Switch Theme:

Lumbering Behemoth  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I just want to make sure I'm doing this right: Lumbering Behemoth allows a Leman Russ tank to "fire it's turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire". This means that when stationary, it may fire all weapons, and when moving combat speed, it may fire the turret + one main weapon (sponson or hull) + all defensive weapons, right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 12:42:48


Fun and Fluff for the Win! 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

That's correct. It's virtually identical to the gun drone rules in the Tau Codex.




 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





K tx. I'm just finding some people are interpreting that as move and fire everything, turret + hull + sponsons.

Fun and Fluff for the Win! 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

NO that is not the case, it allows the main cannon to fire IN ADDITION to what would normally be able to fire.

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior




Gig Harbor, WA

Just pretend that it reads:

Lumbering Behemoth: You may treat a Leman Russ' turret weapon as a Defencive Weapon, even if it's Ordanance.

This would make more sense, as the 'Lumberhemoth' rule just repeats the definition of a defencive weapon anyway...

2000 pts SoB.
2000 pts Crimson Fists (WIP)

doomed-to-fight-until-killed-in-battle xenophobic psycho-indoctrinated super soldier warrior monks of an oppressive theocracy stuck in the past and declining while stifling under its own bureacracy and inability to react.
Vaktathi, defining Space Marines



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Illeix - except defensive Ordnance would still prohibit the vehicle from firing any other weapon.
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior




Gig Harbor, WA

Right, so it counts as defencive and doesn't prevent other weapons from firing, even if it's an ordenance weapon.
Meh...

2000 pts SoB.
2000 pts Crimson Fists (WIP)

doomed-to-fight-until-killed-in-battle xenophobic psycho-indoctrinated super soldier warrior monks of an oppressive theocracy stuck in the past and declining while stifling under its own bureacracy and inability to react.
Vaktathi, defining Space Marines



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which is pretty much the same as the rules they came up with - just means it is not reliant upon the term "defensive" staying the same.
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






nosferatu1001 wrote:Which is pretty much the same as the rules they came up with - just means it is not reliant upon the term "defensive" staying the same.
This is an important statement. Just look at Tau Disruption Pods. The term for a vehicle being concealed changed ever so slightly, and now it is possibly one of the greatest pieces of wargear in the game. And for only 5pts!

EDIT : If I mount my Hunter Killer missile on the turret, does it count as a turret mounted weapon? Meaning, when I go to fire my weapons after moving, does that allow me to fire my Vanquisher Cannon, Lascannon, AND Hunter-Killer Missile?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 15:15:52


Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






I would say no to the hunter-killer question.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Shas'O Dorian wrote:I would say no to the hunter-killer question.
I actually agree, but none-the-less, that is simply how I would play it. Could I ask for further elaboration as to why not?

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Where you glue it has no relation -- it is its own weapon mount, iirc.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Neither on page 48, 49, nor 102 of the Imperial Guard codex are any weapons described as being hull or turret mounted. The only weapons with a described position at the Sponson mounted weapons and the "pintle-mounted" weapons. Though I can't be certain, I don't think either of those types of weapons are described in the Main Rulebook either.... I think they might be but I am not certain, and there is a lot to read for that. If anyone happens to actually know, I would appreciate confirmation one way or the other.

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

Modeled on the turret != turret mounted weapon. Turret weapons are defined as such. Unfortunately the IG codex didn't do a good job labelling the vehicle weapon positions... :-/

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 17:06:42


-James
 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Well, in GW's defense, it would have required both effort and additional ink to include some simple weapons labelling, or at least something like:

Turret Mounted Wargear
Leman Russ [Widget]:
-[Widget] Cannon

rather than just:

Wargear
Leman Russ [Widget]:
- [Widget] Cannon


Automatically Appended Next Post:
They were thinking of their customers, making sure they could supply them with the cheapest codex they cold. It probably saved them money!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/09 17:21:05


Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






jmurph wrote:Modeled on the turret != turret mounted weapon.


That's pretty much why. Sorry I didn't respond quickly I was in class.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






I play guard and I would never play this way, but I have heard some people argue that Lumbering behemoth allows them to fire the turret weapon even if stunned or shaken because of the whole codex overruling rule book, and I dont really have a RAW argument against it

-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake.  
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Volkov wrote:I play guard and I would never play this way, but I have heard some people argue that Lumbering behemoth allows them to fire the turret weapon even if stunned or shaken because of the whole codex overruling rule book, and I dont really have a RAW argument against it
That got FAQ'ed. It doesn't work that way and as an IG player, I would never have played that way by RAI.

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Skinnattittar wrote:
Volkov wrote:I play guard and I would never play this way, but I have heard some people argue that Lumbering behemoth allows them to fire the turret weapon even if stunned or shaken because of the whole codex overruling rule book, and I dont really have a RAW argument against it
That got FAQ'ed. It doesn't work that way and as an IG player, I would never have played that way by RAI.


While I agree that it cannot fire while shaken or stunned, GW has not FAQed it. Just went and pulled up the 24August2009 FAQ to make sure.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






don_mondo wrote:
Skinnattittar wrote:
Volkov wrote:I play guard and I would never play this way, but I have heard some people argue that Lumbering behemoth allows them to fire the turret weapon even if stunned or shaken because of the whole codex overruling rule book, and I dont really have a RAW argument against it
That got FAQ'ed. It doesn't work that way and as an IG player, I would never have played that way by RAI.

While I agree that it cannot fire while shaken or stunned, GW has not FAQed it. Just went and pulled up the 24August2009 FAQ to make sure.
Oh! I think you're right. It's in the INATFAQ, however. My mistake.

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






"fire it's turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire"

RaW I would say that when stunned or shaken it is NOT usually allowed to fire the turret weapon so it still could not fire it. But then again it's all how you look at it, some people could argue stunned/shaken is an unusual circumstance.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






I think that the interpretation is that when stunned you are usually not allowed to fire anything. So "...in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed..." would mean "no weapons plus the turret weapon." i.e. only the turret weapons are allowed to fire.

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Like i said, it's virtually identical to the gun drone rules. The gun drone "in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire" HAS been FAQ'd to say drones can't fire when the vehicle is stunned/shaken.




 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: