Switch Theme:

Multiple rule questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

I have a few questions here that have been propsed by the guys i regularly play against. They have came up a few times so I said i would post them here looking for an answer. Thanks in advance for any help.

1: Cohesion
Units that are not in cohesion must restore coherency in their next movement phase... It later states that a unit must regain coherency as soon as possible.

Does this mean that a unit out of coherency must move in the movement phase to regain coherency and if it cannot gain coherency run in the shooting phase?
Also does this force the unit to move the shortest distance possbile to regain coherency? [See picture]
The blue area would be impassable the red rectangle represents a wrecked transport vehicle.



Does this mean that the unit must move over the wreck to regain coherency? and if so does that mean leaving models on top of the wreck if they cannot make the full distance?


2: Vehicles as wrecks
Can a vehicle move over another wrecked vehicle?
and if so what happens if the movement end before the vehicle fully passes over the wreck? A tank sitting on top of a tank? That would make many many people unhappy at how there model is being treated but is that how it would work as RAW?"


3: Vehicles going through difficult/dangerous terrain
My understand is that a vehicle must make a test when entering. passing through and exiting difficult/dangerous terrain. Would each of these rolls be made in the movement phase one after the other as you moved the vehicle through?
Also what would happen if the tank was moving through 3 barricades laid out like this

Tank ====> | | | ===>

Would that be 9 test in total to get through all three?


4: Sanctuary
Does the psychic power sanctuary work against the likes of Lesser Daemons, Daemon Princes, Spawn, Greater Daemon and vehicles with Daemonic Possession in the Chaos Space Marine codex? Or does it only effect units that have the daemon special rule?
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

For 1) yes and yes

For 2) yes, tanks can move over and stop on top of wrecks, wrecked vehicles are terrain. If you don't want another model placed on your tank, use something else to reperseent the wreck.

For 3) BRB page 57 under terrain effects; "Roll a D6 for every vehicle that has entered, left or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move."

So if the tank could move over all 3 barricades during its move, 1 test is taken.

For 4) sorry, no idea, don't have that codex.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver



Youngwood, PA

if you are counting each barricade as 1 piece of terrain then 3 tests would be taken but you need to discuss that with your opponent before starting the game. the only time you need to make 2 tests on 1 piece of terrain is if you end your movement on said piece, then you make 1 test that turn and then another on the next turn to move off it
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant






1) yes to all of this. Keep in mind that for a wrecked vehicle, once you disembark the models out of it, the vehicle now becomes a piece of difficult/dangerous terrain and also providing cover (pg 62, BRB). So if they can't establish coherency by moving around the impassable terrain, they will have to come together thru the wrecked vehicle or on top of it. Keep in mind the models on one side could come over the top of the wrecked vehicle (terrain test would apply) to join the models on the other side and then they could finish whatever move they had left.

2) yes, as previous poster stated (and pg 62 of BRB states) wrecked vehicles remina on table and become pieces of terrain. We had this same situation come up in a game a few months back and we grabbed a piece of a 4x4 my buddy had in his garage that was about 6 inches long and used that in place of the wrecked tank while the second vehicle was on top of it. Granted, not everyone has spare pieces of wood laying about, but use your imagination or just be VERY careful. heck, take off a shoe and use that if you wanted. hehe.

3) You only take one test per turn, so if you entered, passed through, and left the terrain in one movement phase it would require only one test to be made. HOWEVER, if you entered and moved through but failed to completely exit the terrain in one movement phase, the next movement phase if you moved in or left the terrain you would have to take a new test (new turn, new test).

4) Also no idea, since I dont play Chaos and dont have the codex. But if you search I seem to recall that this very question has been debated num,erous times here on YMDC.

~Bart

Praise the Emperor and pass the ammunition!!!  
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver



Youngwood, PA

Where does it state you only make 1 test per turn, I would love to pull that out next time I'm mowing down all the cover to tank shock
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Page 57
"for every vehicle that has entered, left or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain"
(emphasis mine)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/07 18:17:05


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

I'd like to point out that in your top example, one half of the unit would have died.

The models must disembark in coherency.

Any models that cannot disembark are destroyed. So, in that example, once you fill up the "disembark zone" (2" from the access point) any further models can't fit.

On the other hand, you could probably fit a couple more models on one side of the tank, as the "within 2 inches" also means even partially within that range.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Re 4, this is a thorny point. The Daemon Hunters codex has a list of what qualifies as a Daemon. However, with the new daemon codex many things no longer qualify.

Since this is such an obvious case of codex creep it'sa no brainer to house rule that anything in the Daemon codex or with daemon in the name counts.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: