Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 15:55:26
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I played a few games against the wolves over the last few weeks and I ave a couple questions. I appoligize if these have been argued or talked to death so bear with me.
1. If Logan Grimmnar is in the army he makes Wolf guard troops. The wolf guard may be split up and attached to units. Does the wolf guard model in the unit (say longfangs) score?? I assume that he becomes part of said longfangs and longfangs dont score meaning the wolf guard model cant score. Just curious how people play this.
2. Wolf guard battle leader. He is allowed to take Saga of the Hunter (allows outflank). It says it may only be taken in model with power armour that has no jump pack or bike. It says nothing about the giant wolf the guy can ride. Do you think GW overlooked this, or they think it is ok to flank march the leader on a wolf decked out for hand to hand. Also, can he attch to the scouts that have that nasty snikrotesque trick. I understand that is a bit of a hot debate so I really am more interested in the being able to flank march a thunderwolf mounted Wolf guard battle leader.
3. Lukas the trickster. Not a common charachter I understand, but it says in the codex about his "Pelt of Doppegangrel" that any succesful to hit rolls specifically allocated against Lukas (not against the squad he is with) must be re-rolled. Now Lukas is not an Independant charachter he is a unit upgrade. My belief was you could not allocate hits against a non-IC. Does this mean his cloak doesnt come into play until he is the last surviving member of his squad?? This one is baffling me so if anyone knows what the intention was (or theory) please shed some light on this situatuion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 16:02:40
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Norbu the Destroyer wrote:1. If Logan Grimmnar is in the army he makes Wolf guard troops. The wolf guard may be split up and attached to units. Does the wolf guard model in the unit (say longfangs) score?? I assume that he becomes part of said longfangs and longfangs dont score meaning the wolf guard model cant score. Just curious how people play this.
They are part of the squad so no longer the same as the original unit.
2. Wolf guard battle leader. He is allowed to take Saga of the Hunter (allows outflank). It says it may only be taken in model with power armour that has no jump pack or bike. It says nothing about the giant wolf the guy can ride. Do you think GW overlooked this, or they think it is ok to flank march the leader on a wolf decked out for hand to hand. Also, can he attch to the scouts that have that nasty snikrotesque trick. I understand that is a bit of a hot debate so I really am more interested in the being able to flank march a thunderwolf mounted Wolf guard battle leader.
Only infantry can take the mark of the hunter (see page 64). Thunder wolves make the unit type cavalry
3. Lukas the trickster. Not a common charachter I understand, but it says in the codex about his "Pelt of Doppegangrel" that any succesful to hit rolls specifically allocated against Lukas (not against the squad he is with) must be re-rolled. Now Lukas is not an Independant charachter he is a unit upgrade. My belief was you could not allocate hits against a non-IC. Does this mean his cloak doesnt come into play until he is the last surviving member of his squad?? This one is baffling me so if anyone knows what the intention was (or theory) please shed some light on this situatuion.
The rule doesn't work until he's on his own ... hope GW fixes this
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/01 16:05:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 16:14:07
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) It states wolf guard UNITS are scoring, not wolf guard by themselves. Any Wolf Guard split off to another unit is not therefore a Wolf Guard Unit.
2) as above
3) Lukas the hunters cloak only works by himself really, so chances are you will not get to use it. You only take him fore the stasis bomb anyway....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 18:08:43
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
Tri has them all right.
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 19:16:25
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
It gives him protection against the Vindicare assassin and Tellion. Mind War too, I think.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 19:19:34
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Tellion assigns Wounds, not To Hit rolls.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/01 19:23:01
Subject: Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:It gives him protection against the Vindicare assassin and Tellion. Mind War too, I think.
Vindicare assassin and Tellion roll to hit against the unit and the choose who take the wound.
Mindwar doesn't roll to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/02 01:04:38
Subject: Re:Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Chaos Daemon Boon of Mutation power is an attack roll against a specific model, so the rule does have an application. Hurrah!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/02 03:13:28
Subject: Re:Couple wolf questions
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Thanks for the info folks. Kind of like I thought 1. No go on scoring 2. To good to be true for the wolves 3. GW screwed up with the cloak rule or came up with the ultimate anti- boon of mutation trick.
|
|
 |
 |
|