Switch Theme:

Does Skyleap Remove an Enemy Unit from the Table?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Death-Dealing Devastator






My friend and I have an ongoing arguement about the Swooping Hawk Exarch's Skyleap power. He told me that it allows the Swooping Hawks to remove an enemy unit from the table and place them in reserve. I read the rule in the codex and interpreted the rule as: the Swooping Hawks themselves can leave the table and go into reserve.

Which of us may I ask is correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/13 10:04:52


Blood Ravens W: 5 D: 3 L: 5
Argent Castellans: Ideating on a new non-codex chapter.
"It is only fitting that we ride into battle!"
Imperial Guard soon.  
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






"With a great shout, the Exarch and his squad launch high into the sky. The player may elect to remove a unit with Skyleap from the table in its Movement Phase, placing it in reserve. "
Your friend can't read.
   
Made in au
Death-Dealing Devastator






Thought so, sometimes he can be so stubborn. I don't think that would be a very sound tactical manouver for the Hawks anyway, spear tackling a bunch of Space Marines and taking them hang-gliding across the battlefield. I think it's just worded badly "removing a unit" it would be better worded if it said "removing the unit"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/13 10:12:56


Blood Ravens W: 5 D: 3 L: 5
Argent Castellans: Ideating on a new non-codex chapter.
"It is only fitting that we ride into battle!"
Imperial Guard soon.  
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




go to games-workshop.com and look at the army and rulebook FAQ's under the gaming tab. then download and study the eldar FAQ

keeping track since nov 08
w/l/d
Eldar 31/3/3
BA 5/0/2

Fighting Eldar is like trying to hold onto a fish... Except the fish is holding a brick... And every time you're not expecting it, it beats you with the brick. Enter the Eldar.
 
   
Made in au
Death-Dealing Devastator






My friend just read this thread, he misinterpreted your comment as well, Gorkamorka, he's convinced that you've just said he's right... I may have to resort to going into GW with a video camera and asking one of the guys... This just further justifies that he can't read...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/13 10:49:37


Blood Ravens W: 5 D: 3 L: 5
Argent Castellans: Ideating on a new non-codex chapter.
"It is only fitting that we ride into battle!"
Imperial Guard soon.  
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Removing a unit with Skyleap is not the same as removing a unit with a unit with Skyleap. The former is how the rule is written and interpreted, the latter is nonsense.

Your friend is incorrect.

DoW


"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

"remove a unit with skyleap" means remove a unit that has skyleap.
It does not mean remove a unit by using skyleap. I see where he's getting his misinterpretation, but one has to be almost willfully trying to misinterpret the rule to come to his conclusion.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!






don_mondo wrote:"remove a unit with skyleap" means remove a unit that has skyleap.
It does not mean remove a unit by using skyleap. I see where he's getting his misinterpretation, but one has to be almost willfully trying to misinterpret the rule to come to his conclusion.

Because we've never seen anyone do that before. Lol.

Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade






Bristol, UK

The Swooping Hawks themselves can leave the table.

No other unit can leave the game and be placed in reserve.

Only the Swooping Hawks unit; with the Exarch; with the Skyleap power.

I hope your friend is happy with himself, for CHEATING for so long.

   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






don_mondo wrote:"remove a unit with skyleap" means remove a unit that has skyleap.
It does not mean remove a unit by using skyleap. I see where he's getting his misinterpretation, but one has to be almost willfully trying to misinterpret the rule to come to his conclusion.

And ignore other rules, since he has to do it during the opponents movement phase.

"remove a unit with Skyleap from the table" =/= "remove a unit from the table with skyleap"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/13 17:51:14


 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Dallas, TX

Is that your friend I hear laughing in the background?



Ultramarines Second Company - ~4000 points

Dark Eldar WIP - ~800 points

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: