Switch Theme:

Gate of infinity  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




1) The last post I read on this matter stated a yes, but can you use the power with teloport homers (homing beacons, whatever they are called)?

2) Can you gate out of melee?

The dice are just used to give people false hope that they have a chance of winning. Chance favors the prepared mind. 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






1) with a teleport homer, you would have to be wearing terminator armour, and even then, it's dubious whether Gate of Infinitry is teleporting since it never uses that word unlike the terminator armour.

I also think it's questionable with locator beacons whether the librarian and/or the squad he is with are truly "arriving on the battlefield" since they were already on it. Maybe someone else here can clarify more, but right now I would say no to both.

2) There's no reason you couldn't use the psychic power in the assault phase, so the question really relies on how you break up the rest of it, you aren't allowed to move when locked in close combat, and deep strike is a form of movement. However, nothing stops models locked in close combat from being removed from the table, so if you consider it to be two steps (1. remove from table, 2. deep strike) then by the time the deep strike rolls around they aren't locked anymore so it's not an issue.

YMMV here, but I would say yes you may use it from melee.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Locator beacons, yes. Teleport homers, i wouldn't think so. For much the same reasons Drunkspleen listed. I wouldn't call it teleportation unless it used the word.

Drunkspleen wrote:1) with a teleport homer, you would have to be wearing terminator armour, and even then, it's dubious whether Gate of Infinitry is teleporting since it never uses that word unlike the terminator armour.

I also think it's questionable with locator beacons whether the librarian and/or the squad he is with are truly "arriving on the battlefield" since they were already on it. Maybe someone else here can clarify more, but right now I would say no to both.

2) There's no reason you couldn't use the psychic power in the assault phase, so the question really relies on how you break up the rest of it, you aren't allowed to move when locked in close combat, and deep strike is a form of movement. However, nothing stops models locked in close combat from being removed from the table, so if you consider it to be two steps (1. remove from table, 2. deep strike) then by the time the deep strike rolls around they aren't locked anymore so it's not an issue.

YMMV here, but I would say yes you may use it from melee.

You can't use the psychic power in the Assault Phase, because it specifies which phase you use it in. Deepstrike follows immediately after they're removed. Having said that, and understanding that changes nothing about whether or not it can be performed, i really don't know the answer.

If it's any help, the INAT FAQs say no.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 08:13:47





 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Ridcully wrote:You can't use the psychic power in the Assault Phase, because it specifies which phase you use it in. Deepstrike follows immediately after they're removed. Having said that, and understanding that changes nothing about whether or not it can be performed, i really don't know the answer.

If it's any help, the INAT FAQs say no.

Oops, that's what I get for not checking my rules when answering questions, I obviously overlooked that it's used in the movement phase, although how I decided it would be an assault phase power is beyond me. I still stand by my conclusion though, the rules merely state that a unit locked in close combat cannot move during the movement phase, they can take other actions in the movement phase if relevant, and I think that includes activating a psychic power or being removed from the table.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I believe that the RaW do not allow Teleport Homers OR locator Beacons to help GoI, as the unit is not Arriving by Deepstrike, it is being placed by the Deep Strike Rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

And is referred to as a "deep strike attempt" in the same rule. I don't see any reason it shouldn't be allowed to function as a deep strike attempt.




 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ridcully wrote:And is referred to as a "deep strike attempt" in the same rule. I don't see any reason it shouldn't be allowed to function as a deep strike attempt.
I am not saying it is a deep strike attempt, I am saying the Locator Beacons state that they are used by Units Arriving on the battlefield by Deep Strike.
If a unit wishes to arrive on the battlefield via deep strike and chooses to do so within 6" of a model carrying a locator beacon, then it won't scatter.


If you are on the battlefield and use the power, you are hardly arriving by deep strike.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 11:14:26


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Did you mean to say "I am not saying it isn't a deep strike attempt"? Because the rules say it is.

Arriving suggests you weren't there and now you are. Having been removed from the board, then placed on the board; they certainly sound like they're 'arriving' to me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 11:21:49





 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ridcully wrote:Did you mean to say "I am not saying it isn't a deep strike attempt"? Because the rules say it is.
Sorry, yes, that is what I meant to say. I need to lrn2Grammar!

In any case, I think this a "Agree to disagree" situation. I can see your point, but do you see mine? If they were already on the battlefield, they are not arriving.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

I can see your point from a fluff perspective, yes. *evil laugh*




 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I tend to concur with Ridcully.

Teleport Homer- no.
Locator Beacon- I'd raise no objection.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

If you read the Deep Strike rules section carefully, you'll see that there are two separate concepts in there. One is Deep Strike the ability (i.e. Terminator Teleport, etc), and the other is deep strike the placement rules.

You do not Deep Strike when you use Gate of Infinity. You Gate, and use the deep strike rules to determine final placement. That's why Teleport Homers and Locator Beacons don't work for GoI. They both only work for Deep Striking units, which a unit arriving by GoI is not.

As to using it to leave assault, I believe it does. You are given permission to use the power in the movement phase, and the power itself is not movement, so there is no conflict. You are then told to remove your models from the table. Remove from table does not fit the given game definition of movement, so still no conflict. Last step is to resolve placement using the deep strike rules. This counts as movement, but as you are not locked to assault at this point it does not create a conflict.

That is my opinion, I understand the opposing points of view. Use what you and your opponent agree to. For what it's worth to you, the discussion I had with the official rules query person at GW is that it works to leave assault. Further, I was told the reason it works specifically is because 'remove from table' is not movement in game terms.

