Switch Theme:

Going to Ground on Objectives  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




This came up in my game last night and (surprising to me) raised a question.

Can troops that have 'gone to ground' claim an objective?

I had a mob of 20 Orks disembark in ruins, slaughter a squad of Marine scouts, and objective sit through two turns of enemy fire. My opponent said that he had been at tournaments where troops 'gone to ground' could not claim/hold objectives. Since I could, I just had them stand up and 'take it like a man' for turn 5 - but am I misunderstanding this one?

(I think it is prob just an 'old' rule from another edition.)
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






I don't see anything that suggests that going to ground affects your relationship to objectives or scoring, unless I'm missing something.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/22 20:20:31


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Lostboyz wrote:Can troops that have 'gone to ground' claim an objective?
Short Answer: Yes.

Long Answer: Yes.

Really Long Answer: Yes and anyone who thinks otherwise is crazy and needs to be "introduced" to Mr. Brick and Mrs. Pillowcase.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Nothing at all in the rules for them not to claim.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I guess they were thinking of pinned or fleeing (or dead)!

I will put the big lead Ork Dreadnaught & Sock in my army bag.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Pinned wouldn't have any effect as it is basically the same thing as gone to ground...............

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean






Venice, Florida

Gwar! wrote:Really Long Answer: Yes and anyone who thinks otherwise is crazy and needs to be "introduced" to Mr. Brick and Mrs. Pillowcase.

Doesn't the rulebook restrict us to Mr. Dreadnought and Mrs. Sock?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/23 04:06:41


Thor665's Dark Eldar Tactica - A comprehensive guide to all things DE (Totally finished...till I update bits and pieces!)
Thor665's battle reports DE vs. assorted armies.
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast It's a podcast, about Dark Eldar.
Dashofpepper wrote:Thor665 is actually a Dark Eldar god, manifested into electronic bytes and presented here on dakkadakka to bring pain and destruction to all lesser races. Read his tactica, read his forums posts, and when he deigns to critique or advise you directly, bookmark it and pay attention.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Thor665 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Really Long Answer: Yes and anyone who thinks otherwise is crazy and needs to be "introduced" to Mr. Brick and Mrs. Pillowcase.

Doesn't the rulebook restrict us to Mr. Dreadnought and Mrs. Sock?
TMIR lets us house rule it

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

I thought that pinned units couldn't claim an objective and that going to ground = pinned.

Clarification please?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/23 07:55:50


We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Aya wrote:I thought that pinned units couldn't claim an objective and that going to ground = pinned.

Clarification please?

Can you show me where you got the idea? The rules for Pinning and Going to Ground don't mention objectives or scoring, and the rules for scoring, objectives and game types don't mention pinning or going to ground either.
Unless I'm missing something.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/11/23 08:04:54


 
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

Gorkamorka wrote:
Aya wrote:I thought that pinned units couldn't claim an objective and that going to ground = pinned.

Clarification please?

Can you show me where you got the idea? The rules for Pinning and Going to Ground don't mention objectives or scoring, and the rules for scoring, objectives and game types don't mention pinning or going to ground either.
Unless I'm missing something.


I sadly do not have my rule book on me (my friend stole it >_&gt but I believe it's in the section for pinning that it says a a pinned unit can't claim an objective. Again, lacking a rule book at the moment I''m not totally positive. Thats why I asked

We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




Aya wrote:
Gorkamorka wrote:
Aya wrote:I thought that pinned units couldn't claim an objective and that going to ground = pinned.

Clarification please?

Can you show me where you got the idea? The rules for Pinning and Going to Ground don't mention objectives or scoring, and the rules for scoring, objectives and game types don't mention pinning or going to ground either.
Unless I'm missing something.


I sadly do not have my rule book on me (my friend stole it >_&gt but I believe it's in the section for pinning that it says a a pinned unit can't claim an objective. Again, lacking a rule book at the moment I''m not totally positive. Thats why I asked


Nope. In the brb the rules for pinning do not mention objectives.

Life Sucks Press On.
In order of collection:
Space Marines
Necrons
Renegade Guardsmen
Dark Eldar 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

One of the many situations where "It doesn't say i can't" is a completely valid point. It's covered by the broader rules unless stated otherwise.




 
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

Ridcully wrote:One of the many situations where "It doesn't say i can't" is a completely valid point. It's covered by the broader rules unless stated otherwise.


Sorry mate but that answers absolutely zero questions.

We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Aya wrote:
Ridcully wrote:One of the many situations where "It doesn't say i can't" is a completely valid point. It's covered by the broader rules unless stated otherwise.


Sorry mate but that answers absolutely zero questions.

Huh? This was a reply to the OP. It adds just as much serious information as other posts in this thread.




 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Ridcully wrote:
Aya wrote:
Ridcully wrote:One of the many situations where "It doesn't say i can't" is a completely valid point. It's covered by the broader rules unless stated otherwise.


Sorry mate but that answers absolutely zero questions.

Huh? This was a reply to the OP. It adds just as much serious information as other posts in this thread.


If you don't want to get chased by a bunch of torch wielding RaW fanatics, you really want to say "The rules say you can, and nothing else which applies says you can't".

That other thing you wrote isn't the same thing.
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

No, what i wrote is crystal clear. It's people using "'It doesn't say i can't' isn't an argument" at every turn, without showing why you can't under the broader rules, that need correcting. Unless the rules for going to ground say you CAN'T then it follows the general rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/23 12:00:07





 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle





Can we get back to Mr. Brick and Mrs. Pillowcase?

This is a little story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody, and Nobody.
There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.
Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.
Somebody got angry about that because it was Everybody's job.
Everybody thought that Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn't do it.
It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have done.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Sanctjud wrote:Can we get back to Mr. Brick and Mrs. Pillowcase?
I approve and endorse this persons product and/or service!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






Pinning on page 31 of the BRB says nothing to the effect of not being able to claim an objective, and it also states that pinning is the same as Going to ground, though it is forced by failing a leadership test. When you go to ground, you gain a Cover save if you didn't have one, or improve you're cover save by one, though you can do nothing the following turn with that unit. But it states nothing to the Objective matter. (going to ground on page 24 of the BRB)


Objectives However are covered by Mission types. Page 90 of the BRB you have "Scoring Units" which counts troops as the only units who count for "Scoring" their are very few things that disallow a unit from "Scoring" they are

If it is a vehicle ( I.E. tau devilish)
if it has the swarm special rule (I.E Ripper Swarms)
if it has a special rule specifying it never counts as a scoring unit (I.E Fenrisian Wolves)

So even there pinning would not effect the counting. However under Victory Conditions, it states that you "Control" an objective if you're scoring unit is within 3" of a objective and no enemy units withing 3" of the objective. The two Objective battles of course are Seize Ground, and Capture and Control.


So There ya go, Pinning or Going to ground in no way effects scoring an objective.




(btw Seize ground, and capture and control are on page 91 ^^)

Never Say Die. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Just to nitpick, your use of "I.E." should actually be "i.e."

And in actual fact, it should be "e.g.", as Devilfish are not the only vehicles, Rippers are not the only Swarms and Fenrisian Wolves are not the only unit with such a rule

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






hey now, you are the founder of Mr. Brick and Mrs. Pillowcase! so C'mon,

Actually the examples im putting forward were just that, In example.

Devilfish count under the Troops in the Tau Codex, and are a vehicle thus they cannot claim the objective.
and the Fenrisian wolves can be made troops, but have the special rule that disallows them from claiming the objective.
and im not sure if ripper swarms are troops, i just used them cause i know scarab swarms are not, and they both have the swarm rule!



So aye, im useing I.E as In Example! but i suppose i can lowercase em

Never Say Die. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Latin_phrases:_I#id_est

id est (i.e.) "that is" "That is (to say)" in the sense of "that means" and "which means", or "in other words", or sometimes "in this case", depending on the context; may be followed by a comma, or not, depending on style (American English and British English respectively). It is often misinterpreted as "in example". In this situation, e.g. should be used instead.

You owe me a beer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/24 04:11:16


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






Well as i am one of the Wolves of Russ, i have plenty o beer/alcohol to spare, so that is no problem

However i use I.E as "in example" and i speak broken English

Never Say Die. 
   
Made in us
Freelance Soldier






Well, then, pup, it is time to learn that 'i.e.' = 'in effect'. This means a specific mention of the whole of a grouping.

The effect you were going for is more in line with the 'e.g.' = 'example given'. This shows one of more than one item that may fit into the parameters laid down by the example.

The Cog Collective
DR:70S+G+M++B--IPw40k87#+D++A++/sWD80R+T(D)DM+

Warmachine: 164 points painted Cygnar 11-62-0 Circle of Orboros 0-13-0

Painted 40K: 3163 1500 225

"Machete don't text." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: