Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 03:44:13
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi
Can a Kustom Force Field can be use if the Mek is in a vehicle ? Can it affect surrounding unit, and the vehicle it self or the model need to be outside ?
Many thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 03:45:30
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Yes.
The 6" are measured from the vehicles hull. The vehicle and everything within 6" of it's hull are protected.
|
The Battle Report Master wrote:i had a freind come round a few weeks ago to have a 40k apocalpocalpse game i was guards men he was space maines.... my first turn was 4 bonbaonbardlements... jacobs turn to he didnt have one i phased out. This space for rent, contact Gwar! for rights to this space.
Tantras wrote: Logically speaking, that makes perfect sense and I understand and agree entirely... but is it RAW? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 03:50:20
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The vehicle becomes obscured with a 4+ BRB page 62.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 05:53:31
Subject: Re:Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It may or may not work within a vehicle. The Ork codex came out January, 2008, but the item is not specified as working in vehicles. The Chaos Space Marines codex, which came out in 2007, explicitly states that icons work in vehicles. So, other codices which were being written at the time which had items which were clearly supposed to work from inside vehicles included wording to that effect. Even the Imperial Guard codex contains those rules for vehicles in which officers can give orders.
The rulebook says that measurements to embarked units are made to the vehicle's hull, without reservation. Vehicle explosions effect models within D6" of the exploding vehicle. So why would the Mekboy be out of range of a 6" explosion but the vehicle in range of the kustom force field?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 08:42:42
Subject: Re:Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
solkan wrote:It may or may not work within a vehicle. The Ork codex came out January, 2008, but the item is not specified as working in vehicles. The Chaos Space Marines codex, which came out in 2007, explicitly states that icons work in vehicles. So, other codices which were being written at the time which had items which were clearly supposed to work from inside vehicles included wording to that effect. Even the Imperial Guard codex contains those rules for vehicles in which officers can give orders.
The rulebook says that measurements to embarked units are made to the vehicle's hull, without reservation. Vehicle explosions effect models within D6" of the exploding vehicle. So why would the Mekboy be out of range of a 6" explosion but the vehicle in range of the kustom force field?
Sorry, but the rules are very, VERY clear on this. You measure to the Hull, as per page 66 of the BRB.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 13:53:06
Subject: Re:Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I love how people use things from a DIFFERENT codex to explain why something should or should not work. Almost as awesome as the "well THE FLUFF SAYS SO!!!" argument
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 14:23:18
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
I hate KFF. They give cover to everyone, but in a vehicle it's an instant obscured save. Which means even if you have something that negates cover, the battlewagon still gets its obscured.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/29 14:23:34
Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 14:25:37
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Lt Lathrop wrote:I hate KFF. They give cover to everyone, but in a vehicle it's an instant obscured save. Which means even if you have something that negates cover, the battlewagon still gets its obscured.
Whut? Things that ignore Cover saves Ignore Obscured. Being Obscured grants a 4+ COVER SAVE. If something Ignores Cover saves, it ignores obscured too.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/29 14:25:45
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 15:27:58
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
Does it count as area cover? So Ordinance would bypass it?
|
Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 15:55:18
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Lt Lathrop wrote:Does it count as area cover? So Ordinance would bypass it?
Ordnance does not Ignore Cover saves...
Are you thinking of Barrage? If so, they still get the cover save, as no matter where the Barrage hits from, they are counting as being in cover, just as if they were in Area Terrain.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 16:13:05
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
Gwar! wrote:Lt Lathrop wrote:Does it count as area cover? So Ordinance would bypass it?
Ordnance does not Ignore Cover saves...
Are you thinking of Barrage? If so, they still get the cover save, as no matter where the Barrage hits from, they are counting as being in cover, just as if they were in Area Terrain.
Yea, I meant Barrage... I always get them mixed up because most of the Guard vehicles have both. I am curious however, because obscured usually comes from being 50% covered from LoS, which would not constitute as area cover. Thus if you had a barrage weapon, you would shoot over the cover, and would skip a vehicles obscured save.
|
Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 16:16:39
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
But not from smoke. . . as it simply grants obscured status.
It could ignore the cover from area terrain - on a vehicle - as LOS comes from the blast marker.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/29 16:17:03
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 16:22:38
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
So, barrage weapons wouldn't work, but ones that specifically deny cover saves like Templates or a Collusus Seige Mortar (that specifically states cover saves cannot be taken). Even though these weapons would be stopped by a dome shield in the same manner as a barrage shot would...
Yea, I know real world physics v game world rules. It just drives me nutz here, because the KFF is really annoying when protecting a few battlewagons, and boys.
|
Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 16:39:04
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Lt Lathrop wrote:So, barrage weapons wouldn't work, but ones that specifically deny cover saves like Templates or a Collusus Seige Mortar (that specifically states cover saves cannot be taken). Even though these weapons would be stopped by a dome shield in the same manner as a barrage shot would...
Pretty much.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 18:15:02
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Its one of the reasons i still take an EML with my Dark reapers they're good at popping Ork Trucks even when they have a big mek in them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 19:16:42
Subject: Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Tri wrote:Its one of the reasons i still take an EML with my Dark reapers they're good at popping Ork Trucks even when they have a big mek in them.
It's one of the reasons why I just go ahead and take Maugan Ra:
a 36" range assault cannon that can ignore cover is pretty awesome.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/29 19:41:46
Subject: Re:Kustom Force Field in a vehicle ?
|
 |
Dominating Dominatrix
|
KingCracker wrote:I love how people use things from a DIFFERENT codex to explain why something should or should not work. Almost as awesome as the "well THE FLUFF SAYS SO!!!" argument
Cracker, I support your petition and all, but don't you dare make fun about "the fluff says so". .... damn. Did I stumble into YMDC again?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/29 19:58:31
|
|
 |
 |
|