   
Made in ie
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





If you were to use a Locator Beacon with this would that mean you can't possibly lose someone when gating as there is no scatter?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 17:05:28


DR:80+S++G+MB--IPw40k00#-D++++A+++/aWD100R+T(D)DM++++

Church: So it is a sword, It just happens to function like a key in very specific situations.
Caboose: Or it's a key all the time, and when you stick it in people, it unlocks their death.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Thanatos_elNyx wrote:If you were to use a Locator Beacon with this would that mean you can't possibly loss someone when gating as there is no scatter?
It's not an issue because you cannot use a locator beacon with it

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Kaaihn's argument is a sound one.

I reverse my previous position. No homers OR beacons with Gate.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

It is a deep strike because it uses the rules and is referred to as a deep strike attempt. Any benefits of a deepstrike should therefore be available.

Thanatos_elNyx wrote:If you were to use a Locator Beacon with this would that mean you can't possibly lose someone when gating as there is no scatter?

That's correct, yes

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 20:16:31





 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ridcully wrote:It is a deep strike because it uses the rules and is referred to as a deep strike attempt. Any benefits of a deepstrike should therefore be available.
It might be a Deep Strike, but that's not what the Locator Beacon asks for. It asks for the models to Arrive by Deep Strike.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

These models are arriving by Deep Strike.

But let me throw out the might "agree to disagree" gesture

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 20:19:47





 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Kaaihn wrote:If you read the Deep Strike rules section carefully, you'll see that there are two separate concepts in there.


Ridcully wrote:These models are arriving by Deep Strike.

Kaaihn wrote:If you read the Deep Strike rules section carefully, you'll see that there are two separate concepts in there.



"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

kirsanth wrote:
Kaaihn wrote:If you read the Deep Strike rules section carefully, you'll see that there are two separate concepts in there.


Ridcully wrote:These models are arriving by Deep Strike.

Kaaihn wrote:If you read the Deep Strike rules section carefully, you'll see that there are two separate concepts in there.



Ridcully wrote:It is a deep strike because it uses the rules and is referred to as a deep strike attempt. Any benefits of a deepstrike should therefore be available.

Gwar! wrote:It might be a Deep Strike, but that's not what the Locator Beacon asks for. It asks for the models to Arrive by Deep Strike.

Ridcully wrote:These models are arriving by Deep Strike.


Seriously Kirsanth, what are you doing?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/28 20:27:56





 
   
Made in us
Secret Force Behind the Rise of the Tau




USA

I'm new at this, but doesn't it say in the rules for Gate of Infinity: Remove the pieces from the board (they are no longer in play, and as such are not "arrived" ) and to replace them using the deep strike rules? I agree no teleport homer cause the description for that gear specifically states teleport and terminator, but the locator beacon just says arrive by deep strike. Seeing as using Gate of Infinity removes your models from the table, replacing back on the table would mean they are arriving since they aren't already on the table. That's a deep strike arrival isn't it?

<-- again noob. I'm running circle sin my head here.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/28 20:36:01


   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Correct. Just because you don't follow every part of the Deepstrike section (this is what you guys are arguing, right?) to the letter does not mean you're performing something that isn't considered deepstrike- which in this case is explicitly a "deepstrike attempt". Otherwise Swooping Hawks, and any other unit that returns to reserve, would likewise be unable to meet every characteristic of a Deepstriking unit (ie. beginning the gaming in reserve).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 20:37:38





 
   
Made in us
Secret Force Behind the Rise of the Tau




USA

Yeah that's what I mean. You've basically used Gate of Infinity to remove your units from play, put them back into "reserve" with the attached requirement of you have to put them back into play using deep strike. The unit isn't in play, you ahve to remove them from the table to use the ability with rules as written so it is arriving.

   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

It's not even back into reserve as we know it, it's simply off the table. And now i have to go to work... <_<




 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

That's the way I play it too.
I figure using deep strike rules means...using deep strike rules!
If the librarian is in terminator armor, we even allow teleport homer.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Dominar






The RAW way I play it, yes, Locator Beacons + Gate works and yes, Gate can be used to leave combat.

GW rules aren't written with technical accuracy. Just look at Bjorn the Fel-Handed, a Dreadnought with a 5+ Invulnerable save that he can never use, ever, because he has no wounds.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Wouldn't he use the save in the same way that any vehicle would use a cover save?

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Alaska

time wizard wrote:Wouldn't he use the save in the same way that any vehicle would use a cover save?

No, since Invulnerable saves are only taken when a wound normally ignores all armor saves. Since he is a vehicle with no wounds, he can't take it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/28 23:20:08


Current Army: Too many freaking Jump Packs 1500
Gwar! wrote:The newb has it right.
 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

You can take cover saves against penetrating and glancing hits. Bjorn has an invulnerable save specifically ruled to be used against penetrating and glancing hits. I see no problem with this.

Invulnerable saves are designed to always be taken, regardless of the armour penetration of the weapon. There is no condition that they can only be taken against a wound that ignores all armour saves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/29 01:18:01





 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Alaska

Ridcully wrote:You can take cover saves against penetrating and glancing hits. Bjorn has an invulnerable save specifically ruled to be used against penetrating and glancing hits. I see no problem with this.

Invulnerable saves are designed to always be taken, regardless of the armour penetration of the weapon. There is no condition that they can only be taken against a wound that ignores all armour saves.

I just had this exact same debate with my friend not 5 minutes ago.

And as such, I am withdrawing my previous statement and going with I have no clue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/29 01:30:11


Current Army: Too many freaking Jump Packs 1500
Gwar! wrote:The newb has it right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: