Switch Theme:

Njal vs Tau Battlesuits  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






This came up in my last game against good ole Space Cheaters, I mean Space Wolves )

I don't have the SW codex (sorry don't know the power's name), but one of Njal's powers caused a 24" radius difficult terrain effect for all skimmers, jump infantry, etc (going from memory).

So, my battle suits made two dangerous terrain checks (for jumping into/outof difficult terrain) each turn (one during the movement phase, and againt for the assault move).

Did we do this correctly? Or is it just one dangerous terrain check per turn?

I checked the Gwar SW FAQ and wasn't sure.


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

One roll per phase.

It is in the main rules, so I doubt Gwar! would have doubled up.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




One roll per move actually, so if you lose combat and fall back in the assault phase, you would take another test.

Not that your suit would be in combat anyway, but just in case....
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Oh. Good call.
What nosferaru1001 said.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






OK, thanks for the reply. I guess we played it right and it was very painful for my suits and skimmers.

Nothing like Njal coming out of a drop pod and immobilizing a hammerhead and killing two stealthsuits, 2 drones, etc..... on MY turn.

One last thing on the main rule. Do you make the move first then roll for dangerous? or before you attempt to make the move in the phase?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/08 15:50:35



 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

We roll after moving.
The rule, as most are written, seems to read that way("has entered, left or moved"), but it rarely matters. From what I have seen.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/08 15:52:30


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






Well, the final position does make a difference, so that's why I asked. Another 6 inches away from my table edge ultimately didn't matter for the failed fallback roll, but it did matter where the immobilized hammerhead ended up.


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Vehicles always stop at the edge of the terrain, if entering, or immediately if moving through or exiting.

Editing to add:
I was sort of ignoring the vehicle part, as the question was about suits, but with vehicles we tend to mark where it would enter/immobilise and roll after moving unless it is inside the terrain and would be prevented from starting its move. Then we do roll first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/08 16:02:24


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






Ok, one more question then.

If I decided to not move my suits or skimmer tanks while in difficult terrain, do they still have to take a dangerous terrain check because they started & ended the phase there?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/08 16:10:01



 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

No, they do not need to make a dangerous terrain check if they do not move.
Also, jump infantry can choose to walk and not incur dangerous terrain checks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/08 16:10:19


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






Ok that's helpful. My opponent told me I'd have to make the roll whether I moved or not so I decided to move.

thanks for the replies


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

yeah, each time you move regularly, run, assault (including jet pack moves), and fall back you have to check for dangerous terrain. the only things that say you can skip it are pile in moves and consolidation IIRC. as stated above, you do have the option as a jet packer of moving as infantry, though. in that situation, you just check for difficult but not dangerous terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/08 16:42:46


 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines






Sounds good. I just have trouble seeing how the drones can walk without legs

If anyone can post the name and text for the SW psyker power referred to in this post, I'd still like to read the RAW.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That would be against forum rules, so no.
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






i belive the power he was using was "Murderous Hurricane" which is an 18" range, and is a psychic shooting attack, with a range of 18" the target unit then takes 3d6 str 3 hits, and you place a marker next to the affected unit, and for the next turn that unit treats all terrain, even clear terrain, as both difficult and dangerous.

which is SW Codex Page 37

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/08 21:05:20


Never Say Die. 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Umm, probably meant Tempest's Wrath which is a 24" bubble of difficult and dangerous terratin for all deep strikers, jump infantry and skimmers.
Murderous Hurricane, although cool, wouldn't have taken things out on his turn.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Murderous Hurricane CAN kill units in your own movement phase - it targets a unit, blasts them for a crapload of little hits and they count as in difficult and dangerous terrain for their next movement phase. That works for any unit.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

grankobot wrote:Murderous Hurricane CAN kill units in your own movement phase - it targets a unit, blasts them for a crapload of little hits and they count as in difficult and dangerous terrain for their next movement phase. That works for any unit.


Not to be picky but, I was talking about this quote:

crazyk wrote:Nothing like Njal coming out of a drop pod and immobilizing a hammerhead and killing two stealthsuits, 2 drones, etc..... on MY turn.

Murderous Hurricane would not have done that. Tempest would have.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I thought it read a skimmer beginning or ending it's movement phase in difficult terrain made a dangerous terrain test. I did not think it matters if it moved. Guess I will have to look that one up when I get home.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You are mistaken, you have to have moved in order to take a DT test. Simply sitting there is not enough....
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

loomisc wrote:I thought it read a skimmer beginning or ending it's movement -phase- in difficult terrain made a dangerous terrain test. I did not think it matters if it moved. Guess I will have to look that one up when I get home.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 21:28:20





 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: