| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 13:37:49
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Here's the scenario:
I have multiple units in one area of cover. My opponent decides to assault one of the units, and of course, the Assaulting through Cover rule comes into effect. He manages to take out one unit and on his next turn charges another. Is it still considered assaulting through cover, and thus, does he have to roll another dangerous terrain test?
|
3000 pts. or more
3000 pts. or more |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 13:44:45
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Moving through cover triggers difficult / dangerous terrain tests, therefore yes Assaulting through cover comes into play.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 16:33:10
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Is he assaulting a unit that is in cover? Yes, therefore the unit gets the benefit for defending cover.
Its a common misconception about the rules to believe that cover magically doesn't count if if the attackers are in the same piece of terrain.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 17:05:41
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
I am pretty sure that it still counts as assaulting you through cover even if both of you are within it. I do not have my rulebook handy so I may be wrong. But, the rule is assaulting through cover, not from out of cover and then just into cover once.. you know?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/06 17:06:18
Frazzled wrote:Modquisiiton on: this thread is so closed its not funny.
DR:80-s---G++M--B--I+Pw40k95/re#+D+A++/eWD283R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 17:20:44
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Hymirl wrote:Is he assaulting a unit that is in cover? Yes, therefore the unit gets the benefit for defending cover.
Almost. The rules state that if a unit must take a DT to reach their target, then they are considered to be assaulting through cover. It's entirely possible (though highly unlikely) for a unit to be in cover yet not require a DT to be reached by assault. As for the situation in the op, yes, the assaulting unit will have to make a DT, and will be considered assault through cover.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 18:33:27
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Harlequins
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 18:36:37
Subject: Assaulting through cover
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
Yeah, you need to take a difficult terrain test.
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|