Switch Theme:

C'tan vs Gift of chaos  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Desperado Corp.

Looking at the 'crons codex, i figured that instant death weapons (it says wraithcannon, but as an updated rule, it would probably be all instant death weapons(it's under the Necrodermis entry) correct me if i'm wrong) would only cause one wound, rather than instant death. However, my chaos playing friend thinks gift of chaos would cause instant spawn, rather than a single wound. So, am I right in thinking that it would cause a single wound? Or am i wrong (again) and it actually causes instant spawn on a 6, regardless of wounds left ?

Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Well it's unlucky, but IMHO, Gift of Chaos would work on a C'tan, spawnifyling him instantly.
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

The way the rule is worded...
"If a wraithcannon inflicts instant death n a C'tan, it will not be transported to the warp..."
That leads me to believe that this rule is instead specific to wraithcannons only. Since this is what wraithcannons do, they shoot people in the warp, that's why it's instant death. The C'tan doesn't get 'Warped' so it's immune to that particular brand of instant death, and that one only.
It doesn't have Eternal Warrior or anything, so any other instant death would work on the C'tan, and spawning certainly would as well.
Unless a FAQ/Errata says otherwise.

Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Gift of Chaos is not a Wraithcannon. Gift of Chaos works against C'Tan just fine.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

This used to be covered in the FAQ. Seems to have been removed in 5th. Basically it stated that the C'Tan necrodermis would be altered into a Spawn for the remainder of the game but it is assumed that, after the battle, the Necrodermis would eventually reshape itself and kill the Sorcerer.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: