Switch Theme:

Cavalry question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

If you don't kill a small-based model that you hit with an impact attack, do you stop, or move over them just like a trample that misses or doesn't kill its target?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







From the MK2 PDF:

If a charging cavalry model contacts another model during
its movement and has moved at least 3 ˝, it stops and makes
impact attacks with its Mount (see “Mount,” previous)
against all models in the Mount’s melee range. The model
makes these attacks even if it is out of formation. Impact
attacks are simultaneous. After resolving the impact
attacks, the charging model resumes its charge movement.
It cannot make further impact attacks during this charge. If
the charging cavalry model did not move at least 3 ˝ before
contacting the other model, it does not make any impact
attacks and must stop its movement at that point. If the
cavalry model’s target is not in melee at the end of the
charge movement, the charge fails. If the charge target is
the first model contacted by the charging cavalry model, the
charging model can still make an impact attack against it.
A cavalry model gains +2 to charge attack rolls. Impact
attacks do not receive this bonus.


You stop if their base is in the way.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

It doesn't seem to say that. It says you make an attack, then continue your movement. Then it says if you don't end up with the charge target in melee range, the charge ends.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







There's an example in the pdf that would clarify. Note that the pdf has no pictures, but
you can pretty much tell what's going on:

The Storm L ance declares a charge targeting E xemplar A.
The Storm L ance then moves in a straight line toward his
target. After moving 4˝, he stops short when he moves
into base-to-base contact with E xemplar B. H e then makes
impact attacks targeting E xemplars B and C since both
models are in his Mount’s melee range.

After hitting and destroying E xemplars B and C, the Storm
Lance continues his charge movement to E xemplar A.
If E xemplar C had not been destroyed, the Storm L ance
could have continued the charge anyway, although he
would have suffered a free strike. If Exemplar B had not
been destroyed, the Storm L ance’s charge would have been
unable to continue, and the charge would have failed.


Note that if you could move through the model, it would say so (like trample).

Instead, you are still constrained by regular rules unless the rules give you an exception.

Compare the Impact attack wording with the following wording on trample attacks:

[The trampling warjack] moves through
any small-based model in its path, but there must be room
for the trampling model’s base at the end of the movement

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: