Switch Theme:

Assualt and Defensive Grenades  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

So the rules say that MODELS with frag grenades do not suffer the initiative penalty. So reading that only the models with assault grenades do not attack at initiative 1. But with Defensive grenades it says a unit attacking a unit with Defensive grenades do not gain an extra attack in the charge. So reading that I would suppose that if one of the models has Defensive grenades than the whole attacking unit loses the extra attack.

SO here's the what happened. My SM were assaulting a unit of Plague Bearers (no Defensive grenades) with and IC that had defensive grenades. Now in assaults IC's and the unit they are with are considered separate units. So would I of been correct that only the attacks directed at the IC lost the extra attack?

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







General_Chaos wrote:So the rules say that MODELS with frag grenades do not suffer the initiative penalty. So reading that only the models with assault grenades do not attack at initiative 1. But with Defensive grenades it says a unit attacking a unit with Defensive grenades do not gain an extra attack in the charge. So reading that I would suppose that if one of the models has Defensive grenades than the whole attacking unit loses the extra attack.

SO here's the what happened. My SM were assaulting a unit of Plague Bearers (no Defensive grenades) with and IC that had defensive grenades. Now in assaults IC's and the unit they are with are considered separate units. So would I of been correct that only the attacks directed at the IC lost the extra attack?
Only the individual models with OFFENSIVE grenades benefit, but if just 1 model has defensive grenades, the whole unit benefits.

The IC is NOT a separate unit, he is still attached to the unit and is part of that unit. He is just counted as a separate unit when allocating attacks. Nothing more.

In short, if the IC had Defensive Grenades, no-one in the assaulting unit gets the bonus attack, even if they allocate attacks towards the unit and not towards the IC.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/11/23 19:48:50


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

but the rule book says that when attacks are resolved the IC is a separate single-model unit?

*page 49 for those playing along at home*

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




General_Chaos wrote:but the rule book says that when attacks are resolved the IC is a separate single-model unit?

*page 49 for those playing along at home*


Correct. They've still assaulted that IC, regardless of whether or not they decide to allocate attacks to it.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

And the defensive grenades apply when charging, not when attacks are resolved - or even declared.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: