.

Starting with the BRB pg 67. Dedicated Transports.
Basically the book has, After game begins other unit can be added. Troops can be added until capacity.
The last time I asked the questions, I was told the older codex overrides the (new)BRB.
I see the DH codex has the limited use. Can anyone find the Dedicated transport limitations in the WH codex?
I don't have the Ultramarine or SW codex to see if the limitations are there.

It really bugs me when GW puts out books that have rules, That don't apply.
If I wrote the BRB, I would read the codex's and see what rules should be deleted.
(Yes, I am overusing the symbols.)

"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







What are you talking about?

Are you talking about how Older codexes cannot use dedicated Transports to carry ANY other unit while modern codexes allow any unit to ride in them?

Seriously... I can't make out any of that...

Is there a rules question in here?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/10/12 18:36:41


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

OK, I think you are asking if the SW codex has a "only the unit they are bought for" restriction. Is that correct?
No, they do not.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Yeah, I can not find a question out of any of that.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Pistolier





England

im guessing with my guard, i couldnt have a lord commisar and a vet squad in 1 chimera?
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






I don't know what you're asking but I'll hazard a guess.

A dedicated transport may carry a different unit in later game turns, but may not start with them embarked.

A transport may never have more than one unit in it, excluding combat squads that have yet to deploy from drop pods, as far as I know.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







TheFirstBorn wrote:im guessing with my guard, i couldnt have a lord commisar and a vet squad in 1 chimera?
Actually, you can. the Lord Commisar is an Independent Character, so can join the unit inside the transport.
What you cannot do is put Two Heavy Weapon Squads in a single Chimera (6+6).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






TheFirstBorn wrote:im guessing with my guard, i couldnt have a lord commisar and a vet squad in 1 chimera?


Yes, if the IC Joined the squad before embarking, if he did not, then no.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in gb
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





United Kingdom, London

TheFirstBorn wrote:im guessing with my guard, i couldnt have a lord commisar and a vet squad in 1 chimera?

Nope. Just have them waiting to pop in. Simple as that.

"And what are the achievements of your fragile Imperium? It is a corpse rotting slowly from within while maggots writhe in its belly. It was built with the toil of heroes and giants, and now it is inhabited by frightened weaklings to whom the glories of those times are half-forgotten legends." 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Gwar! wrote:
TheFirstBorn wrote:im guessing with my guard, i couldnt have a lord commisar and a vet squad in 1 chimera?
Actually, you can. the Lord Commisar is an Independent Character, so can join the unit inside the transport.
What you cannot do is put Two Heavy Weapon Squads in a single Chimera (6+6).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Taken to quoting yourself now?



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




DH Codex transports can only transport the unit they were bought for, because that's what the codex says to do (on page 30). The first edition of the WH Codex had the same restriction, but the later edition removed it. So this doesn't apply to the WH transports any longer.

The BRB can't automatically change or override what the Codex says (unless it specifically says it does), or nothing any Codex has would ever apply. So, sadly, or interestingly (if you want a positive spin), DH Codex purchased transports remain super dedicated. Ally in a IG unit with a transport option, if you must have this flexibility.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/12 20:44:32


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

InquisitorFabius wrote:
TheFirstBorn wrote:im guessing with my guard, i couldnt have a lord commisar and a vet squad in 1 chimera?


Yes, if the IC Joined the squad before embarking, if he did not, then no.


Or he can just get in and join them when he embarks. Page 67, ICs embarking and disembarking....................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Santa Rosa, CA.

Why do the old codex cancel rules in the new BRB?

example: BRB pg 67. Dedicated Transports.
BRB states " After game begins Other Unit can board the vehicle. Troops can be added until capacity"

ie. A rhino w/5troops can pick up 5 more troops. After the game starts, in turn 1.

Most codex have "only troops that paid the points can be transported in the vehicle."

"When you beat a Sisters of Battle army, All you have done is, Beat a bunch of Girls"
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

resinmann wrote: Why do the old codex cancel rules in the new BRB?


It's not a question of old codex canceling new rulebook, so much as the normal process of more specific rule over-riding less specific.

The rulebook says that dedicated transports follow certain rules.
Certain codexes impose extra rules specifically on dedicated transports in that codex.


BRB states " After game begins Other Unit can board the vehicle. Troops can be added until capacity"


It actually doesn't. It states that after the game begins the transport may carry any friendly unit, subject to capacity. Which is slightly different.

If you're asking if that means the transport can carry more than one unit at a time (to be honest, it's still rather unclear just what you are asking) then the Transport Capacity section on page 66 states that a transport vehicle can only carry a single unit. So that would be a 'no'...


Most codex have "only troops that paid the points can be transported in the vehicle."


Most don't. Just a couple of the older ones.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

resinman, why don't you just tell us what you want to do, and we'll tell you whether you can do it or not. If it's two units (other than by attaching ICs) in the same transport, the answer is no.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

In regards to older codices and their restrictions on dedicated transports, please note that GW has also specifically addressed this in the main rulebook FAQ from March:

Q. My Imperial Guard or Black Templar Codex
says that dedicated transports can only be used
by the unit they’ve been bought for. Is that
overruled by the new way dedicated transports
work in 5th Edition?
A. No, if a Codex clearly says that dedicated
transports can only be used during the game by
the unit that bought them, that overrules the
general rule in the rulebook, as normal.
Obviously some armies are stricter than others
about transport regulations!


http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_40k_Rulebook_March_2009.pdf

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: