| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:05:56
Subject: Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
Lost Carcosa
|
So doing my routiene reading of the rules and discussion with friends, ive come across some questions id like to bring here to get a feel if my train of thought is indeed correct.
My questions are in reguards to a Space Marine Squad of 10 models and a purchased Razorback. If I choose to hold both in reserve, obviously the squad numbers to many models to be carried by the Razorback.
Question 1: Do you roll to arrive from reserves seperatly then? This question arrises from pg. 94, 1st colum, 6th paragraph down of the BRB. "..the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserves is carrying any of the infantry units/or independant characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together." Since they cannot be carried by the transport, as they number to many models, my inclination is that they would be rolled for seperatly. Is this a correct intrepretation?
Question 2: If the above selection comes in from Reserves at the same time (reguardless of how), can the Razorback only move around 6" if it wants a Combat Squad from the 10 man unit to be inside of it? My reason for this question is based on the following. Pg 94, 2nd colum, 1st paragraph under "Arriving from Reserve". Also, that Space Marines declare Combat Squads when the unit is deployed. Going with that, my BRB refence reads "When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge ... each models move is measured from the edge of the battlefield.." Combined with BRB Pg. 66, first bullet point under "Embarking". "If the vehicle moved before its passengers got aboard, it may not move any further.."
With question 2 my reading is telling me that if the above Marine Squad is held in reserves with a Razorback, and they arrive together, that even if Combat Squaded upon deployment, the vehicle cannot have moved more then around 6" as the marines would have to Embark during the movement phase, and vehicle will have moved in said phase automatically due to its own deployment, and will have to remain in a position that the squad could have gotten within 2" a the end of its (the squads) move.
My 3rd question is based around dedicated transports, specifically Drop Pods. I know that you can deploy the pod empty, so its not based around that specifically. However, I was just making sure that when it comes to declaring reserves, that both the pod and the unit it was purchased for are indeed considered sperate units at this stage, even though they take up only a single spot on the FOC.
Example: A squad that purchased a drop pod is allowed to start the game deployed on the board, whilist the pod is held in reserves awaiting to DS. Thats my interpretation of what can be done. However, I have also heard it interpreted that both the squad and the pod would have to be held in reserves, although the squad would be allowed to walk on from the board edge while the pod can DS as normal.
Discuss away. Am I correct? If not, please point me in the right direction!
|
Standing in the light, I see only darkness. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:21:44
Subject: Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Marius Xerxes wrote:So doing my routiene reading of the rules and discussion with friends, ive come across some questions id like to bring here to get a feel if my train of thought is indeed correct. My questions are in reguards to a Space Marine Squad of 10 models and a purchased Razorback. If I choose to hold both in reserve, obviously the squad numbers to many models to be carried by the Razorback. Question 1: Do you roll to arrive from reserves seperatly then? This question arrises from pg. 94, 1st colum, 6th paragraph down of the BRB. "..the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserves is carrying any of the infantry units/or independant characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together." Since they cannot be carried by the transport, as they number to many models, my inclination is that they would be rolled for seperatly. Is this a correct intrepretation?
Yes, you will have to roll for them seperatly, as you cannot possibly be embarked on it. Question 2: If the above selection comes in from Reserves at the same time (reguardless of how), can the Razorback only move around 6" if it wants a Combat Squad from the 10 man unit to be inside of it? My reason for this question is based on the following. Pg 94, 2nd colum, 1st paragraph under "Arriving from Reserve". Also, that Space Marines declare Combat Squads when the unit is deployed. Going with that, my BRB refence reads "When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge ... each models move is measured from the edge of the battlefield.." Combined with BRB Pg. 66, first bullet point under "Embarking". "If the vehicle moved before its passengers got aboard, it may not move any further.."
What you must do is move the Razorback on first, then deploy the combat squads, moving one to within 2" and embarking. The Razorback will not be able to move any further that turn. My 3rd question is based around dedicated transports, specifically Drop Pods. I know that you can deploy the pod empty, so its not based around that specifically. However, I was just making sure that when it comes to declaring reserves, that both the pod and the unit it was purchased for are indeed considered sperate units at this stage, even though they take up only a single spot on the FOC.
Yes, they are separate units, just like every other unit with a dedicated transport.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/13 01:22:11
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:23:40
Subject: Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Marius Xerxes wrote:Question 1: Do you roll to arrive from reserves seperatly then?
Yes.
Last edition, you rolled for the FoC slot as one. This edition, you roll for each individual unit. So unless you specify that a unit is arriving in its transport, they'll be arriving as two separate units, and so need two separate rolls.
Question 2: If the above selection comes in from Reserves at the same time (reguardless of how), can the Razorback only move around 6" if it wants a Combat Squad from the 10 man unit to be inside of it?
There is no way that the Razorback could arrive with the Combat Squad already inside. You would need to move the Razorback on, then move the Marine Squad on. They can split into Combat Squads as they arrive, so you can move one combat squad to within 2" of the Razorback and embark them.
So yes. Ish. The transport doesn't specifically have to move only 6", but it does need to be in a position where the combat squad can move to within embarking range.
My 3rd question is based around dedicated transports, specifically Drop Pods. I know that you can deploy the pod empty, so its not based around that specifically. However, I was just making sure that when it comes to declaring reserves, that both the pod and the unit it was purchased for are indeed considered sperate units at this stage, even though they take up only a single spot on the FOC.
The FoC plays no part in Reserves any more. You declare Reserves on a per unit basis, and there is no requirement for all of a given FoC slot to be held in Reserve if a part of it is so held.
So yes, you can deploy the squad and hold the pod in Reserve.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:27:34
Subject: Re:Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
Designating reserves is a part of deployment. You can organize your reserves however you like subject the restriction that only the unit that bought a dedicated transport can start the game in it. So you can split the squad in reserves putting one combat squad in the razorback and having the other walk in (or deploy on the board). The combat squad and razorback would then be rolled for as one unit and the other combat squad will likewise be a separate unit. You could always deploy them on the board with one combat squad inside the razorback and the other somewhere else.
You couldn't roll for the full 10-man squad and the razorback together since the 10-man squad couldn't deploy inside the razorback. You are correct in that case, but with a razorback you'll almost always split the squad and this wouldn't be an issue.
For the drop pod, if you specify that it's coming in empty then you never have to worry about what the squad is doing. They're completely separate unit.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:30:52
Subject: Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Marius Xerxes wrote:
Question 1: Do you roll to arrive from reserves seperatly then? This question arrises from pg. 94, 1st colum, 6th paragraph down of the BRB. "..the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserves is carrying any of the infantry units/or independant characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together." Since they cannot be carried by the transport, as they number to many models, my inclination is that they would be rolled for seperatly. Is this a correct intrepretation?
You would have to declare that the razorback is being held in reserve empty, since on page 94 the rules say you must specify if a transport vehicle is carrying any infantry unit or IC, and as you pointed out, since the razorback cannot hold the full 10 man squad, it must be held in reserve empty, and it and the squad it was selected for will roll for arrival separately.
Marius Xerxes wrote: Question 2: If the above selection comes in from Reserves at the same time (reguardless of how), can the Razorback only move around 6" if it wants a Combat Squad from the 10 man unit to be inside of it? My reason for this question is based on the following. Pg 94, 2nd colum, 1st paragraph under "Arriving from Reserve". Also, that Space Marines declare Combat Squads when the unit is deployed. Going with that, my BRB refence reads "When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge ... each models move is measured from the edge of the battlefield.." Combined with BRB Pg. 66, first bullet point under "Embarking". "If the vehicle moved before its passengers got aboard, it may not move any further.."
With question 2 my reading is telling me that if the above Marine Squad is held in reserves with a Razorback, and they arrive together, that even if Combat Squaded upon deployment, the vehicle cannot have moved more then around 6" as the marines would have to Embark during the movement phase, and vehicle will have moved in said phase automatically due to its own deployment, and will have to remain in a position that the squad could have gotten within 2" a the end of its (the squads) move.
If the razorback and the 10 man tac squad arrive at the same time, they have to move onto the table individually. If you want to split the tac squad into 2 combat squads, they are separate units from that point on, and again, each would move onto the table separately. If you move the razorback on first, then move on the tac squads, you could move one of the squads 6" towards the razorback, you would move within 2" of an access point, and you could embark the squad. The transport would not move any further because once you start moving the combat squad, you can't go back and move the razorback.
Marius Xerxes wrote: My 3rd question is based around dedicated transports, specifically Drop Pods. I know that you can deploy the pod empty, so its not based around that specifically. However, I was just making sure that when it comes to declaring reserves, that both the pod and the unit it was purchased for are indeed considered sperate units at this stage, even though they take up only a single spot on the FOC.
Example: A squad that purchased a drop pod is allowed to start the game deployed on the board, whilist the pod is held in reserves awaiting to DS. Thats my interpretation of what can be done. However, I have also heard it interpreted that both the squad and the pod would have to be held in reserves, although the squad would be allowed to walk on from the board edge while the pod can DS as normal.
Again, the pod is a dedicated transport, so if kept in reserve, you have to declare whether it is being held in reserve either empty or with its selected unit. If you are going to hold it in reserve empty, then the unit that selected it could deploy normally or be held in reserve.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:33:40
Subject: Re:Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Arschbombe wrote:Designating reserves is a part of deployment. You can organize your reserves however you like subject the restriction that only the unit that bought a dedicated transport can start the game in it. So you can split the squad in reserves putting one combat squad in the razorback and having the other walk in (or deploy on the board).
Nope, can't do it.
The Combat Squads rule says that the squad is split 'when the unit is deployed'
The Reserves entry says that the player 'may choose not to deploy one or more of the units in their army and instead leave them in reserve.'
So whilst the decision to keep the squad in reserve is made during the 'Deploy Forces' step, putting a unit in reserve does not count as deploying them. It is done instead of deploying them.
You can't split them until they are actually deployed.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:35:16
Subject: Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
insaniak is correct.
BTW, when did you become a mod?
-Needs to cut down on the Rum-
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/13 01:41:02
Subject: Re:Some Dedicated Transport Q's
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
Lost Carcosa
|
Thanks for the responces. Thats exactly how I interpreted it was to be played (GWAR and Insaniak). But always good to put it before ones peers to be sure nothing has suddenly misfired in my brain after all the Codeci and rules taken in over the years and editions.
With the Razorback moving 6", thats why I said around. As long as the units movement ends it within 2" I knew it would be ok. Just wanted to simplfy it for the discussion.
Thanks again
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/13 01:42:07
Standing in the light, I see only darkness. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|
|