Switch Theme:

Clarification on Blast Scatter  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





Ok, this was the situation. My Chaos Drednaught with a plasma cannon rolled a one for sainity, and shot the cannon at the possesed squad right next to him. It ended up scattering behind him, and killing him.
So the question is: is it possible to scatter behind the firerer of the weapon?

Although, regardles, I think it was pretty damn funny when my awesome drednaught blew itself up on the first turn.

All things in equal Parts
You cannot stop us.
We are Undivided.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, it is indeed possible to scatter behind.

It's called "don't fire just in front" - especially funny with Vindicators....
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





Thank you for the response, but I realized something else. What armor value do you use for a vehicle if a blast marker/templete lands directly on top of it?

All things in equal Parts
You cannot stop us.
We are Undivided.  
   
Made in us
Freelance Soldier






All too possible.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hits on the top from blast/template weapons are hitting the AV from the side facing the firer. In the case of your dreadnought, front armor.

Barrage weapons hit side armor.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/18 17:34:02


The Cog Collective
DR:70S+G+M++B--IPw40k87#+D++A++/sWD80R+T(D)DM+

Warmachine: 164 points painted Cygnar 11-62-0 Circle of Orboros 0-13-0

Painted 40K: 3163 1500 225

"Machete don't text." 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Non-barrage you use the armour facing the firer (not very helpful in this circumstance)
Barrage you use the side armour value to represent the top armour.
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





Ahhh, thank you for the answered questions. Now I can truely hate the sight of a .

All things in equal Parts
You cannot stop us.
We are Undivided.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Scott-S6 wrote:Non-barrage you use the armour facing the firer (not very helpful in this circumstance)
Barrage you use the side armour value to represent the top armour.
Actually, non-barrage that has the hole off the hull hit's whatever facing the blast hits, so if it scattered behind him, it would be S3 against Rear Armour.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






As Gwar says, all blast weapons that scatter so the center hole isn't over the vehicle use half strength rounding down against the armour value of the side closest to the center of the blast marker.

As such, assuming the marker scattered so the center hole was beyond the dreadnought, it would have been S3 and thus unable to even glance.

Also, if the hole ended up on top of the dreadnought it would not necessarily be against the front armour, it would be against the facing belonging to the quadrant that the tip of the weapon's barrel is in, given the dreadnought's broad frame I doubt any weapon would have it's tip in the side quadrant, only the missile launcher would maybe be there and frag missiles aren't exactly a threat, but I just thought I would mention it because if, for example a leman russ' plasma cannon sponsons scattered back on to it, they would hit the side armour, rather than the front armour.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





Ahhh, so most likely I didn't need to use the rear armor. Meh, I rolled a Six to penentrate, anyway.

All things in equal Parts
You cannot stop us.
We are Undivided.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




It's technically not the tip of the barrel that matters. You measure from the gun mount. This is to stop people from making 24'' long gun barrels and shooting across the table with flamers while staying out of range of meltaguns.
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

BRB p56, "Vehicles & Measuring Distances"




 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Luckily, it doesn't matter whether the plasma cannon counts as firing from the dread's front or side arc since the armor value is the same.

Up next: Chaos tactics for placing blast markers to minimize casualties.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

thebetter1 wrote:It's technically not the tip of the barrel that matters. You measure from the gun mount. This is to stop people from making 24'' long gun barrels and shooting across the table with flamers while staying out of range of meltaguns.


Not actually true this edition. You might want to check the page that Ridcully mentioned.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: