Switch Theme:

Space wolves question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Can I use JotWW on one unit using my runepriest and then assault another unit?

Also, if my runepriest has used JotWW, can the squad he is attached to fire at a different unit in the shooting phase?
   
Made in us
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm





Riverside CA

1] No, you must Assault the Unit you fired at.

2] Only if you are with Long Fangs


Space Wolf Player Since 1989
My First Impression Threads:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727226.page;jsessionid=3BCA26863DCC17CF82F647B2839DA6E5

I am a Furry that plays with little Toy Soldiers; if you are taking me too seriously I am not the only one with Issues.

IEGA Web Site”: http://www.meetup.com/IEGA-InlandEmpireGamersAssociation/ 
   
Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Are you sure? i thought I simply draw a straight line, and it can affect whatever is in that line. so really, it's not like targetting a specific unit?

Would it ignore the harlequin veil of tears rule?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 00:06:29


 
   
Made in us
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm





Riverside CA

1] It's like a Flamer Template

2] ??? I will have to look, I do not own the Eldar Book.

Space Wolf Player Since 1989
My First Impression Threads:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727226.page;jsessionid=3BCA26863DCC17CF82F647B2839DA6E5

I am a Furry that plays with little Toy Soldiers; if you are taking me too seriously I am not the only one with Issues.

IEGA Web Site”: http://www.meetup.com/IEGA-InlandEmpireGamersAssociation/ 
   
Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




I thought you're not targetting a unit, so ofc you'd be allowed to assault another unit?
   
Made in us
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm





Riverside CA

That is actualy a debat with JotWW that will go on unitl GW says somthing about it.
RAW are unlcear, but I would look at RAI, this is a Shooty Power, becouse it goes off in the Shooting Phase. There is nothing out there like this so we have no referance.
If later we find that it is not, then we have played within the rules and we don't have to change.
If we find that It is a Shooty Power and we have not run it that way, then alot of players will be jumping around saying "We Told You So"

Space Wolf Player Since 1989
My First Impression Threads:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727226.page;jsessionid=3BCA26863DCC17CF82F647B2839DA6E5

I am a Furry that plays with little Toy Soldiers; if you are taking me too seriously I am not the only one with Issues.

IEGA Web Site”: http://www.meetup.com/IEGA-InlandEmpireGamersAssociation/ 
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






There is nothing out there like this so we have no referance.


Anyone have a codex: armageddon handy? the salamander psychic was similar to this, so what was the wording for that?

-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake.  
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

You can assault whatever unit you want after JotWW. It doesn't need a target, so you wouldn't qualify for the "unit you shot at" restriction. If you really wanted you could lay the line so it touches no models at all.....

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in fi
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Finland

JotWW is essentially a dysfunctional power. Why? Because there are as many ways of using it as there players. Until GW gets a clue and provides us with a FAQ that explains how the feth this power is supposed to work we are on our own. For the sake of sanity and civility I advocate using the road of "least advantageous" ( you can only assault what you shot with the JotWW ).

12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

I don't think its Dysfunctional in the slightest.

BGB pg 50 wrote:
...Using a psychic shooting attack counts as firing a ranged weapon (an assault weapon, unless specified otherwise). So, for example, the psyker must be able to see his target unit, cannot be locked in combat, or must not have run in the Shooting phase if he wishes to use a psychic shooting attack. In the same way, way, if a psyker targets a unit with a a psychic with a psychic shooting attack, then he can only assault that unit in the ensuing assault phase.


Once again JotWW does not require a target unit to be used, and so, being the more specific rule, overrides the normal restrictions placed upon psychic shooting attacks in regards to targets and assaulting. Nothing in the rules on pg. 50 indicates that a psychic shooting attack must have a target, just that when it does, the normal rules for shooting a ranged weapon apply.


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

JotWW is a psychic shooting attack. As such it needs to have a target chosen and visible, and this will restrict the unit it is with as any other shooting attack would.

That said, the line drawn does not have to go through the target unit, as written.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Kirsanth - read the quote posted above: it states IF you target a unit you must assault said unit.

You simply dont have any opp. to pick a target as you immediately, upon passing the psychic test, pass tot he rules in the codex which tell you to pick a direction.

No target, assault what you like, VoT does nothing, you unit can shoot at any target.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

I read the posts. I disagree with a fair share of them, which is why I posted.
To follow you line of discussion; nosferatu1001 -- read the rule book. The first step in using shooting attacks is to check line of sight and choose a target.

The JotWW power is a shooting attack. Drawing a line, as I mentioned, can have no relation to this target, but one is chosen when using shooting attacks.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Then show where the power requires a roll to hit, roll to wound, etc - it doesnt, as it modifies the shooting rules.

The first step in psychic powers is to roll a psychic test. Once you do this you follow the rules for the psychic power - in this case you simply pick a direction.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

And as a shooting attack, a target must be chosen.

To-hit?
How is that related?
To use a shooting attack you need a target. Unless an allowance is made otherwise. Drawing a line and affecting models on this line is negating the To-hit just like blast and templates do. Nothing ever says not to choose a target.

Editing to add:
Seriously, check page 50 - the section labeled "Psychic shooting attacks". JotWW is one and as such, follows these rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 15:22:32


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought





Where ever the Emperor needs his eyes

nosferatu1001 wrote:Then show where the power requires a roll to hit, roll to wound, etc - it doesnt, as it modifies the shooting rules.

The first step in psychic powers is to roll a psychic test. Once you do this you follow the rules for the psychic power - in this case you simply pick a direction.


It says specifically in the powers entry that it is a Psychic Shooting Attack, thus you need to pick a target.
   
Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine






To agree with Kinsrath, JoTWW works like this:
You pick a target (the "targeted" unit).
You put the line wherever you want, regardless of what you targeted.
Resolve JoTWW.
The rest of the squad has to shoot the same targeted unit, even if you sent JoTWW elsewhere.
If the Priest and his squad want to assault, they have to assault the targeted unit, even if you sent JoTWW elsewhere.

Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.

Vivano crudelis exitus.

Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues.
 
   
Made in fi
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Finland

See? The arguments start from defining "Psychic shooting attack" and from there things just go down hill . This thread is almost an exact copy of a lively "discussion" I had with one of the resident SW player when he tried to use JotWW for the very first time. The arguments flew back and forth for ten minutes until we called a cease fire and resorted to that abomination of GW rules; a 4+ die roll.


12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

Yeah, it will usually get into a rules debate. FWIW, Jaws has specific rules for resolution (pick a point) and does not require a target unit, so that section of the PSA rules is not applicable. It nowhere in the PSA rules says you must pick a target unit, just that you must see a target unit. If none exists, then it follows that provision does not apply. The limitation on assault follows this same logic- *If* a psyker targets a unit (which Jaws does not).

But, you have to get used to rules debates with Jaws. It is pretty vaguely worded and people flip out over its potential power.

-James
 
   
Made in us
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought





Where ever the Emperor needs his eyes

garigon wrote:Can I use JotWW on one unit using my runepriest and then assault another unit?


Technically no, you cannot target one squad and then charge another. You have to charge the targeted squad, but when you use JotWW (after passing your psychic test) you may draw the line in any direction meaning you can hit other enemy squads that aren't the targeted unit.


garigon wrote:Also, if my runepriest has used JotWW, can the squad he is attached to fire at a different unit in the shooting phase?


The answer to this question is similar to the previous one, technically no, but like mentioned previously JotWW's line can be drawn in any direction. So you have it hit another squad and then have the Grey Hunters or Wolf Guard fire at the originally targeted unit.

Hope this is helpful.
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







Ok, Jaws of the World Wolf is not actually a psychic shooting attack, it is used AS a psychic shooting attack. Please read page 37 of the space wolf codex.

Thunderclap: "... as a psychic shooting attack..."

This ability does not scatter, you just place the marker and it hits what it hits.

Living Lightning: "... is a psychic shooting attack..."

This ability actually is a psychic shooting attack and thus follows all psychic shooting rules

Fury of the Wolf Spirits: "... as a psychic shooting attack. They are treated like a single shooting attack but they use both profiles below and both target the same unit."

This is not a standard shooting attack, but it tells you exactly how to apply the BRB rules for this special case.

Murderours Hurrican: "... is a psychic shooting attack..."

this is a psychic shooting attack and follows all rules in the BRB for a psychic shooting attack

Jaws of the World Wolf: "As a psychic shooting attack..."

Again, as a psychic shooting attack, it is not by definition a psychic shooting attack, it merely takes the place of the one psychic shooting attack that a Rune Priest can make each turn. It is used in the shooting phase, you cannot run and use this power, etc... but after the power has been cast you can ignore all the BRB rules for psychic shooting attacks.



So RAW, you are well within the rules to cast Jaws to hit a few models in one unit, then assault at a completely different unit.

Jaws does not target any unit.

this may cause some arguements if you try to do this with some people with less than average reading comprehension skills. I would recommend trying to not put youself in a situation where this debate will come up, but if it does, Page 37 of your codex is well written, people just dont know how to read.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 17:32:19


THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Demogerg wrote:but after the power has been cast you can ignore all the BRB rules for psychic shooting attacks.
And this is why I disagree.

You need a target before you use the power.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Kind of wondering myself what happens if you target one unit that is directly in front of you but crosses over models that are engaged i n close combat.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




kirsanth wrote:And as a shooting attack, a target must be chosen.

To-hit?
How is that related?
To use a shooting attack you need a target. Unless an allowance is made otherwise. Drawing a line and affecting models on this line is negating the To-hit just like blast and templates do. Nothing ever says not to choose a target.

Editing to add:
Seriously, check page 50 - the section labeled "Psychic shooting attacks". JotWW is one and as such, follows these rules.


"To Hit" is relevant as it is the next part of shooting rules, which you are clinging so dearly to. Both Blast and Termplate attacks have lines which *replace* the standard "to hit" with something else, however JOTWW does not have this explicit replacement - you have simply *assumed* it does not roll to hit. Given that you have *assumed* it requires a target, why have you *assumed* it does not need to roll to hit said target?*

In other words your approach is inconsistent, as you are reading it as a partly fully defined replacement for the shooting rules, by assuming "to hit" has been replaced while assuming "pick a target" has not been replaced. My way reads the rule as "all inclusive" and a modification of the *general* rules for psychic powers, whcih is explicitly allowed for on Page 50 - right before the PSA section - and as such you trigger the power (succesfully pass test) and then follow the directives given in the power - you have no chance to pick a target as you immediately draw a line.

Your way: randomly removes rules from shooting, randomly leaves some in
My Way: treats the power as fully defined set of rules for resolving said power.

Which way is simpler, more consistent and doesnt lead to abberent situations?

*and this doesnt even get intot he issue of - how many dice would you roll to hit and why? You simply cannot assume it is Assault 1

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 21:09:35


 
   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

Hollismason wrote:Kind of wondering myself what happens if you target one unit that is directly in front of you but crosses over models that are engaged i n close combat.


"JotWW don't care if you are swinging punches... it doesnt even care if you are on the same team"

Something like that


Purge the Unclean! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

nosferatu1001 wrote:*and this doesnt even get intot he issue of - how many dice would you roll to hit and why? You simply cannot assume it is Assault 1

The section I pointed to covers all of this; even, in fact that the the single line is actually shown to be Assault 1.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wrong, it states it is ASSAULT unless otherwise specified, it never specifes a number....

What about your other assumptions that you made?
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

The rest of the sentence covered that - single line.
That said, it is entirely irrelevant. The PSA does not fire anything, you draw a line.

/boggle

Editing to add:
I keep rereading page 50 trying to find out why you keep harping on "To-hit" rolls. "To hit" is not even on the page, so there is no way I am making assumptions about To-hit rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 22:04:27


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Huh? No, you made an assumption that the roll "to hit" is removed, that it is Assault 1 when the rules only specify it is Assault by default, etc. Why should it not be Assault [number of models in target unit]?

Why should it not have to roll "to hit" its target? It doesnt even need a target yet you insist it has one...

I repeat: one method involves following the directives as given, as a self contained modification to the PSA rules (as directly allowed for on page 50) - you method does not, and creates odd situations.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

How is following the rules an odd situation?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: