Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 10:36:39
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If a big mek is in a battlewagon, can he repair another battlewagon that's touching (next to) his wagon?
Thx
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 10:58:24
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
I would think not. The vehicle he can attempt to repair is the one he's inside. He can only repair the other vehicle if he himself is in b2b contact or inside it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 11:07:43
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I was thinking when a big mek firing out from inside a tank, it's measured from the hulk of the tank, so the tank's hulk replaces his circle base. Does that logic work for Mek's tools, or did I miss something in the rule book?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/06 11:08:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 11:24:51
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
Measurements are done from the hull, but the passengers are never suggested to be counted as in b2b with whatever the vehicle is touching. All passengers would get to attack enemy models assaulting the vehicle if that were the case.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 12:01:13
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
I think you can as long as the vehicle is open topped or the mek is doing it via a fire point, i think in this case it would count as firing a weapon.
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 12:17:05
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
It doesn't count as firing a weapon.
I have 666 posts
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/06 12:19:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 20:39:12
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
We had a big discussion on this not so long ago.
While the rulebook is a little unclear on it, and the rules allowing you to measure from the vehicle's hull for embarked units makes it seem somewhat do-able, it opens the door to some odd situations, like a unit being able to charge a Land Raider and assault the squad inside it...
So it would seem 'safer' to assume that the allowance for you to measure from the vehicle's hull is meant for measuring ranges (as stated by the vehicle rules) but does not allow you to transfer BtB status. Or, in other words, the vehicle being in contact with something does not mean that the unit inside is in base contact with it, even though the distance between the two is considered to be 0 inches.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 20:47:16
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Stabbin' Skarboy
123 fake street
|
What if you have a boarding plank? I know it says nothing of the like, but it would make sense, sorta.
|
"I can envision a world with no war, pain, or strife, were peace is constant, then I envision attacking that world because they'd never see it coming."
- Orks, 4175 points
- The face of an opponent when you lose five dozen models and say "that's it?", priceless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 21:49:32
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
despoiler52 wrote:What if you have a boarding plank? I know it says nothing of the like, but it would make sense, sorta.
That is the best image EVER.
"Oi, Gorzag, get out 'ere and fix up dis wagon!"
"Roight boss, just a minnit, lemme drop da plank. . . 'ere, steer a bit closer!" *clang* "Got it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 00:36:23
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
According to Dashofpepper in this post http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/265245.page#1113036
"4. You don't really need grot riggers, but its personal preference. Your big mek has mek's tools, and if you stick him into the center battlewagon, put a battlewagon on either side of him in base contact; his control radius extends to the hull of his battlewagon meaning that you could make repair attempts to any of them. Experiment as you will. "
Is he correct?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/07 00:36:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 01:11:44
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
liao989 wrote:"4. You don't really need grot riggers, but its personal preference. Your big mek has mek's tools, and if you stick him into the center battlewagon, put a battlewagon on either side of him in base contact; his control radius extends to the hull of his battlewagon meaning that you could make repair attempts to any of them. Experiment as you will. "
Is he correct?
No, this is illegal. The battlewagon is not the Mek's base, therefore the other wagons are not in base contact with the Mek.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 01:46:52
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
liao989 wrote:According to Dashofpepper in this post http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/265245.page#1113036
"4. You don't really need grot riggers, but its personal preference. Your big mek has mek's tools, and if you stick him into the center battlewagon, put a battlewagon on either side of him in base contact; his control radius extends to the hull of his battlewagon meaning that you could make repair attempts to any of them. Experiment as you will. "
Is he correct?
No, for the reasons repeated all the way through this thread thus far
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 02:20:13
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rule for repair does not say "Be 0 inches away". It says you have to be in base contact.
Is the model's actual base in actual contact with the vehicle in question? No... so no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 02:25:31
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Don't get me wrong. It's not that I don't trust you guys. It's just a little confusing having different respected players quoting the rules and end up different. I'm not trying to hurt anyone's credibility, nor am I trying to turn this into a bloody fight. If Dashofpepper is seeing something different on the rule book than you guys, I just want some enlightenment. After all, we all just students trying our best to decipher the rule book like the holy bible.
thx
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/07 02:27:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 02:40:11
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
Dashofpepper was likely looking at the same measurements bit when he made his interpretation. He wouldn't have taken into account other problems it causes which go against how everyone plays, such as assaults.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 02:40:25
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If Mek Tools said "Repair on a vehicle within X" of the Big Mek" then maybe you could say that Mek's in a transport measure from the hull.
0" from the hull =! BtB contact for models inside. No rule anywhere supports this. BtB is BtB and models inside a transport are not in BtB with things outside.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 02:45:30
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Unfortunely the ability says that the model must be in bases to base contact with the model it's attempting to repair. There is nothing stating one way or the other if the riggers can repair if in haul contact with the transport vehicle. As the rules are permissive I would haveto say it can't happen while embarked, but better to discuss before the game or do a D6 rolloff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 02:46:46
Subject: Mek's Tool
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
Everyone saying that the Mek has to be in BtB, not in the Wagon are correct.
The Boarding Plank has no effect either.
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 14:50:52
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
liao989 wrote:According to Dashofpepper in this post http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/265245.page#1113036
"4. You don't really need grot riggers, but its personal preference. Your big mek has mek's tools, and if you stick him into the center battlewagon, put a battlewagon on either side of him in base contact; his control radius extends to the hull of his battlewagon meaning that you could make repair attempts to any of them. Experiment as you will. "
Is he correct?
Dammit and I complimented his playing skills in a thread once. If I knew he said things like that I wouldnt have. No wonder he "cant be beaten" lol
But seriously tho, he really is a really good Ork player
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/07 16:36:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/07 17:58:10
Subject: Re:Mek's Tool
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
Youngwood, PA
|
It isn't in the rules, but I would allow a player to use a boarding plank to repair another vehicle as it is a darned good idea!
|
|
 |
 |
|