Switch Theme:

Ramming, exploding and passengers actions thereafter.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I just need to get something straight in my head.

Imagine the following scenario;

A Trukk (with Reinforced Ram) loaded with Meganobz decides to ram a Land Raider.
The Trukk smashes itself to pieces against the sides of the Land Raider. The Land Raider snickers.
The Trukk is Wrecked. Rolls a Kaboom result on the Ramshackle table.
No Meganobs are killed by the explosion and they go on to pass their Pinning test.

Now the question.

Does anything prevent the Meganobs from shooting ("coz it soundz gud, hur hur") or assaulting the Land Raider?



EDIT.

Due to several issues I hadn't thought of, the pertinent question is changed to:

"Can a unit whose transport is destroyed during a ram, shoot or attack the vehicle their transport rammed?"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/05 15:02:06


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






I would say they can definatly shoot as they aren't pinned. As far as assaulting I would say it depends on whether they would normally have been able to had the ram not done anything to either vehicle.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






i cant check right now but i believe the ability of a trukk to ram is questionable (goes with the ram = tankshock argument, see: Deffrollas).

That being said, to the best of my knowledge they could shoot and even assault.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

It's not questionable, it's confirmed. A trukk cannot ram.

Edit: Not even with a reinforced ram. Only tanks can ram, and a trukk ain't a tank.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/05 14:30:04


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




I know that comparisons from other codices are always suspect, but the Torture Amp that allows DE Raiders to tank shock does not allow them to ram, as per the GW FAQ for DE.
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle







Wow this question is loaded!

First to answer the question we must ignore the "can trukks ram?" debate the question invokes.

Ramming vehicles must always move at the highest speed it is capable of. For trukks, this is "flat out".

Passengers may not disembark or shoot from a vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that Movement phase.

Kaboom! requires passengers to disembark.

Thus, we have to now ignore the question"are they are able to disembark in light of the conflicting rules above?" to answer question of whether they can they shoot and/or assault.

Nothing in RAW prevents them at this point. Models disembarked from an open-topped vehicle are not prohibited from shooting or assaulting. However, normally they would not be able to shoot or assault because they would not be able to disembark from the flat-out vehicle.

So the last debate is RAW vs. RAI they shouldn't be able to based on speed, but we have constructed a highly questionable situation to start with.

MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Sorry utan, but the "can trukks ram" question is central to the entire debate.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle







Well certainly, but that has been debated ad nauseum along with the deff rolla question.

Neither side of the debate has been satisfied with the answer so some play yes they can ram with a ram, others play no they cannot.

Obviously in Steelmage's area, they allow trukks to ram so we move into the next debate of can the orks make an involuntary disembark from the trukk despite moving flat out?

That is another entire debate which I have seen ponderous threads. This answer is also unclear.

Leading to the third question, which Steelmage proposed: can the meganobs do anything after the controversial ram and disembark?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/05 14:51:09


MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

If you are going to allow the ram, the unit cannot disembark.

See "Fast Transport Vehicles" on page 70.

But, I do not understand how it would be allowed in the first place.
/shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I am sorry if a opened up several cans of worms. That wasn't my intention.


Would anything be changed if I changed my original question to the following;

"Can a unit whose transport is destroyed during a ram, shoot or attack the vehicle their transport rammed?"

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

If the transport did not move flat out, they can shoot at whatever they like.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle







Steelmage99 wrote:
"Can a unit whose transport is destroyed during a ram, shoot or attack the vehicle their transport rammed?"


If a "generic" open-topped transport tank was destroyed or exploded during a ram, and the passengers can disembark safely without being pinned, they could then normally act in the subsequent phases subject to the normal rules for a unit that moved in the movement phase.

MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: