Switch Theme:

KFF Mek and fixing vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





LaLa Land

I read a post which gave someone the advice of "If you had a Big Mek in a vehicle you can fix other vehicles in base to base with the vehicle the Mek is in". I think this is a liberal interpatation of the rules (not to mention a little over powered as he can fix weapon destroyed results also). As it says "models the Mek is in base to base with" and just because the Mek is in the transport I don't think it makes the transport his new base. Although if this would work it would be frickan awsome and would switch up some of my taktics. Any one with clarification

Team Zero Comp
5th edition tourny record 85-32-16 (2010-12) 6th 18-16-4
check out my Orky City of Death http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/skipread/336388.page 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





If the big mek himself isnt in contact with a vehicle he cant repair it. Although you are allowed to measure certain effects from the edges of transports containing other units, things that require base to base contact, like being is assault, need you to actually be in base to base contact. A transport doesnt become a new base.

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Regwon wrote:If the big mek himself isnt in contact with a vehicle he cant repair it. Although you are allowed to measure certain effects from the edges of transports containing other units, things that require base to base contact, like being is assault, need you to actually be in base to base contact. A transport doesnt become a new base.

It's worth noting that the Mek rules also allow him to fix vehicles he is inside, unlike several other units in the game with repair powers that use only base contact.
But yes, he needs to be inside the vehicle or outside standing in contact with it to repair it.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





LaLa Land

I thought so. Thanks for the clarification.

Team Zero Comp
5th edition tourny record 85-32-16 (2010-12) 6th 18-16-4
check out my Orky City of Death http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/skipread/336388.page 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Just to throw in the other side... when this was discussed recently, there were a few people who felt that the rules allow for the 'fixing a vehicle in contact with the one he's in' interpretation, based on the rule allowing you to measure distances from the vehicle he's embarked in. Base contact is the same as measuring '0 inches'... so determining whether or not a model is in base contact is measurement.


That being said, I believe that requiring the model to actually be in base contact was the predominant view. The other interpretation leads to a few peculiarities, like being able to assault a unit inside a transport vehicle by charging the vehicle, and so probably isn't what was intended.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: