| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/31 23:24:38
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
A rule question was raised about were reserves is going to come in when you have deployd in the spear-haed deployment.
some say the table edge is only the part were the deployment zone is, and some say its the whole table edge.
What do you think or how do you run it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/31 23:25:51
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Blackclad Wayfarer
From England. Living in Shanghai
|
It's the whole length of your table edge.
|
Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/31 23:27:52
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
Lukus83 is correct. Additionally, reserves may not enter from short table edges.
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/31 23:31:14
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Iron_Chaos_Brute wrote:Lukus83 is correct. Additionally, reserves may not enter from short table edges.
Unless they are outflanking.
But yes, all reserves that are not outflanking or using some other funky rule arrive from the full length of your long table edge.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/31 23:34:02
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
tanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 06:02:44
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
Gwar! wrote:Iron_Chaos_Brute wrote:Lukus83 is correct. Additionally, reserves may not enter from short table edges.
Unless they are outflanking.
But yes, all reserves that are not outflanking or using some other funky rule arrive from the full length of your long table edge.
Unless they don't arrive.
DUM
DUM
DUMMM...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/01 06:03:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 06:35:36
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Well they auto come in on 5th turn, so unless the opponet can form a blockade and you aren't able to deal with it thy will come in. Alternatively in that case they would be destroyed due to be supposed to and unable.
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 06:43:50
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They could turn up turn 5, DS mishap and get delayed until turn 6...which then doesnt happen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 20:18:20
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
psf3077 wrote:Well they auto come in on 5th turn, so unless the opponet can form a blockade and you aren't able to deal with it thy will come in. Alternatively in that case they would be destroyed due to be supposed to and unable.
There is no rule that says that Reserves are destroyed if they are unable to move onto the table. The rules simply don't cover the situation.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 21:55:47
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
insaniak wrote:psf3077 wrote:Well they auto come in on 5th turn, so unless the opponet can form a blockade and you aren't able to deal with it thy will come in. Alternatively in that case they would be destroyed due to be supposed to and unable.
There is no rule that says that Reserves are destroyed if they are unable to move onto the table. The rules simply don't cover the situation.
Unless they're deep striking on, in which case models still in reserve at the end of the game do indeed count as destroyed...........
Precedence for other units still in Reserve at the end of the game, perhaps?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 22:02:12
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
For non-Deep Striking reserves, you don't get to the end of the game without a house rule.
You get as far as the start of the first turn in which a Reserves unit has to move on, but can't.
The controlling player has a compulsory movement that he must complete. The rules give him no way to do so, and no alternative for situations where that movement is impossible.
Game comes to a crashing halt.
You need a house rule to either allow the player to skip this compulsory movement until it is possible or the game ends, to count the unit as destroyed and move on, or to allow the unit to move on regardless of the intervening enemy models.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/01 23:20:05
Subject: Reserves in spear-head deployment
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Sigh....... Yes, Insaniak, I know......
I also know what GW suggested (FAQed) once upon a time, when the same question arose regarding Space Puppy Scouts. Dead. Good enough for me. But that was indeed long ago and far away and anyone and eceryone now needs to figure out just how they are going to play it. Fortunately, most larger tourneys and even my (rather large, 80+ members, I think) local club use the INAT, which provides us with an answer. Dead. Again, good enough for me.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|