Switch Theme:

vortex grenade question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

If the vortex grenade hits a transport are the models inside the transport automatically removed at the same time as the transport model?
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







The vehicle is removed ... since there is nowhere to disembark from, many people agree that what ever was being transported cannot disembark and counts as destroyed.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




It's Apocalypse so ultimately the players need to decide on it. The basic rulebook says nothing about what happens if a transport is "removed from the game" instead of wrecked/destroyed.

As for the time we had a Vortex in an Apocalypse game we decided that yes, the passengers surely disappear with the transport.
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

I agree but in this instance it was ghaz and his mega nobs in a battle wagon (about 750 points) so he is whinging a bit. Any other thoughts?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ok so now he has taken off gaz and co but the vortex grenade has now hit the base of my vendetta. It says flyers are not affected but vendy is a skimmer, take it off?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/06 11:35:38


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well yes - if you are using the skimmer Vendetta then you remove it.

You are a skimmer, not a flyer, and are therefore affected.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






In Apoc valks are flyers with the option to go into VTOL mode (move like a skimmer). If not in flyer mode then the valk is gone.

As far as transported units go, I'd have him look to the SAC rules - if it removes a transport from play then the contents are gone too.
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Sadly, that is the IA Valk, no the IG Valk. Unless he specified that they are the IA ones, they are not flyers they are skimmers.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





Pat that askala, O-H-I hate this stupid state

Note to self while playing apoc. games avoid the guys with vortex grenades.

Then it comes to be that the soothing light at the end of your tunnel, its just a freight train coming your way!
Thousand Sons 10000
Grey knights 3000
Sisters of battle 3000
I have 29 sucessful trades where others recommend me.
Be sure to use the Reputable traders list when successfully completing a trade found here:
Dakka's Reputable Traders List 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver





I used the deathknell strike force and had lysander with a vortex. Thing landed on a raider with a tac squad and captain in it, his movement phase scattered onto another raider with tac squad in it. Great fun those grenades are.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBeivizzsPc 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: