| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 12:33:22
Subject: WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Playing a game the other day, I found that, contrary to my former beliefs, the monolith may only fire the pie plate OR the flux arcs per turn. However, under the flux arc's entry it states that the WILL fire at any target within 12", not MAY fire. However, the particle whip is an ORDANANCE weapon. My question is: can the monolith fire both in the same turn? Rule book and codex references are required for an answer, or at least a section.
|
Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 12:41:59
Subject: WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As you pointed out, the Particle Whip is an Ordnance weapon and since there are no rules allowing both weapons to be fired at the same time, you cannot.
As for the use of the word 'will' you seem to have transposed the meaning of 'must' onto 'will'. Yes, the rule is written in a silly way, but there is absolutely nothing in the verbiage that forces a player to fire the Gauss Arcs.
It does not say that the Arcs will fire each turn, each game or even every year. It just says they will fire at all targets within 12".
So just think of it this way: The Gauss Arcs WILL fire at every enemy unit within 12". . .each turn, unless the player chooses to use the Particle Whip in which case the basic rules prevent the Monolith from firing any additional weapons.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 12:43:06
Subject: Re:WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
No because you cannot fire another weapon with Ordinance. So if at least one remains optional you cannot use both.
I'm checking the exact wording of the codex now.
Edit: Ninja'd
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/27 12:46:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 13:10:04
Subject: WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
To Clarify:
Yakface is Right.
n0t_u is also Right but slow
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 13:23:51
Subject: Re:WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
Yeah, I stopped to check the wording
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 15:14:24
Subject: WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
Gwar! wrote:To Clarify:
Yakface is Right.
n0t_u is also Right but slow
can he sig that?
Automatically Appended Next Post: hmm... that's not as funny not that you don't quote people in your sig anymore. looks like i'm 0/1 in the joke department today...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/27 15:15:15
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 15:15:16
Subject: Re:WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Combat Jumping Ragik
|
|
Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 15:20:27
Subject: Re:WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Shas'O Dorian wrote:http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-11_Edition.pdf
Necron F.A.Q. 4.0.1 says no.
The current Necron FAQ also says no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 15:23:22
Subject: WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
warboss wrote:Gwar! wrote:To Clarify:
Yakface is Right.
n0t_u is also Right but slow
can he sig that?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
hmm... that's not as funny not that you don't quote people in your sig anymore. looks like i'm 0/1 in the joke department today...
Should I sig it though.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 21:02:12
Subject: WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
This thread dosent deserve the title "WTF IS UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 21:35:36
Subject: Re:WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Shas'O Dorian wrote:http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-11_Edition.pdf
Necron F.A.Q. 4.0.1 says no.
The current Necron FAQ also says no.
i also say no...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/27 21:41:54
Subject: Re:WTF's UP WITH THE MONOLITH?!?!?!?!
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
usernamesareannoying wrote:MasterSlowPoke wrote:Shas'O Dorian wrote:http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-11_Edition.pdf
Necron F.A.Q. 4.0.1 says no.
The current Necron FAQ also says no.
i also say no...
Creed also says no.
Wait, I didn't want to say that. It must have taken some sort of tactical gen-CREEEEEDDD!!!!
|
Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|