Switch Theme:

[SM] Thunderfire Cannon - Subterranean Blast  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Tremor-
Any unit hit by a subterranean blast will move as if in difficult terrain in its following Movement phase. If the unit is actually moving through difficult terrain, it rolls one less dice than normal to determine its maximum move. A vehicle hit by a Tremor shell must take a dangerous terrain test if it moves in the following Movement phase. This even applies to skimmers, whose delicate grav-engines are pummeled by shockwaves.


If I am running at least 2x TFC and both fire the Subterranean blast at the same unit, do both effects occur?
So, I guess what I'm asking is, do the effects stack?

I fire one TFC, get a hit.
The unit will move as if in difficult terrain
I fire the second TFC get a hit
1 less dice for movement?

(Presuming the unit hit doesn't have Move Through Cover.)
1) If a unit in "the open" is hit by 2 different Tremor rounds(from 2x TFC), do they roll 1d6 for movement?

2) If a unit in "difficult terrain" is hit by 2 different Tremor rounds(from 2x TFC), are they allowed to move at all? 2D6 -1D6 -1D6 = 0D6.

I wasn't sure if there were separate instances of the ability on the unit or what as I've never seen anyone ask about it.
I was looking at it and thought "Wait, if I have 3x TFC and each hit is -1D6(so -3D6) think about being able to effectively "pin" a unit of Warriors or Thunder wolves in your opponents deployment zone"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/04 19:18:45


Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

I don't believe subsequent hits would 'stack' but admittedly there is nothing in the rules one way or the other. I think this is an example of rule WYSIWYG where you get what the rule says and nothing more. However, if a unit with move through cover is in difficult terrain and is hit, I think it would roll 2D6 its next movement phase rather than 3D6.
If subsequent tremor hits would pin a unit or immobilize a vehicle, I think the rule would have to reflect this.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







paidinfull wrote:
Tremor-
Any unit hit by a subterranean blast will move as if in difficult terrain in its following Movement phase. If the unit is actually moving through difficult terrain, it rolls one less dice than normal to determine its maximum move. A vehicle hit by a Tremor shell must take a dangerous terrain test if it moves in the following Movement phase. This even applies to skimmers, whose delicate grav-engines are pummeled by shockwaves.


If I am running at least 2x TFC and both fire the Subterranean blast at the same unit, do both effects occur?
So, I guess what I'm asking is, do the effects stack?

I fire one TFC, get a hit.
The unit will move as if in difficult terrain
I fire the second TFC get a hit
1 less dice for movement?

(Presuming the unit hit doesn't have Move Through Cover.)
1) If a unit in "the open" is hit by 2 different Tremor rounds(from 2x TFC), do they roll 1d6 for movement?

2) If a unit in "difficult terrain" is hit by 2 different Tremor rounds(from 2x TFC), are they allowed to move at all? 2D6 -1D6 -1D6 = 0D6.

I wasn't sure if there were separate instances of the ability on the unit or what as I've never seen anyone ask about it.
I was looking at it and thought "Wait, if I have 3x TFC and each hit is -1D6(so -3D6) think about being able to effectively "pin" a unit of Warriors or Thunder wolves in your opponents deployment zone"


no, because tremor shot specifically states that the unit moves "as if" in difficult terrain, and only rolls one less die if it "is actually" in difficult terrain

you could shoot 100 thunderfires at a unit in the open, and they would just move as if in difficult terrain (normally 2d6, pick the highest) and you could shoot 100 thunderfires at a unit already in difficult terrain and they would just roll 1 less die, (normally 2d6, now 1d6 pick the highest)

THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Demogerg is 100% spot on.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Ok so that was 1 question.
What about if they are actually in terrain?
Are the -1D6 cumulative?

So 3x TFC = 3x Sub effect hits on a unit in difficult terrain... -3d6?

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Demogerg wrote: and you could shoot 100 thunderfires at a unit already in difficult terrain and they would just roll 1 less die, (normally 2d6, now 1d6 pick the highest)

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

paidinfull wrote: Ok so that was 1 question.
What about if they are actually in terrain?
Are the -1D6 cumulative?

No, they are not.
paidinfull wrote:So 3x TFC = 3x Sub effect hits on a unit in difficult terrain... -3d6?

No, 3x (or 4x or 5x, etc) still results in the unit rolling 1 less die.
So normal unit roll 1D6, move through cover unit rolls 2D6.
The rule for tremor would have to specify that the effects of multiple blasts would stack.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: